We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, not great.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Ranked #34 of 5,035 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good, not great.”
Reviewed 9 April 2009

I stayed a night at this hotel in April 2009. As an SPG Platinum member I was given a Royal Club room. While the view was good, I was disappointed with the size and layout of the room. This all-glass bathroom is effectively part of the room itself.

I was also surprised to find wi-fi chargeable even in the Royal Club lounge. The lounge itself was nice and spacious, but not outstanding compared to other SPG lounges in Asia I've visited, including Westin Bund Centre, Westin Kuala Lumpur, Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur.

All-in-all, I was disappointed with my stay given the good reviews and ranking.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milehighj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,305
    889
    216
    66
    41
See reviews for
247
421
172
1,121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
114 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2009

The architecture of this hotel is very striking. When you come towards East Nanjing road, you really can't miss it. The service is good and the staff speaks decent English. The rooms are nice but the best thing about this hotel is the breakfast buffet. We've got a good deal with Hotels.com and paid EUR 125 (including breakfast) so that was a very good deal. The only bad thing of the hotel is the high charge for using the internet (EUR 1 per 2 minutes). But since internet is only available in the top hotels, you don't have much choice. If you like shopping, then East Nanjing Road is the place to be. I personally like the French Concession more because I like the nice little boutiques and the best restaurants are situated there.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saiho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2009

We chose this hotel for our two night quick visit to Shanghai for a few reasons. First, coming from the Pudong airport, we wanted to experience the Maglev (overrated but a must do for our kids). The Maglev connects easily with a direct subway to the hotel. Just be sure to look for the East Nanjing exit from the subway which puts you in front of the hotel. Second, the subway outside the hotel was also a direct shot up to Circus World, were we saw ERA ( a highly recommended acrobat show.) Next, the hotel is close to the Shanghai Museum. Unfortunately, we did not expect such long admission lines on a Sunday morning, so we ended up with not enough time to visit. Also, right outside our
door was East Nanjing Street. On a Saturday night at 10 PM in March, it felt like Times Square on speed! The 20 minute walk up to the Bund, and the Bund
itself, was so dynamic. We could really feel the bounding pulse of Shanghai.. And lastly, just a few blocks away from the hotel were two great local dumpling restaurants, Jia Jia Tang Bao (soup dumplings) and Yangs (fried dumplings) on Huanghe Road. So you see, Le Royal Meridien was all about location.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pasqualino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2009

Le Royal Meridien has a great location next to Nanjing Lu, the main shopping street in Shanghai. The building is a magnificent building, and (on a rare clear day) many rooms have wonderful views over Shanghai and Pudong across the river. The hotel is clean, the bedrooms are comfortable and well equipped, and the dining facilities are good.
However, certain features of this hotel make it impossible to call it a 5-star facility.
First, the hotel apparently inactivates room keys at their whim on your departure date - even when (in my case) a late check out had been arranged, and the hotel was aware of the time of departure with a car booked to the airport. Second, if you complain about this practice, the front desk staff pretend that no manager is available to talk "right now". (Only when I started talking about contacting their general manager, did the front desk manager suddenly appear.) Third, the business centre charges prices that I have not seen for simple tasks in 50 similar hotels around Asia. Fourth, the hotel is not well signposted internally - for example, for the different lift lobbies required to get from ground to the lobby level, and then on to bedroom floors of the hotel. Finally, although the food served in the restaurants is of high standard, the training of the waiting staff is not - with odd reactions to requests for simple beverages, plates whisked away before the food on them was consumed, and coffee and tea that leave you yearning for the nearby Starbucks. If you want to see downtown Shanghai, this hotel definitely has an unbeatable location - but nearby (in my experience) are many hotels with better attitudes to service, just as good views, and highly acceptable room and food standards.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FrequentFrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xiamen
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2009

We stayed here for a weekend and it was really everything we expected it to be. Large, clean rooms with amazing views of Shanghai. the bed was nice and comfy and there was a plasma screen TV attached to the wall. The bathroom had a big bath and a nice shower set-up. The internet was a little pricey for Chinese standards, but I didn't really need it so i wasn't bothered. The breakfast was excellent and the service was almost too good. The second any waste appeared on the table the staff was right there to pick it up. It almost got comical. I don't mind a little mess on the table but it was nice to have it cleared. Whenever I got up to get something I always came back to my serviette refolded and placed on the table. The choices of food was outstanding. The staff are very helpful. The doormen always got taxis for us and made sure the driver knew exactly where we wanted to go. Overall the Royal Meridien is a good choice. It may be a bit pricey compared to other hotels in the area, but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjw1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2009

I stayed in Shanghai a few times (for business and travel respectively) but it was the worst experience I have ever had with a hotel here.

I requested to have a double-bed non-smoking room when I booked. But when I checked in the reception just told me that they had only twin bed room left. They did not offered me any other asisstance until I asked her to check and she said there was one double-bed smoking room. Seems like they don't care about the customer's requirement at all. And when I requested to speak to the manager, the manger came out and simply repeated the same thing and told me that they now just had a double-bed smoking room or twin-bed non-smoking room. The point is their attitude is cool and indifferent.

Although one can easily see that this hotel works very hard to appear to come with a lot of artistic elements and modern style, the room is not up to a 5 star hotel standard as well. The paper coasters were used and the tap water smells even after boiling. Their lifted hangers were not working properly.

The only advantage is it is located just above the busy shopping street and in the centre of CBD.

Their entrance is not very convenient as well - you would have to take lifts to the lobby floor and right after you step out from that elevator, you would see a restaurant but not the lobby or reception area. It is quite a maze for first time customer.

All in all, it is the indifferent manner of their staff which made me feel not good. I am just a business traveller so I don't expect to have very warm welcoming staff, but at least hotel staff with caring for the customers would be something I expect. I think there are a lot of good hotels in town than this one.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveletry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guilford, CT USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2009

Amazing service and beautiful, ultra-modern rooms and services. From the minute we arrived, the service was exceedingly welcoming and efficient. the views are wonderful. The restaurants are wonderful. The motif is hyper modern but warm with beautiful Asian decorations. It's in the middle of a bustling area with many choices of restaurants, shopping or cultural sites. The location is perfect, just two blocks from Peoples (or Renmin) Square and the Shanghai Musem. The major pedestrian shopping street is literally out the front door and a few steps to the left. You can walk all the way down to the Bund and the river in an easy stroll of about 30-45 minutes taking moments to shop or gawk at the Chinese dancing or doing their Tai-chi work in the pocket parks on the way. It's a wonderful place at a great price.... superb value.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nlrGuilford_CTUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
People’s Square
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
#33 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
People’s Square
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
#37 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royal Meridien Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Property: Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Address: No.789 Nanjing East Road, Shanghai 200001, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#33 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#34 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#116 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Royal Meridien Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 761
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and sophisticated with an ultra-modern design, Le Royal Meridien Shanghai is one of Shanghai's tallest landmarks, and its location at the centre of Shanghai on the historic Nanjing Road East, opposite the People's Square and overlooking the Shanghai Museum and Shanghai Grand Theater, puts guests at the heart of one of the world's most exciting cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Royal Meridien Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Meridien Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing