We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“mind blowing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Ranked #34 of 5,032 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
india
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“mind blowing!”
Reviewed 8 June 2009

I had sucha great time at the hotel! The spa is amazing! They have so many different types of massages, it is amazing!

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank scientist86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,304
    889
    216
    66
    41
See reviews for
247
421
172
1,121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2009

This hotel is basically one of the best starwood properties I ever stayed in, every thing there was flawless, I can't remeber any thing that disappointed me there, location is great, food was great, room service are excellent and most important all staff are friendly and polite

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asialoverR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2009

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 1 week. It was by far one of the best hotels we've ever stayed at. The rooms are very modern, clean, and comfortable. The breakfast is amazing and will satisfy any palate. Great location - right on Nanjing Rd. and very close to the metro. The people, shops, and food are right at your doorstep. Service was excellent - the staff even took the time to show me how to use my local cell phone. The royal meridien made our stay in Shanghai that much better.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ygbc2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2009

I have recently started traveling into Shanghai. My Travel Agent recommended this hotel. It has a great location near the People Square and on the Bund side. I originally thought it was on the Bund by my agents description, but it isn't. It is high enough to see the Bund area and into the very modern Pudong. The views at night are stunning.

There are a few strange qwerks with the hotel. I could never figure out which elevators I needed to ride up to my floor. I did have to change elevators at least two time for each journey. I also didn't understand why there were sounds of nature in the lobby (birds chirping).

Overall it was an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hk_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leamington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2009

We loved Le Royal Meridien in Shanghai. The building itself is stunning and can be seen from all over the city and Pudong. Staff - wonderful - polite, really helpful; room - spacious, stylish, spotless - I love the fact that the glass bathroom is part of the room and also LOVE the floor to ceiling windows with the most spectacular views of the city over to Pudong. Breakfast was superb - a staggering choice of food from around the world served in smart surroundings. Note: we ate in one of the hotel restaurants (Chinese food) and the service wasn't great but the food was good (although it all arrived at different times which was a bit frustrating!). Also the bar has stunning views and is very slick - but again the service wasn't brilliant. Would certainly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ob12008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2009

We stayed four nights at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai and loved every moment. Our room was small but with the most stunning view imaginable of Shanghai. Truly spectacular. The hotel's location is fantastic -- right in the heart of the city -- and the decor reminded me of a stylish modern art deco. The staff was helpful, and the restaurants were very good. After all of our trekking and sightseeing, I booked a massage at the spa, and it was probably the best massage I have ever had. My husband and I still talk about how fabulous this hotel is.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weatherjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2009

This is the best Le Meridien I have ever stayed at. The club lounge was amazing, all the restaurants are fantastic, the staff if wonderful. Be sure to have a drink at the bar on the top floor - the views are stunning at night. This is a 5-star hotel in Shanghai - can't imagine anything better.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank born4hotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
People’s Square
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
#33 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
People’s Square
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
#36 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royal Meridien Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Property: Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Address: No.789 Nanjing East Road, Shanghai 200001, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#33 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#34 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#116 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Royal Meridien Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 761
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and sophisticated with an ultra-modern design, Le Royal Meridien Shanghai is one of Shanghai's tallest landmarks, and its location at the centre of Shanghai on the historic Nanjing Road East, opposite the People's Square and overlooking the Shanghai Museum and Shanghai Grand Theater, puts guests at the heart of one of the world's most exciting cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Royal Meridien Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Meridien Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing