We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Hotel Stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Ranked #40 of 4,966 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2009

We stayed 7 nights at the Royal Meridien, and we loved it. This was our first time ever to China, so the central location of the hotel in Shanghai near multiple metro exits, people's square, museums and shopping was great. Staff spoke excellent English and were very helpful and accomodating to all our needs. We upgraded to the Executive Lounge status, which included free breakfast/afternoon tea/snacks, and cocktails/appetizers in the evenings + free internet access - this saved us tons of money and time, so convenient. The gym was amazing, new equipment and machines, very clean and a huge indoor pool / jacuzzi area.
The Chinese restaurant at the hotel was moderately priced and AMAZING, we were really blown away at the superb quality for the fair prices. Beautiful setting too, overlooking the city. The french restaurant was good quality, but we did not like the selection of the 4-course menu - why the chef included 3 seafood items and no meats is beyond me for a French menu. If you go here order ala carte. The exectutive lounge staff recommended another nearby Chinese restaurant - Jade Garden in the Porsche building - that was also amazing and even more affordable, we were the only Anglos there and had no challenges finding the restaurant or ordering - may have been the best Chinese food we've ever had (except the Sweet/Sour Pork at the Le Meridien restaurant was spectacular!!).
Nearby shopping at all price points is everywhere, or hop the very clean and easy metro or taxis to other shopping areas. The lotus pond in people's square was stunning, a must see that is right across the street! Yu Garden was 3-RMB ($1.50 usd?) and had tons of shopping in ancient city setting, side streets and excellent dumplings - 15 pork dumplings for about $1.50 USD. Side streets with food vendors like those you see on the Travel/Food Network shows, very fun.

Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank colleen90405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,241
    868
    211
    65
    40
See reviews for
234
419
165
1,059
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2009

Just returned from four nights at theLe Meridien Hotel and found the position,service,Rooms,and Food all to be of excellent standard.I stayed in a junior suite on the 36th Floor overlooking the peoples square and the room was perfect with all the amenities available from a large Plasma TV that rotates to face the Bed or the Lounge to a large Bathroom with a huge showerhead.Breakfast was a highlight with the most amazing Buffet available.In fact lunch and dinner also offered outstanding Buffet selections.The staff all speak english and are always friendly and asking if you need assistance.The Bar on the 66th floor is a great place to have a drink and watch all the lights come on around the city at night.Overall could not recommend this Hotel highly enough and its deserves its number one ranking on trip advisor for Shanghai Hotels.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamo5468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
188 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2009

Stayed here in October 2008 with family. Not the ideal hotel for staying with family. Rooms are small and if you request 2 beds, they stiff you with 2 twin beds. Rooms were very modern and well kept. Windows are big and give quite a view of the city.

Location was descent as it was located right on Nanjing Road. Wireless internet was not available in the rooms. Had to go to the business center located on another floor. Not very convenient for a hotel catered to business travelers.

The sink is outside of the bathroom. No counter in the bathroom to put your clothes on. Also there the bathroom window is transparent with a pulldown curtain.

Good hotel for couples and business travelers. Pick another hotel if traveling with family.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carmen1318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2009

Just your average great hotel. The one thing that stood out was the quality of the food at the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank publius72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
99 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2009

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel, a perfect place to spend our last couple of days in China. We had been picked up at the airport by a guide, who knew her way around, otherwise we might have struggled with check-in as it isn't at ground level. You also need to concentrate to make sure you use the correct lift, as they don't all go to the same floors.
The room was great, with floor to ceiling windows, a massive television on the wall and a fantastic glass bathroom. Not sure what other reviewers meant about the door to the bathroom, it was frosted glass, and certainly not see-through.
The pool area was very clean, and the pool quite large and a perfect temperature.
The breakfast was outstanding, probably the best I have ever had. The choice was amazing. On our first morning we were led to a table in a rather dark part of the restaurant, we asked if we could sit nearer to the windows, and to start with they said that none were available. I noticed an empty table and they somewhat reluctantly moved us.
The business centre charged 50p per minute for the internet which I think is too expensive, even for an upmarket hotel.
The fruit juice and iced water in reception was a nice touch, and the "turn-down" service always asked if we wanted extra waters.
Overall a very good hotel, which I would hope to revisit sometime.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2009

Just stayed here one night on a trip mostly to other parts of China. hotel was very nice and location is great. No problems with the hotel. Great view from my room, although room was a little small the outside wall was a big window, so made it feel bigger.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AbramFroman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2009

I recently stayed at Le Meridien Shanghai and I must say I was overwhelmed with the granduer of the property as well as the personal service offered. Before I arrived I emailed Concierge at the hotel to arrange a train ticket from Shanghai to Beijing, different class options were offered and the tickets were waiting on my arrival......... very smooth and reassuring that I didn't have to try and do it myself on arrival in Shanghai. The hotel is very impressive (brand new, maybe 2 years old), the building itself is one of the tallest in Shanghai and located perfectly at the end of Nanjing Road (walking/shopping street) and across the road from Peoples Park. The subway is 100metres from the hotel and taxis are plentiful. The breakfast at the hotel was amazing and it was very nice to receive an "illy" coffee at breakfast to start the day. The indoor swimming pool and gymnasium was the perfect place to end a mad day of shopping in Shanghai........ the hotel is the perfect sanctuary after battling with the masses on the streets. Would definitely stay at Le Meridien Shanghai again........ both the staff and the building are top notch!

Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilbury06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
#34 of 4,966 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
People’s Square
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
#59 of 4,966 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royal Meridien Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Property: Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Address: No.789 Nanjing East Road, Shanghai 200001, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#33 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#40 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#136 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Royal Meridien Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 761
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and sophisticated with an ultra-modern design, Le Royal Meridien Shanghai is one of Shanghai's tallest landmarks, and its location at the centre of Shanghai on the historic Nanjing Road East, opposite the People's Square and overlooking the Shanghai Museum and Shanghai Grand Theater, puts guests at the heart of one of the world's most exciting cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Le Royal Meridien Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Meridien Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing