We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely gorgeous!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Ranked #38 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Absolutely gorgeous!”
Reviewed 8 May 2009

We stayed four nights at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai and loved every moment. Our room was small but with the most stunning view imaginable of Shanghai. Truly spectacular. The hotel's location is fantastic -- right in the heart of the city -- and the decor reminded me of a stylish modern art deco. The staff was helpful, and the restaurants were very good. After all of our trekking and sightseeing, I booked a massage at the spa, and it was probably the best massage I have ever had. My husband and I still talk about how fabulous this hotel is.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weatherjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,351
    903
    220
    66
    42
See reviews for
256
435
172
1,156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2009

This is the best Le Meridien I have ever stayed at. The club lounge was amazing, all the restaurants are fantastic, the staff if wonderful. Be sure to have a drink at the bar on the top floor - the views are stunning at night. This is a 5-star hotel in Shanghai - can't imagine anything better.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank born4hotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2009

I've stayed in a few properties in Shanghai and for the rooms this is one of the best. Location is superb as well, for tourism, being on the corner of Renmin Square and Nanjing East Road, easy access to metro. From the hotel to the metro I only got asked a couple of times if I wanted a fake Rolex which is pretty good compared to Nanjing East Road.

The negative point for me was the breakfast. The first morning (a Sunday) the buffet restaurant was full and after waiting a few minutes in a queue I was taken to an additional area around the corner from the lobby area which had an inferior atmosphere and a reduced selection of breakfast offerings. The second morning I had the normal breakfast and it was absolutely superb with much more variety. If breakfast is important to you, insist on sitting in the main area.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank potfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2009

Good Ambience, good place to stay for business / events.

If you are on a leisure trip to shanghai then you need to find hotels which are closer to shopping places & tourist attractions.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Khyats24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2009

Stayed here for 10 days at the tail end of 3 week Mission for the Summer Para-Olympics.

The service is top notch; the staff really care about ensuring your stay is perfect.

Was upgraded to a suites as a SPG Platinum.

The club floor lounge has one of the best views in the city and offer an excellent selection of drinks and tapas.

Walking distance to all the main sight seeing areas.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uberator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manila
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2009

We stayed in Le Royal Meridien after last minute changes from our package tour. And we were not disappointed! The rooms were very spacious. Bed was comfortable. Toiletries was complete.... L'occitane for toiletries!! Amenities were also complete

Location was perfect. Right in Nanjing Road. Very accessible to the most department stores in Nanjing.

Concierge was very helpful and knowledgable about where to go and what to do in Shanghai. Most of them speak good English as well.

One drawback is that wi-fi is not free. Housekeeping service is quite slow was well... maybe because its almost fully booked hotel.

Breakfast has a very wide selection... from smoked salmon appetizer to canape to egg benedict.

I would love to stay in this hotel again!

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cute_kaila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2009

I just returned from a 4 day stay in Shanghai during Easter. I think the Le Royal Meridien Shanghai is a decent choice.

LOCATION : The hotel is located in the centre of Shanghai, next to the Nanjing West Rd Shopping street and several malls including Raffles City. The People's Square subway station is below it. The location cannot be better and is much more convenient for tourists than Pudong or Xujiahui. Costs RMB140 by taxi from Pudong airport.

ROOMS: The design is ultra modern and is very comfortable. The view from the room
is spectacular. The bed is comfortable. I appreciate the l'Occitane toiletries.

SERVICE: Excellent except for the waiters at the Chinese restaurant, who are rather aloof. Most staff speaks good English and are helpful and thoughtful. Check-in and concierge are efficient on the whole.

BREAKFAST : Excellent with wide range of choice and as good as any hotel in Asia.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Touristshrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
People’s Square
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
#40 of 5,069 in Shanghai
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
People’s Square
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
#61 of 5,069 in Shanghai
1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royal Meridien Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Property: Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Address: No.789 Nanjing East Road, Shanghai 200001, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#33 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#38 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#107 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Royal Meridien Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 761
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and sophisticated with an ultra-modern design, Le Royal Meridien Shanghai is one of Shanghai's tallest landmarks, and its location at the centre of Shanghai on the historic Nanjing Road East, opposite the People's Square and overlooking the Shanghai Museum and Shanghai Grand Theater, puts guests at the heart of one of the world's most exciting cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Starwood APAC, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Le Royal Meridien Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Meridien Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing