We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time and still a charmer!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Asset Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #637 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“2nd time and still a charmer!”
Reviewed 1 December 2012

I'm happy that we decided to stay here again.

Bedroom: This time we stayed in a much smaller room. Size of the room was just enough for 2 people. Room and bathroom were kept clean everyday.

Staff: They were always very helpful. I made my reservations thru email and their manager, Reynold Shi was alwasy prompt in replying to my emails. He also assisted me in getting my bullet train tickets to and from Beijing, with a minimal fee. They were always ready to hail a cab for their guests.

Location: Very close to Dong'an Rd. Station (approx 7min walk) and Shanghai Stadium (approx 12min walk). Carrefour supermarket is about 10-15mins away.You'll find restaurants, convenience stores, a bank and a coffee shop very close to the hotel.

I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rja34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    156
    59
    15
    7
See reviews for
23
62
99
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venezia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Everything is fine with this hotel. The only weakpoint are the waterpipes: when someone used the bathroom, especially in the rooms above mine, it looked like to be by a waterfall!
Also breakfast could be better.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mahfuz65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanton, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Of all the cities we visited in China, we loved Shanghai. But big and busy is an understatement. It was always a relief to return to our oasis at the Asset Hotel. The staff is wonderful, and we really appreciated the feeling we got of being part of the neighborhood after only 4 days - it that is possible in a city of how many million. Our room was beautiful - and can you believe the price.
As for the closest subway - we always used Shanghai stadium and really enjoyed the walk. So mush happening and so many friendly faces.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

I chose to stay here after being in rural China for a month, and wanted someplace that was quiet, comfortable and what I was used to. Out of the countless of options to stay in Shanghai, ranging from youth hostels, to large corporate hotels, I felt that this place has it all. Its a quiet, 3 floor boutique hotel, and it was bright and carpeted. They even had complimentary breakfast that was a mix of Western and Chinese tastes. It was quiet, as it was a few streets away from the busy areas, and it was also a bit tucked away in residential neighbourhoods.

In fact, that is why this place doesn't get 5 stars in my review - it was very hard to find. The website had instructions, as well as a printout of chinese writing you could hand to your taxi driver, but I spoke Mandarin, and the taxi driver and I had to really work to find this place. Finally, I called the hotel and asked them to talk to the driver directly.

That being said, I don't know how it can improve on this, unless it started expanding and tearing down places beside them. They do have print-out instructions on their websites, perhaps just give yourself some extra time to find the place.

ooh - I read from an early review to ask for a non-smoking room on the 3rd floor - definitely makes for better sleep - as it seems that people on the first floor were not as satisfied..

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2012 via mobile

Good location. Well maintained rooms. Both I and my wife had a comfortable stay. Would have a liked a better breakfast spread. Tourist place cards with addresses in Chinese would have been very useful.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VijiKoshyEbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stay there for 4 nights. Everything was good except that the nearest subway to hotel is actually 'Dong An' Road instead of Shanghai Indoor Stadium as published in the hotel website. From Dong An Road, the walking distance is about 5 min while Shanghai Indoor Stadium is more than 20 min.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lusjeyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We stayed in the Asset hotel for 5 nights recently and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.the hotel is quite small. Our room was spacious and clean with good air conditioning . Bathroom clean and good with lots of goodies to use. Staff helpfull. Breakfast surprisingly good and catering for a variety of tastes. Price was very cheap when booked ahead on line. Would recommend to travellers looking for good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Chun Shen Jiang Hotel
Chun Shen Jiang Hotel
#188 of 5,105 in Shanghai
130 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Holiday Inn Express Zhabei Shanghai
Xintiandi
Magnificent International Plaza Hotel
Magnificent International Plaza ...
#2,413 of 5,105 in Shanghai
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Seventh Heaven Hotel
Seventh Heaven Hotel
#159 of 5,105 in Shanghai
340 reviews
Rayfont Shanghai Nanpu Hotel
#2,393 of 5,105 in Shanghai
177 reviews
Shanghai South Railway Station
L'otel
L'otel
#164 of 5,105 in Shanghai
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asset Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asset Hotel Shanghai

Property: Asset Hotel Shanghai
Address: No.590 Wanping South Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200030, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Xujiahui
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#400 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Asset Hotel Shanghai 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asset Hotel Shanghai fuses European elegance with Shanghai hospitality. Its location in the Xu Hui District brings guests closer to well-known places such as Xu Jia Hui and Zhao Jia Bang Road. All rooms are air conditioned, and have their own private bathroom. Helpful services include 24-hour front desk and room services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Asset Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Asset Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing