We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but that is about it..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Ranked #34 of 5,159 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I am a platinum member of SPG thus have chosen to stay here. I have been staying here for since 2012 and realized that the room condition is deteriorating. In particular the air conditioner system just does not work, it is always too hot. The room is at best cool, never cold enough. They sent me a portable air conditioner that is as noisy as on the plane.

If you like your room cooler and cozy, opt for somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Leonsin,

We first and foremost thank you for your loyalty as an SPG Platinum member and are appreciative of the time you’ve taken to leave for us your feedback. We have shared your comments regarding the air conditioning with our Technical Services team and they have rectified the issue you encountered in your room during your last visit. We do apologize for any discomfort you may have experienced during your stay with us. We hope to see you again in Shanghai soon!

Until then,
Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,757)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

844 - 850 of 2,757 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

The location is very convenient, 10 mn to go to the Bund and the walk is interresting. The lobby is very crowdy but always acceptable; The rooms dominate the Shanghai Streets and after the 30 th floor the landscape is beautiful may more by night. The breakfast is continental and huge . A lot of choice. A good compromise to stay in Shanghai.

Room Tip: With Bund view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GABRIEL J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear GABRIEL J,

We are happy to hear of your recent experience with us at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us! We look forward to your quick return to Shanghai!

Have a wonderful day,
Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Hotel is perfectly located close to the pedestrian area downtown, with easy access to the Bund and the Metro. Nice rooms with modern fancy bathroom. Lobby and Concierge are well structured to match the 5 star hotel. What I really found deeply disappointing was the personnel at entrance, in charge of managing the taxi.

On Wednesday 30th July at 18.10 I was sitting in the taxi and showed Jack Liu and his colleague the address and the website of ERA acrobatic show. They were not able to understand English, could not tell the taxi driver the address. I had to go back to concierge to get the address written in Chinese. Once back the queue for taxi was much longer, Jack Liu asked me to show the address, said "ok" and did not tell us to restart the queue. In my understanding since I lost my turn because:
1. he has unacceptable poor English to work in such an international hotel
2. Doesn't know one of most famous event in his town
3. I was risking to loose my show, booked well in advance from Switzerland
Only when the first taxi came he told us, even in an arrogant way "go back to the queue" so meantime we lost other 2 turn since more people came.
While his colleague was trying to understand Mr.Jack Liu was quite arrogant, maybe feeling quite powerful and strong treating badly a mother with her daughter.
I really want to protest with management of this hotel because of what happened and this employee behavior. Instead of being cooperative since we lost time because of HIS lack of professionalism, he was quite arrogant. As a matter of fact we were late at Era show.
I think personnel working in high level international hotel should be more kind and well prepared either in English or in their town most known attractions.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Cristinaroccofoti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Cristinaroccofoti,

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai. It is always wonderful to know that our city centre location was advantageous to you and your daughter during your time in Shanghai! We were extremely disappointed to learn about your experience in the taxi queue. This is most definitely not the experience we wish to offer our guests nor does it reach the standards we have set for our team. We have discussed this incident with our entire concierge team because we believe that this can help to improve the experience for you and all our guests in the future. We are greatly appreciative that you have brought this to our attention because it enabled us to address this incident specifically. We do hope that you and your daughter enjoyed the ERA acrobatic show and your stay in Shanghai, as it is a beautiful city. Travel safe and we look forward to welcoming you back to Shanghai!

Until then,
Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

A huge hotel with hundreds of rooms hence difficult to get a personal feel. The scale and lift logistics make the experience of moving around timely and can be confusing at the outset. Rooms, (Executive Club Room) could do with updating. Mattress in room was slanted and very uncomfortable. However when I asked for it to be looked it the service by the Royal Club Lounge was excellent and they replaced it straight away. The Royal Club lounge itself is comfortable, with excellent attentive service, however the food is less satisfying in terms of quality. will try another hotel on my next trip.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PeteSing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Pete2105,

Thank you for taking the time to leave for us your feedback following your recent stay at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai. It is true that we are a rather large hotel, but we do continue to work diligently to provide for each of our guests a level of service that is very personal. We are happy to learn that your experience with our associates in the Royal Club Lounge was positive and that they were able to provide for you a more comfortable mattress. We have communicated your comments regarding the food quality with our Executive Chef and he will look into this matter right away. We do hope to see you again during your next visit to Shanghai!

Travel safe,
Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This is a VERY nice modern hotel. Comfortable rooms and great friendly service. I have stayed here a few times and always happy to come back. They also have good food with menus items to satisfy taste buds from all around the world. There morning Buffett seems to have something from all continents. Location is perfect. You are in the middle of everything and can just get out and walk.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deedeelbennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Deedeelbennett,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such positive feedback following your recent stay at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai. We are always happy to hear from our guests and most especially to learn that you enjoyed your time in the city! We look forward to your return to Shanghai in the near future!

Travel safe,
Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

A 5 star hotel, well worthy of it's rating, in the centre of Shanghai. Suberb room, and breakfast.
Within easy walking distance of the Peoples' Park -fantastic -and the local shops and cafes. In-house shop, and other facilities.

Room Tip: Higher floors have wonderful views and above traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bazchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Bazchic,

We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai! Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Shanghai in the very near future!

Until then,
Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Great rooms, great food. Perfect location - right on the main pedestrian shopping road in downtown Shanghai.
The feel was of a very modern and estangred hotel - lacked the personal touch that makes you feel at home.

Room Tip: Ask for a room viewing the TV tower, and hope for a clear day :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nokipa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Nokipa,

Thank you for leaving us your feedback following your recent stay at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai. Feedback from our guests is what enables us to continue to improve the experience we offer our guests. We are of course happy to know that our city-centre location was of utmost convenience for you and that you enjoyed the modern design of our property. On the other hand, we are disappointed to know that you didn’t feel a personal touch from our team as we realize this importance of this and we work diligently on this aspect. We will continue to stress the importance of personalizing the experience for each of our guests because we do realize how much of a difference this makes for you and all our guests. We do hope to see you again soon in Shanghai!

Have a wonderful day,
Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Hongkou
Hyatt on the Bund
Hyatt on the Bund
#51 of 5,159 in Shanghai
2,124 reviews
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royal Meridien Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Address: No.789 Nanjing East Road, Shanghai 200001, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#33 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#34 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#131 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £104 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Royal Meridien Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 761
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and sophisticated with an ultra-modern design, Le Royal Meridien Shanghai is one of Shanghai's tallest landmarks, and its location at the centre of Shanghai on the historic Nanjing Road East, opposite the People's Square and overlooking the Shanghai Museum and Shanghai Grand Theater, puts guests at the heart of one of the world's most exciting cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Royal Meridien Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Meridien Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing