We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maybe not a family hotel, but not bad.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Home Inn Plus Shanghai Beiwaitan Zhoujiazui Road

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Home Inn Plus Shanghai Beiwaitan Zhoujiazui Road
Ranked #1,937 of 4,967 Hotels in Shanghai
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Maybe not a family hotel, but not bad.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

First of all, the water pressure is amazing! Secondly, the beds are firm. Some people may not like them, but they were exactly what I needed after a 14 hour flight. I didn't notice any movement or noises outside the room. I did get the little massage/prostitute cards slipped under my door. They make for interesting souvenirs! Collect them all!
The motel supplies you with tea, electric kettle, internet, soap, toothbrush/toothpaste(2).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    56
    31
    5
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

I am not a very high maintenance person, but this motel is disgusting! Like another review said, I have no idea how anyone could say that this place was nice! It is in a bad part of town, it's dirty, the beds are hard as a rock, the shower is set up in the dumbest way possible, they give you tiny rolls of toilet paper that run out much too quickly, the buffet was disgusting. The worst thing I have encountered upon our stay here were the escorts! We are from America, so getting used to the time different takes a few days. Women stick cards under your door, like cards you would see out in the street in Las Vegas, and then call your room at all hours of the night! When you are desperate for sleep this gets extremely annoying. The room next to us must have answer one of the women's calls one night, because someone stood outside of his room for over 2 hours ringing the doorbell and knocking. You can hear anything through these walls! The knocking and ringing was followed by three hours of the loudest sexual encounter I have ever heard in my life. It's hot in the hallways, it smells, and no one at the front is able to help you or speak any amount of English to even point you in the right direction. DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

I can't believe anyone could say anything nice about this hotel. Someone said "by Chinese Standards" it was acceptable. I spent 3 weeks in an inexpensive hotel just south of Shainghai and it was so much better than this hotel, and it didn't include prostitutes calling your room late at night. The rooms were filthy. I was with a group of 10 highly tolerant friends, but when they got to this hotel, every one was disgusted. Filthy countertops, hair on the floor. Unfortunately our rooms were previously booked so we had to stay there two nights, and it never got any better. Ladies of the evening had left their cards on our night stands and then proceeded to call our rooms until 11 at night. One customer dropped his lady in the lobby. She sat there for quit some time appearing very wasted. And if that wasn't enough, the lobby has wood floors and for some reason the patrons, some renting by the hour, were amazingly loud. The sound of slamming doors and voices echoed down the halls at all hours. Only good I can say for the hotel is its location. Close to the bus station and downtown. The buffet was decent too.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank OurMsSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jinzhou, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2005

I stayed here during a long term assignment in Shanghai at the end of November and early December and i have also posted details in the forum under the topic of long term stays.
As the name suggests the price here is from 168 yuan which includes a good Chinese style buffet breakfast, for which you get a voucher for every morning from reception. The room i was in , double bed, was comfortable enough and functional. Everything was clean (cleaner than i expected) and the bathroom was fine (with a shower better than mine back at home!). The rooms are quite small though and if you sit on the bed to watch TV you are pretty much on the TV! Bed maybe a little hard for some. Free internet access is a bonus, especially as some hotels will charge 50 rmb per day for the priveledge. A lead is provided but take your own just in case (nothing more annoying than a broken connector!). Being a cheap hotel, it does also make business by selling rooms by the hour,(the thin walls provided this information!) but this doesn't mean it is sleazy and from what I heard from colleagues in Shanghai it is common practice in all cheaper lower star hotels to get phone calls from 'ladies' asking if you want a 'massage'. Just unplug the phone as soon as you get in and you won't get disturbed. I felt safe at all times, incidently. Also, my room was by the lift (elevator)and seeing as the corridor floors are uncarpeted then sometimes I was woken up by people coming and going at all hours. So take ear plugs if you want a good night's sleep. Lastly about the room, in November, early December the rooms can get a little cold, but the aircon unit (no central heating in Shanghai) provided good enough heat. The location of the hotel is about 20 minutes ( non rush hour) by taxi (25 rmb) to People Square or walking just over an hour. (Honqiao airport to hotel 45 minutes by taxi and 60 rmb).If you want to get in to 'town' for early morning , be prepared for the rush hour traffic which will be front to back on the other side of the road from 7.30am to 9am, leaving around 7.15 will get you in in 30 mins later and you are looking at much longer. Be ready for some taxis, especially the long haired guy outside the Motel, to refuse to take you in to town during rush hour! And don't exect the door man or porter to flag down a taxi for you!!! Other clientele included small Malaysian and Singaporean groups, Chinese businessmen and a couple of 'foreigners' (me :) ). I know Motel 168 has other locations around the city and you should also check them out for location (their website- though English site is poor- but i booked on Ctrip-). I reckon standard and service-wise they will all be the same.

  • Stayed November 2005, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank johnniew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Pudong International Airport
Ramada Pudong Airport Shanghai
Ramada Pudong Airport Shanghai
#131 of 4,967 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Jinqiao
Motel 168 Shanghai Jinqiao
Motel 168 Shanghai Jinqiao
#1,649 of 4,967 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Pudong International Airport
Dazhong Airport Hotel
Dazhong Airport Hotel
#26 of 715 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Motel 168 (Shanghai The Bund)
Motel 168 (Shanghai The Bund)
#1,929 of 4,967 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Shanghai Fish Inn Bund
#77 of 4,967 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Inn Plus Shanghai Beiwaitan Zhoujiazui Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Inn Plus Shanghai Beiwaitan Zhoujiazui Road

Property: Home Inn Plus Shanghai Beiwaitan Zhoujiazui Road
Address: No.518 Zhoujiazui Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200080, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Hongkou , The North Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,937 of 4,967 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Home Inn Plus Shanghai Beiwaitan Zhoujiazui Road 2*
Number of rooms: 234
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Home Inn Plus Shanghai Beiwaitan Zhoujiazui Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 168 (Shanghai Zhoujiazui) Hotel Shanghai
Shanghai Motel 168

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing