We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nanjing Hotel Shanghai”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jinjiang Inn Shanghai Nanjing Hotel
Ranked #1,328 of 5,146 Hotels in Shanghai
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 5 November 2009

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

105 - 111 of 288 reviews

An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 4 November 2009

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 1 November 2009

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 27 October 2009

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 12 October 2009

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 October 2009

Very convienent location. Nothing flash but clean and had everything you needed. I wouldn't bother with the breakfast.

Stayed: July 2009
Thank kitchenwizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2009

What an easy and pleasant introduction to Shanghai! For starters, this hotel is SIMPLE to get to from the airport - take the Maglev Express train to the terminus, transfer to the Metro Line 2, 6 stops to Nanjing Road EAST, out exit 1, turn right, walk less than 1 minute and voila! Nanjing Hotel. (The express train costs 50 and the metro ride costs 6 and could not be easier to navigate.)

For 3 nights the location was ideal, central to everything. If you are feeling ambitious, at 7am you can walk up Nanjing Road to the People's Square and see all the morning buzz of exercisers and dancers. What a treat! The hotel itself has a quaint charm to it, I love this type of place! Like the reviewer below I was also on the 8th floor, in 801 which is a corner room, also at the end of the corridor, about TWICE as big as other rooms in the hotel, and 2 windows for a nice airy and breezy draft. I only mention that because, effective October 7, the hotel has dismantled its AC for the winter season. Great for the environment, not so great if you like a bit of air in your quarters. :) Problem solved, just ask (nicely) for a fan for the room,

As for all the commentary regarding the front desk staff, I live in Asia and found the staff to be patient, accommodating, and helpful. ALL OF THEM. From the moment I walked in the hotel there was an issue with my Expedia booking that they quickly resolved. I was given a choice of rooms. I was provided a fan for my room, travel advice, restaurant advice, shopping advice, and even a hair dryer on request! I think if as a guest in China you take your time and communicate slowly you in your language, you will be met with a courteous and helpful response.

As for the bedding, some reviewers complained and yes the bed IS firm but I LOVE it!! (I'd sleep on the floor if I could, hello tatami mat and futon!) If noise is an issue you'll definitely want to be on the back side of the hotel although I was on the front side and the noise completely dies down by evening. I am generally a light-ish sleeper and had no problem. Actually I thought the room and corridor were super quiet (not even sure there were any other guests during my stay- it was THAT quiet) In room broadband internet is available for .10 a mn or 20 a day, fairly reliable altho did time-out every couple of hours and the government has a ban on F@cebook, Tw1tter and Pic@sa currently in place, fyi.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends. Also, I highly recommend the sichuan restaurant (told to me by the Front Desk staff hehe) around the corner (try the chicken with peanuts YUMMMM, 28!) and also the Brick Coffee takeaway stand for a delicious Iced Pearl or Milk Tea Coffee (6 and 10 respectively). See photos attached. :)

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zenful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Pacific Hotel
Pacific Hotel
#154 of 5,146 in Shanghai
346 reviews
People’s Square
Seventh Heaven Hotel
Seventh Heaven Hotel
#155 of 5,146 in Shanghai
356 reviews
People’s Square
Wu Gong Hotel
Wu Gong Hotel
#1,309 of 5,146 in Shanghai
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lakeside Holiday Inn
#1,635 of 5,146 in Shanghai
143 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Hotel The Land
Hotel The Land
#1,786 of 5,146 in Shanghai
14 reviews
Caoyang / Zhenru
Ganghong Hotel
Ganghong Hotel
#1,334 of 5,146 in Shanghai
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jinjiang Inn Shanghai Nanjing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jinjiang Inn Shanghai Nanjing Hotel

Address: No.200 Shanxi South Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,328 of 5,146 Hotels in Shanghai
Hotel Class:2 star — Jinjiang Inn Shanghai Nanjing Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nanjing Hotel Shanghai Jin Jiang is located at Huangpu District, Shanghai, China. Some of the famous trourist spots that you can visit while staying here are The Bund, People's Square, and The Shanghai Museum. It offers 165 air-conditioned guestrooms, all of which have mini-bar, cable TV, and room safe. It is a must-try to dine in at their restaurant called Shanghai Town that serves Beijing and Shanghai cuisines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jinjiang Inn Shanghai Nanjing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nanjing Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing