We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic value for money!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Asset Hotel Shanghai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Asset Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #355 of 4,966 Hotels in Shanghai
Porsgrunn, Norge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic value for money!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

Having stayed here over Christmas 2012, we were very pleased with the value for money we got at Asset. The cab driver took us straight to the door, and even though the hotel is in second row behind some apartment blocks, it was a big sign telling us we'd arrived at the right address.
The aforementioned buildings do not look very nice, so it is a pleasant surprise to see that the hotel itself is in a nice building behind the others.

Room 310 was perfect for two people - reverse AC-system kept the room warm, the shower was hot and the room clean. Some smell of smoke in the hallway, but we weren't bothered by any inside the room. Wifi is a hassle - only one person can be logged in at the time.

Breakfast is very chinese - a challenge to get used to for westerners. Max 10 minutes walk to the closest Metro station (Dong'an Road), makes this location quite central even though it's fairly far away from the city center's core (the metro system is fantastic and very cheap, so you'll be in the centre in no-time).

Friendly staff, but only one who speaks english. She was very helpful though, lent us umbrellas one day and booked circus tickets for us via telephone the next.


All in all - this is a budget winner, and you get great value for money. But be prepared to use the metro a lot.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jac233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    153
    57
    15
    5
See reviews for
22
61
98
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

Smell of smoking in rooms is not good, and I asked for a mon-smoking room; room 310 is bad.

Peeling paint in the rooms, and heating is poor. I had to sleep in additional clothing to keep warm.

Wifi is not-so-good; difficult to connect and only one connection. Tip- go into unoccupied room next door and use their login details.

Hotel will need some attention before the summer....

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AppleAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

I found the Asset Hotel to be extremely disappointing, especially having high expectations due to its comments and overall rating on tripadvisor. It’s location is a hassle; not only is it located far from a subway station, it’s difficult to find being hidden away among buildings, and also nowhere near any touristic attractions. The staff has a very low level of English; we asked Gary and Sherry a couple of things and were only able to understand quite a few of what they attempted to come across with. As you check-in, they’re not proactive in offering you subway or city maps, and when asking they look baffled by your request. When asking Jessie (woman with the black-framed Maxim’s eyeglasses) for a particular place, she told us where it was in Chinese but didn’t even take out a map or write the directions for us to give to the cab driver. We then had to remind her that we weren’t locals and needed some further help. The Wi-Fi in my room wasn’t working, and my brother and I spent some decent amount of time trying to gain access to it. When calling Gary a few hours later, he explained that only one device at a time could use it, and that if another one was to enter the password, they had to wait 30 minutes for the first person to stop using it. When going downstairs to use the hotel’s PC, both of them dated back from the ice age and so did their Internet quality/speed. The rooms are very small and the majority of the paint on the walls is peeled off. Even though our room was non-smoking, there is a vent inside the bathroom where the smokers’ rooms’ cigarette smell manages to sneak in. The remote controls are in Mandarin, and there are no English instructions that facilitate the ordeal. The breakfast spread is poor: sliced bread, cornflakes, jam, and tangerines; it’s more of a hostel breakfast than one of a hotel’s.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NofSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AssetHotel, Director of Operations at Asset Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Greetings from Shanghai!

We are disappointed to learn about your unpleasant experience at our hotel.

We take our guests’ comments seriously. All defects pointed out by our guests are reviewed personally by myself and my staffs. Our goal is to make sure these complaints are corrected. We simply do not want to lose any valued guests.

We have followed up in past few days and reviewed the issues you pointed out. We will make sure that all guests receive a city map and metro map upon check-in. Furthermore, we will prepare two WLAN systems to correct the problem of internet browsing speed.

The management at Asset Hotel would like to extend our sincere appreciation for your comments.

I would like to thank you again for staying with us and giving us constructive comments. If you plan to travel to Shanghai again, please be sure to visit us. We would like to hear from you about our improvements and what else we can do to outdo ourselves.

Once again, thank you very much.

Sincerely
Karen Chen
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

I'm happy that we decided to stay here again.

Bedroom: This time we stayed in a much smaller room. Size of the room was just enough for 2 people. Room and bathroom were kept clean everyday.

Staff: They were always very helpful. I made my reservations thru email and their manager, Reynold Shi was alwasy prompt in replying to my emails. He also assisted me in getting my bullet train tickets to and from Beijing, with a minimal fee. They were always ready to hail a cab for their guests.

Location: Very close to Dong'an Rd. Station (approx 7min walk) and Shanghai Stadium (approx 12min walk). Carrefour supermarket is about 10-15mins away.You'll find restaurants, convenience stores, a bank and a coffee shop very close to the hotel.

I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rja34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venezia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

Everything is fine with this hotel. The only weakpoint are the waterpipes: when someone used the bathroom, especially in the rooms above mine, it looked like to be by a waterfall!
Also breakfast could be better.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mahfuz65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanton, Vermont
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

Of all the cities we visited in China, we loved Shanghai. But big and busy is an understatement. It was always a relief to return to our oasis at the Asset Hotel. The staff is wonderful, and we really appreciated the feeling we got of being part of the neighborhood after only 4 days - it that is possible in a city of how many million. Our room was beautiful - and can you believe the price.
As for the closest subway - we always used Shanghai stadium and really enjoyed the walk. So mush happening and so many friendly faces.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

I chose to stay here after being in rural China for a month, and wanted someplace that was quiet, comfortable and what I was used to. Out of the countless of options to stay in Shanghai, ranging from youth hostels, to large corporate hotels, I felt that this place has it all. Its a quiet, 3 floor boutique hotel, and it was bright and carpeted. They even had complimentary breakfast that was a mix of Western and Chinese tastes. It was quiet, as it was a few streets away from the busy areas, and it was also a bit tucked away in residential neighbourhoods.

In fact, that is why this place doesn't get 5 stars in my review - it was very hard to find. The website had instructions, as well as a printout of chinese writing you could hand to your taxi driver, but I spoke Mandarin, and the taxi driver and I had to really work to find this place. Finally, I called the hotel and asked them to talk to the driver directly.

That being said, I don't know how it can improve on this, unless it started expanding and tearing down places beside them. They do have print-out instructions on their websites, perhaps just give yourself some extra time to find the place.

ooh - I read from an early review to ask for a non-smoking room on the 3rd floor - definitely makes for better sleep - as it seems that people on the first floor were not as satisfied..

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Shijia Hotel
Shijia Hotel
#2,435 of 4,966 in Shanghai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
FuramaXpress Hotel Xujiahui Shanghai Stadium
FuramaXpress Hotel Xujiahui Shan...
#1,986 of 4,966 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
People’s Square
Magnificent International Plaza Hotel
Magnificent International Plaza ...
#2,408 of 4,966 in Shanghai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Chun Shen Jiang Hotel
Chun Shen Jiang Hotel
#189 of 4,966 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Rayfont Shanghai Nanpu Hotel
#2,360 of 4,966 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Lianbang Hotel
#2,069 of 4,966 in Shanghai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asset Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asset Hotel Shanghai

Property: Asset Hotel Shanghai
Address: No.590 Wanping South Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200030, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Xujiahui
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#249 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Asset Hotel Shanghai 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asset Hotel Shanghai fuses European elegance with Shanghai hospitality. Its location in the Xu Hui District brings guests closer to well-known places such as Xu Jia Hui and Zhao Jia Bang Road. All rooms are air conditioned, and have their own private bathroom. Helpful services include 24-hour front desk and room services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Asset Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Asset Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing