We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with excellent customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Longemont Shanghai
Ranked #104 of 5,206 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Stay here for 4 days and was sastify with the room and facilities in this hotel. The hotel room is spacious and I love the bed. The pillow is very comfy.

The only drawback for this hotel is you need to work at least 15-20 mins to get the train station. You need to get a cab everytime you want to go out for shopping or food.

Overall I am very sastify with this hotel and will definitely stay back here when I visited Shanghai again.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dcspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (836)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

189 - 195 of 836 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2012

My wife and I picked the Longemont because it was convenient to places we needed to go to, otherwise, neither its image nor brand recognitiion would convince us that it's a 5-star operation that's comparable to the likes of the Hyatt or Marriott. Come on now, not all 5-star hotels are created equal, no matter what the sign says. The Longemont aspires to be all that hospitality and quality that guests would expect, but it didn't leave us with a lasting impression of wanting to return. It is decent to be honest, but that's almost a given. These days people choose to stay at upper-end or boutique hotels because they want to be pampered and be surprised by the acommodations, service, design, and facilities, otherwise, why spend the money if spending the night at a local inn serves the purpose. What we found most disappointing was the breakfast. I know they had to cater to guests of different countries, but it just wasn't that appealing. Of course the safe things were eggs and bacon, but why can't they make other foods more appetizing.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guruojgu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

The Longemont (there seem to be two of them; I stayed in the one at 1116 Yan'an Road) is a fine place. The staff were very keen to help out and there were full-time foreign employees on duty in the lobby at all times. I was aided by an Irish lass and a Japanese women (I speak both English and Japanese), but other staff were very good with English. You get the sense that this hotel is trying hard to win repeat business. The breakfast buffet is terrific, too. Rooms were very well-appointed and modern. My bed was a lot better than what I sleep on at home. And it was dead quiet (I was on the 43rd floor). I booked online and the price was about what I would pay for a mediocre business hotel in Japan, but far more comfortable and spacious. I would certainly stay there again as it was close to business in Shanghai. If there is a demerit, it would be that you need to walk about 15 minutes to the nearest subway station. But I honestly can't complain. There's a great restaurant (Dinning 1221) nearby. Ask the Desk where it is and give that a try, too.

Room Tip: Higher up is better. Be sure to ask for a non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElDude9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I admit I wasn't expecting much from a hotel in Shanghai at under $200 a night so I was pleasantly surprised with my stay at The Longemont. The rooms are spacious and well set out, the bathroom is nicely designed and I appreciated the free internet service as much as I detest hotels that charge for the privilege. The fitness centre was great and the pool just the right temperature and most importantly, clean. The included breakfast had an ample range from which to choose and freshly poached eggs were done so to perfection. My only gripe, and this goes for lots of Asian hotels, is the inability to override the air conditioning. It was freezing outside but simply too hot inside making sleep difficult. On request they did change the heavy winter continental quilt for a much lighter one but when it comes to it, the one thing you want more than anything from a hotel is to wake up refreshed. Had I been able to do that, I would have given this hotel 5 out of 5 without hesitation.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephen255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

A Chinese hotel that has got the Western business hotel thing right....great pool & fitness centre. Rooms are a little tired now but very comfortable with fantastic views (you can also slide your bathroom wall back to relax & watch the TV!) plus you can get some great deals including breakfast (try hoteltravel.com). It's so handy for some of the coolest bits of the city, the staff are really helpful & the restaurants are good - especially the Italian on the 1st floor. Wouldn't bother with the 'club floor' - an unnecessary expense & rather disappointing. Have stayed about 6 times now.....home from home!

Room Tip: Premium if you can - higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiver169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

For the price at which longemont offers rooms, it is impossible to better it.
has one of the best galleries i had ever seen.very friendly staff who understand english and speak in a manner that you will understand.i checked-in at 1 AM and it was a breeze checking in. they gave me a good Forex rate, so do mind, if you are checking into longemont, get your exchange done at hotel instead of airport.its near to the bussiness districts and rooms are very spacious. even the wash room is very good and the pasta their restaurants serve is a quality fair.absolute Value For money

Room Tip: Ask for a room on anything above 40th floor and you will get a view of shanghai like no other
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Priyanshu_jha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I am surprised by just how positive the other reviews are, for me the Longemont was a real disappointment. Firstly though some positives: the hotel gave me an early check-me at about 11am which was appreciated after an overnight flight and the rooms, even a basic one is a good size with free internet access. However, the room was not particularly clean with dust balls on the floor, missing and scuffed skirting boards, and one of the pillow cases was stained. The walls are also very thin, so expect some noise.

The lobby is large but a bit chaotic, lots of staff stand around and smile at you as you walk through but very few (if any staff) outside to help with luggage or to arrange a taxi. I had to carry my own luggage into the hotel before anyone assisted and another taxi driver helped with directions outside the hotel because there was no one around.

It is also the first hotel in my life that you can not use the swimming pool unless you buy one of their swimming caps! Well firstly this is just a stupid money con & secondly I don't want to carry money to the swimming pool.

The breakfast selection is a bit tired and not at all imaginative (try the Intercontinental Pudong - the same class of hotel & price but leagues better). What was also annoying was that it was hard to find someone to bring coffee to the table but as soon as I went up to get something from the buffet (which is very spread out), my breakfast things would all be cleared away when I came back - this happened on 3 out of my 5 days here. Even the usual etiquette of placing the napkin on the back of my seat to indicate it is in use made no difference.

Another falling in comparison to good 5-star hotels is that there is no evening turn down service. The bathroom products and complimentary water are the hotels own brand, but a medium sized bottle of evian is available in the room for £7.00!

The hotel is also very isolated from the downtown and is not within easy walking distance of the metro (very cheap & easy to use with all instructions in English).

All in all, compared to my other stays in Shanghai, this has been the most disappointing.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, some of the rooms on each floor are just off the main corridor and these suffe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 45UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Zhongshan Park
Pentahotel Shanghai
Pentahotel Shanghai
#62 of 5,206 in Shanghai
635 reviews
Shanghai Stadium
Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel
Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel
#106 of 5,206 in Shanghai
463 reviews
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#5 of 5,206 in Shanghai
2,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zhongshan Park
Renaissance Shanghai Zhongshan Park Hotel
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
#97 of 5,206 in Shanghai
785 reviews
Waigaoqiao
Sheraton Shanghai Waigaoqiao Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Longemont Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Longemont Shanghai

Address: No.1116 Yan'an West Road, Changning District, Shanghai 200052, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Zhongshan Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#56 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#87 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#98 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#139 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £79 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Longemont Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 511
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Longemont Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Longemont Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
The Longemont Hotel Shanghai
Regent Shanghai
Longemont Hotel Shanghai
Regent Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing