We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Way Above the City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Longemont Shanghai
Ranked #90 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Eastham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
138 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Way Above the City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

The Longemont is a fairly new hotel with beautiful spacious rooms. I have attached photos including one of the slider enclosed bathroom . There are offices on the lower floors so your room should have an unobstructed view. Also there is no problem with noise when your room is up 30 or more stories. We looked down on the older French Concession which is with a short cab ride of the hotel. Another short cab ride will get you to the upscale shopping district near the Jing An Temple. It is a longer trek to the Bund but you can go there on the Metro which is about 15 minutes from the hotel.
We enjoyed the attractive lounge in the lobby. We found the staff there and throughout the hotel to be friendly and comfortable with English.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CapeCarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    355
    92
    24
    7
See reviews for
58
94
68
266
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Went there for business, the staff is fairly efficient, our room is of decent size on a high floor (50th), clean, with a good view of Shanghai metropolis. However, to go anywhere from the hotel, you must have a car or go by taxi. There is nothing much within walking distance from the Hotel if one would like to roam about after business is done, as such, I would not stay there for pleasure, mainly because of its location, and also it is not truly a 5-star hotel if you come in expecting one. It lacks the distinctiveness and character commonly associated with most 5 stars, and the finishing, although nice to look at at initial glance, is not that of 5 star quality, but credits to the efforts for trying. All in all, it is comfortable and practical place to stay if your place of business is in the proximity of Changning district in Shanghai.

Room Tip: We stayed at high floor which is 2 floors above the club lounge for breakfast and tea, which is conv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharewise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahore, Pakistan
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

This hotel is OK if considered 4 or 4.5 stars MAX, but not close to 5 Star hotels. AC was broken, with room temperature control not working. Housekeeping or room service do not speak English at all, and when I complained for room to be too HOT, they simply opened up the window with all the loud noises of traffic, how cool. Anyways, hotel is too far from The Bund, People's Square, Nanjing Street, and even HuaHuai street real part is too far, the one on hotels back is the deserted end of that street. Not a 5 star facility, and totally over priced.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AOB26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Th Longemount hotel is located 10 minutes walking distance from Shanghai Jiao Tong University Antai College campus. The hotel caters to business people. The rooms are spacious and well designed. No noise from adjacent rooms. My room had enclosed shower and deep long bath. Amenities were very nice but just below the Fairmont Peace Hotel on the Bund which I have previously rated as the best hotel in Shanghai on every dimension.

The Longemount has excellent concierge service. If you are upgraded to club floor the service attention, decor, spaciousness and quality of food offerings are first class. No free Champagne during happy hour. But fod variety and quality and service are first rate.
The room rates are also quite competitive about 25% lower than similar hotels that are more centrally located.
There only a few irritants. English competency of staff is not the best. Well below the Fairmont Peace Hotel. The toilets must be of water saver type. Which in practice means flush frequently to avoid stoppage.

Room Tip: Request high floor rooms. Hotel is on top of an office complex. Floors 48 - 50 are non smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ayl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
64 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

I just came back from a 2-night stay at Longemont on business. It is not centrally located but rather close to the west side of the city. It is quite near Hongqiao airport but not Pudong airport. (Pudong airport is far from the city anyway.)

The hotel is not near any of the metro stations. I think the nearest metro station is Jiangsu station and I used it only once and it took me at least 15 minutes to walk to the hotel along busy roads. It is not near any major sights but there are many taxis available outside the hotel. The room is very spacious. Everything "looks" nice but the quality is not very high. I had a room on the 45th floor. The view is great. Ask for an east-facing room for a great city view.

The breakfast has a good choice of Chinese and western food. Not excellent but not bad either. It is a very busy place so better to go there early. I had a coffee and a small snack at the G/F coffee shop once. It was very expensive and not great. 45RMB + 15% (= US$9) for a cappuccino. The croissant and danish pastries did not look good at all.

Staff were not particularly friendly but it seems this is common all over the city. I would have rated it a four rather than a three should there not be an incident at check-in.

Overall I would not recommend it to tourists because of the location, but the room rate and room size are both very good for for what the hotel is.

Room Tip: Choose an east-facing room on high floor (30/F +) for great city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biniland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalton, Georgia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel and was very comfortable with a few exceptions. The AC did not adjust. The shower leaked onto the bathroom floor and flooded. I had to use all of my towels to mop up the floor. Not sure if this was a design flaw of lack of proper sealant. The breakfast buffet had a good variety of western and eastern.
The bathroom did have some mildew.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjhb07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Very well located and structured hotel. Spacious and comfortable rooms with a very nice view of the city at the higher floors. Decent service. Not everybody who picks up the phone for assistance speaks English though. Good Italian restaurant at a fair price.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank PedroIpanema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Former French Concession
Radisson Blu Plaza Xingguo Hotel Shanghai
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#22 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
Zhongshan Park
Renaissance Shanghai Zhongshan Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zhongshan Park
Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Jing An Temple
Shanghai Railway Station
InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
#28 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
#82 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Longemont Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Longemont Shanghai

Property: The Longemont Shanghai
Address: No.1116 Yan'an West Road, Changning District, Shanghai 200052, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Zhongshan Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#46 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#53 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#85 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#87 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#124 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Longemont Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 511
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Longemont Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Longemont Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
The Longemont Hotel Shanghai
Regent Shanghai
Longemont Hotel Shanghai
Regent Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing