We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again. Reception and hallways look good BUT.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
New Century Manju Hotel (Luoshan)
Ranked #2,554 of 5,112 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 2 June 2014

As said in the title, the hallways and reception looks great but my room was not up to standard at all.

Firstly I booked the room through booking.com and it said that the original price was £125 reduced to £26. NOT TRUE. The room WAS NOT worth that much. The manager told me the 299rmb I was charged in the end was their standard lowest price.

The room:

shower head - BROKEN. Water sprayed everywhere.
shower door - plastic on edges broken so after my shower, the bathroom floor was basically FLOODED.
room wallpaper - peeling with white paint stains.
mosquitoes - room had atleast 5 of them when I got in.
phone calls - after a busy long day I decided to sleep early only to be woken up at 10pm asking if i wanted a massage.

DO NOT STAY WITH THIS HOTEL IF YOU ARE EXPECTING VALUE FOR MONEY AND A GOOD NIGHT'S REST.

WORST HOTEL I'VE STAYED WITH IN SHANGHAI/CHINA SO FAR.

I complained to management and their best was to only offer a free upgrade next time. AS IF IM GOING TO STAY WITH THEM AGAIN.

IF THEY SPENT THE SAME AMOUNT OF TIME AND MONEY THEY DO ON THEIR HALLWAYS THEN MAYBE THEY WOULD DESERVE TO BE A 4 STAR HOTEL.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chowmein87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
There are newer reviews for New Century Manju Hotel (Luoshan)
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 20 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

Typical Chinese operated domestic hotel that's no where near international standards. Although rooms are of reasonable size and relatively clean, hotel staffs are not professional or well trained. Breakfast buffet was very Chinese and okay. But there were only big tables, and had to share with other domestic guests that had poor eating manners and habits. The strangest thing was a lady phoned in my room every night about 10 PM to offer message services! Never had that in all hotels I stayed in my life time. There was no restaurant or public transportation nearby. Only reason I stayed here because the Shanghai New International Expo Center was within walking distance and our Chinese associates had a block rate at this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Initially I was given a room that had a sitting area on one level, and the bedroom on another level. That would have required me lugging my suitcase up and down. Asked for a change of room. Was given a large room on the ground floor, with windows looking out on to the car park area. It was a large room, with a strange shower area that shared a transparent glass wall with the bedroom. There was no wifi throughout the hotel, which was very very inconvenient.
The buffet breakfast was mostly Chinese traditional. Location of the hotel is in the middle of nowhere, very inconvenient.

Room Tip: Make sure the room is not split level, and does not face the car park area.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Persimmone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I will pass on this hotel next time. Dark, a little dank, not an interesting neighborhood and connectivity is poor. Service was not very good. The breakfast filled your stomach. The hotel seems popular with budget domestic business travellers.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HKinquisitive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

This is more like motel for me. Most staff don't speak English so it was hard to communicate. In room, they give you only one instant coffee mix per day. This coffee mix includes instant coffee and cream powder but no sugar. Room heater doesn't work very well so if it's cold day, get another key and leave the key in the room to keep the heater on.

- It has strange bathroom. The shower has glass wall that you can see inside from the bedroom area and this curtain is on the bedroom side. If someone takes a shower, whoever in the bedroom can either put the curtain on or off to see someone's naked body. weird...

- Breakfast includes cereal, bread (cold or toasted), lo mein, fried rice and basic salad and some other meat dishes. Egg station is on and off. Depends on the crowds. There are some big travel groups staying here so when there are these groups, no egg station.

- Hotel restaurant seems a bit expensive.

- Hotel doesn't have wifi in room. Only hotel lobby.

- Room was spacious though.

Take taxi and with basic fare (14?), you can go to Kerry hotel shopping center or thumb square where many restaurants are.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bubbleDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

this is a reasonable hotel. However is disconnected to the Pudong city. The hotel is very far and has connectivity problem. The rooms are ok . Good service by the hotel.

You may find a better option in Pudong as this is only a convenient hotel for the expo location

Room Tip: You may find a better options in Pudong..
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colombus1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

I was there for the Shangai Travel Fair last month and the hotel is 5mins drive to the New Convention Center. The room is very clean and specious. There are no Gym or Spa FYI. The Breakfast was ok and I end up eating a boiled egg and a glass of orange juice (only half left). No Wifi in the room but free LAN connection. Oh yeah I was able to check-in very early at 5am. That was cool.

Tip: If you take a taxi with no meter, make sure you bargain real hard. Mr first Trip to the New Convention Center cost me RMB120, the second day only 40, yeah do the math :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SokhalaySiemReap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Century Park
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#155 of 5,112 in Shanghai
154 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Rhea Boutique Hotel Shanghai Railway Station
Century Park
Hotel Ibis Shanghai Lianyang
Hotel Ibis Shanghai Lianyang
#2,545 of 5,112 in Shanghai
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Century Park
Dorsett Shanghai
Dorsett Shanghai
#72 of 5,112 in Shanghai
460 reviews
Shanghai New International Expo Center
Blue Horizon International Hotel Shanghai
Century Park
Grand Mercure Shanghai Century Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Century Manju Hotel (Luoshan)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Century Manju Hotel (Luoshan)

Address: No.1609 Luoshan Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 201206, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai New International Expo Center
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,554 of 5,112 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: £50 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Century Manju Hotel (Luoshan) 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your New Century Manju Hotel (Luoshan) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing