We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Ranked #34 of 5,035 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Muscat Governorate, Oman
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Location, location, location.”
Reviewed 2 July 2010

This is a huge busy hotel, very centrally located, close to simply everywhere. It sits in the busy nanjing road, and right next to people's square, green spacious area with some cafe's and a subway station. beautiful place!

We had some expectations, some were met, some were not! We arrived in a very busy time, summer season, plus expo was on. Thus the hotel had probably many visitors to entertain. We informed the hotel that we were on our honeymoon, we expected some special considerations, there wasn't.

We booked a grand deluxe, on the 36th floor, overlooking the bund. The view was breath-taking! The rooms are highly trendy.. nice to look at, but can get a wee bit impractical. Lifts were a headache, we have to take two different lifts to get to our room on the 36th foor. I think it's how the lay out of the hotel is. Plus, It's quite a busy hotel, I didn't particularly enjoy bumping into people from all walks of life in the 2 lift journey to and from my room.

The internet charge is ridiculous, who charges for internet in today's time? quite a disappointment! Fortunately, there is a costa just outside the hotel with free wi-fi.

Breakfast area was HUGE. The buffet was massive, good but not excellent. We were disappointed the fruit section was not well maintained. Fruits were not always cut, you needed to call someone. My husband once wanted some pineapple displayed but uncut, the reply was "I don't know where the person is, do you want pineapple juice instead?"

Staff were of great help!

For the size of the hotel and the number of guests, I think the management are doing a pretty good job.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsOman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,305
    889
    216
    66
    41
See reviews for
247
421
172
1,121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2010

Cordial welcome at the reception with mostly english speaking staff. The room was luxarious, spacious and trendy. The Breakfast offered large variety of food and spaciall need was taken care of. The hotel offers well equiped gym and had a nice swimming pool. The top floor offer a scintillating view of the city. However has bad experience while dining in its Italian restraunt. I am a veggie, however by mistake they served me pork even though there menu says that the item which i picked is a vegetarian, post that day i never ventured inside that restaurant. Overall i will recommend people to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonu78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2010

I stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel is very busy and very well located. Easy walking distance to many key parts of downtown Shanghai. The public areas are large and well staffed.

The food was very good with all cultures being catered for. I ate breakfast and lunch in the main restaurant, and each time was satisfying. The coffee was terrible, only place I found half decent coffee was Starbucks and it cost a fortune!

The staff were friendly and most spoke English well. It is well worth having a drink at the top floor bar, the views are special.

I loved the eating out in Shanghai.

The rooms were very good, I was on the upper floors so had good views towards the river. The showers are a trick for a westerner, took me a while to work out how to get the ‘rain shower’ setting working, but it was great once I had worked it out.

I would hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PacificTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2010

This is my second review of this hotel, since my last review I've been to at least 8 other similarly classed hotels in different cities and I admit that I breathed a sigh of relief when I returned here.
I think the most important thing to mention is that this hotel delivers strongly on service consistency despite its large size. It has a capable management team that will deliver on the expected level of service.
Keep one thing in mind if you decide to come here. While I can find no fault in the service levels of the hotel, this is a VERY large (over 750 rooms) hotel and they are very active. It is inevitable that you will run into people from all walks of life here. If privacy, quiet settings and idyllic afternoons in the lobby are your idea of a good time in the hotel, you might want to look at some of the other comments mentioned here before you make your decision. If you don't mind being dodging large numbers of people in the public areas, then this is the place for you. For a truly pleasurable experience, you might want to invest in an upper (floor 55 or above) room.... The difference will make it well worth the value. If you want a really good restaurant experience, this hotel has an acclaimed French restaurant which has previously won awards... Good luck !

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NightWhispers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2010

We expected a lot from this hotel and it fulfilled every expectation. In our first room we had a weird smell (very minor, though), and we complained. We were immediately offered a new room, which was perfect. The rooms are modern and the bed is absolutely fantastic.

There is also a very good fitness centre and a swimming pool with a fantastic view.

Breakfast was perfect, service was great, and all in all, Le Meriedien is a safe choice for any traveller, business or leisure.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fintraveller78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2010

Stay on the club level excellent service there breakfast and snacks in the evening very goodat the club
shouldn't charge for Internet

  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianascutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2010

lovely hotel
fantastic swimming pool
good italian restaraunt

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
People’s Square
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
#33 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
People’s Square
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
#37 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royal Meridien Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Property: Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Address: No.789 Nanjing East Road, Shanghai 200001, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#33 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#34 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#116 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Royal Meridien Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 761
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and sophisticated with an ultra-modern design, Le Royal Meridien Shanghai is one of Shanghai's tallest landmarks, and its location at the centre of Shanghai on the historic Nanjing Road East, opposite the People's Square and overlooking the Shanghai Museum and Shanghai Grand Theater, puts guests at the heart of one of the world's most exciting cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Royal Meridien Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Meridien Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing