We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“There's not much more you could ask for” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Longemont Shanghai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Longemont Shanghai
Ranked #88 of 4,941 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“There's not much more you could ask for”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

I admit I wasn't expecting much from a hotel in Shanghai at under $200 a night so I was pleasantly surprised with my stay at The Longemont. The rooms are spacious and well set out, the bathroom is nicely designed and I appreciated the free internet service as much as I detest hotels that charge for the privilege. The fitness centre was great and the pool just the right temperature and most importantly, clean. The included breakfast had an ample range from which to choose and freshly poached eggs were done so to perfection. My only gripe, and this goes for lots of Asian hotels, is the inability to override the air conditioning. It was freezing outside but simply too hot inside making sleep difficult. On request they did change the heavy winter continental quilt for a much lighter one but when it comes to it, the one thing you want more than anything from a hotel is to wake up refreshed. Had I been able to do that, I would have given this hotel 5 out of 5 without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    354
    90
    23
    7
See reviews for
58
94
67
261
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

A Chinese hotel that has got the Western business hotel thing right....great pool & fitness centre. Rooms are a little tired now but very comfortable with fantastic views (you can also slide your bathroom wall back to relax & watch the TV!) plus you can get some great deals including breakfast (try hoteltravel.com). It's so handy for some of the coolest bits of the city, the staff are really helpful & the restaurants are good - especially the Italian on the 1st floor. Wouldn't bother with the 'club floor' - an unnecessary expense & rather disappointing. Have stayed about 6 times now.....home from home!

Room Tip: Premium if you can - higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fiver169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

For the price at which longemont offers rooms, it is impossible to better it.
has one of the best galleries i had ever seen.very friendly staff who understand english and speak in a manner that you will understand.i checked-in at 1 AM and it was a breeze checking in. they gave me a good Forex rate, so do mind, if you are checking into longemont, get your exchange done at hotel instead of airport.its near to the bussiness districts and rooms are very spacious. even the wash room is very good and the pasta their restaurants serve is a quality fair.absolute Value For money

Room Tip: Ask for a room on anything above 40th floor and you will get a view of shanghai like no other
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Priyanshu_jha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
45UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

I am surprised by just how positive the other reviews are, for me the Longemont was a real disappointment. Firstly though some positives: the hotel gave me an early check-me at about 11am which was appreciated after an overnight flight and the rooms, even a basic one is a good size with free internet access. However, the room was not particularly clean with dust balls on the floor, missing and scuffed skirting boards, and one of the pillow cases was stained. The walls are also very thin, so expect some noise.

The lobby is large but a bit chaotic, lots of staff stand around and smile at you as you walk through but very few (if any staff) outside to help with luggage or to arrange a taxi. I had to carry my own luggage into the hotel before anyone assisted and another taxi driver helped with directions outside the hotel because there was no one around.

It is also the first hotel in my life that you can not use the swimming pool unless you buy one of their swimming caps! Well firstly this is just a stupid money con & secondly I don't want to carry money to the swimming pool.

The breakfast selection is a bit tired and not at all imaginative (try the Intercontinental Pudong - the same class of hotel & price but leagues better). What was also annoying was that it was hard to find someone to bring coffee to the table but as soon as I went up to get something from the buffet (which is very spread out), my breakfast things would all be cleared away when I came back - this happened on 3 out of my 5 days here. Even the usual etiquette of placing the napkin on the back of my seat to indicate it is in use made no difference.

Another falling in comparison to good 5-star hotels is that there is no evening turn down service. The bathroom products and complimentary water are the hotels own brand, but a medium sized bottle of evian is available in the room for £7.00!

The hotel is also very isolated from the downtown and is not within easy walking distance of the metro (very cheap & easy to use with all instructions in English).

All in all, compared to my other stays in Shanghai, this has been the most disappointing.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, some of the rooms on each floor are just off the main corridor and these suffe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 45UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wervik, Belgium
Level Contributor
147 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

i stayed about ten times in this hotel (also when it was called "regent") and i always had a very nice experience
VERY spacious rooms and sometimes updates to phantastic suites
now two years since i last time stayed overthere, but if it is still like in the past, i definitively recommend it

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank antoonsix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

I stayed there 3 times and I never wanted to leave. was a great experience. affordable, friendly, english speaking staff. large clean rooms. i loved the bathrooms!! i soaked in their huge tub for 2 hours , was so relaxing. The great thing though, was the fact they had a variety of foods...italian, american and chinese. was just what i needed to make me feel like I wasnt so far from home. would def stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deathcab1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
257 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

A great effort at a 5-star but a bit below par on a few fronts.
First there is no really top-class international restaurant in the hotel - all are average, with some pretty inexperienced staff. The best is maybe the buffet, but that doesn't work if you want table service.
Second, the room temperature controls are useless - you can have the pre-set temperature, and nothing else - that is invariably too hot, especially overnight...and by the way the beds are too squidgy.
Next, Internet access is woefully slow and patchy, both wired and wireless - forget streaming or Skype, it's too slow.
My final gripe...do not pay their prices for bottled water! Ridiculous....go next door to the mini mart and pay less than half.
Otherwise, a competent hotel, nice staff, pretty reasonably priced rooms, and good facilities including the excellent leisure centre.

Room Tip: As high as possible - the road outside is noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRoliingMcStones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#21 of 4,941 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
Former French Concession
Radisson Blu Plaza Xingguo Hotel Shanghai
Zhongshan Park
Renaissance Shanghai Zhongshan Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zhongshan Park
Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Jing An Temple
People’s Square
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
Jing'an
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
#43 of 4,941 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Longemont Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Longemont Shanghai

Property: The Longemont Shanghai
Address: No.1116 Yan'an West Road, Changning District, Shanghai 200052, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Zhongshan Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#46 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#53 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#85 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#87 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#153 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Longemont Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 511
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Longemont Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Longemont Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
The Longemont Hotel Shanghai
Regent Shanghai
Longemont Hotel Shanghai
Regent Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing