We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay & Great Hospitality at Asset Hotel in Shanghai”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Asset Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #675 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Stay & Great Hospitality at Asset Hotel in Shanghai”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

I had a great stay over at Shanghai Asset hotel last week. The services at the front desk has greeted me with great warm hospitality! My friend has introduced me to Asset hotel when I was travelling in Shanghai last trip and I have took the opportunity to check into this hotel this time.
It was a warm a cozy hotel located in the central of Shanghai. The room is cozy, clean and the renovation was warm. They do have wifi and all the basics you need like hair dryer, toothbrushes etc.. I personally liked it a lot as it was very convenient to travel around and the price was good compared to all the great hotels in Shanghai.
I will definitely come back again the next time I travel back to Shanghai! I would like to thank the front desk manager Reynold again for his great hospitality!

Room Tip: Superior Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julien C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    156
    59
    15
    7
See reviews for
23
62
99
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

After reading reviews here, the thing that struck me the most as being untrue was how hard it was to find. It's extremely easy to find from the subway with even the most rudimentery maps or instructions.

Has a nice quiet location tucked away from the main road but with plenty of shops and amenities in the vicinity, about a 15 minute walk to the nearest subway.

The hotel is basic but clean and orderly. Breakfast is a simple affair but more than satisfactory.

The rooms are cosy and comfortable with clean bathrooms and at around 280rmb a night are a complete bargain - I have paid a lot more for a lot worse in the past.

Not somewhere you will stay for a luxurious, leisurely break but if you just need a place to crash this place is a fantastic option.

Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBeijingDeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

I usually stay at nearby Fudi Hotel, but needed an advance reservation document faxed to the US for a business visa. Fudi couldn't provide, but nearby Asset did. The hotel is relatively small, but I found it to be in good condition with all the basic amenities in good working order for a low price. Free breakfast is average. I like the Wanping Nan Rd. location because it is easy to hail a taxi, there are plenty of shops, restaurants, cafes, etc. around, and it is close to the Xujiahui shopping district, which has many, many more.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013 via mobile

First of all, how that guys doing these comments for that hotel which is totally not reflecting the real condition of this filthy place. i want to swear without stopping 5 minutes because let me sick of sick last night. We the followers of trip advisor only able to Ge information regarding the facilities only by the user comments. I beg your please to be more careful for writing your reviews.
I went this hotel last night due to my late schedule around 22:00 for checking and after changing my room two times, I checked out after 5 minutes. I don't want to talk about the facilities etc. which are really not good and the smell of the room is unpredictable. The worst thing is cleaning of the room , bathroom and the bedding. I took the pillow the front desk and showed the girl the dried mark if someone's sperm. What can I say more???? Please stay away if you want the budget hotel please try holiday inn express or even Chinese chain hanting express is better than this.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sekeseke01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Checked in a day early due to our previous hotel being terrible. This was no problem to the girl on front desk, who's name I didn't catch, and we were in our room in no time. We booked this room through Booking.com. We stayed in a business double which cost €35 a night. This room was well fitted out with cable tv, safe, DVD player and comfortable bed. Breakfast was a bit disappointing but with so many cafe around this area it wasn't a problem.

Location was very good, ten minute walk to all the restaurants and front desk were very helpful, providing maps and guidance to Shanghai.Two streets away, (Cant remember the street name), is a restaurant that is called Flaming hot, which is a great restaurant serving craft beers.This hotel is located in the French concession and is a bit of a distance from the Bund etc but taxis are very reasonable in Shanghai, just make sure they use the meter.

Overall had a great stay and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Book a Business double much better finish to the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JRCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Well.. although its hard to find this hotel, I was very pleased with the value of money...
The staff are nice and very helpful although not all staff can speak english..
My room is 315, and it was really warm... oo ya.. i stayed here from Dec 24 - Dec 26 2012...
the shower was hot...

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porsgrunn, Norge
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Having stayed here over Christmas 2012, we were very pleased with the value for money we got at Asset. The cab driver took us straight to the door, and even though the hotel is in second row behind some apartment blocks, it was a big sign telling us we'd arrived at the right address.
The aforementioned buildings do not look very nice, so it is a pleasant surprise to see that the hotel itself is in a nice building behind the others.

Room 310 was perfect for two people - reverse AC-system kept the room warm, the shower was hot and the room clean. Some smell of smoke in the hallway, but we weren't bothered by any inside the room. Wifi is a hassle - only one person can be logged in at the time.

Breakfast is very chinese - a challenge to get used to for westerners. Max 10 minutes walk to the closest Metro station (Dong'an Road), makes this location quite central even though it's fairly far away from the city center's core (the metro system is fantastic and very cheap, so you'll be in the centre in no-time).

Friendly staff, but only one who speaks english. She was very helpful though, lent us umbrellas one day and booked circus tickets for us via telephone the next.


All in all - this is a budget winner, and you get great value for money. But be prepared to use the metro a lot.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jac233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Chun Shen Jiang Hotel
Chun Shen Jiang Hotel
#184 of 5,105 in Shanghai
131 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Holiday Inn Express Zhabei Shanghai
Xintiandi
Magnificent International Plaza Hotel
Magnificent International Plaza ...
#2,413 of 5,105 in Shanghai
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Seventh Heaven Hotel
Seventh Heaven Hotel
#159 of 5,105 in Shanghai
342 reviews
Rayfont Shanghai Nanpu Hotel
#2,393 of 5,105 in Shanghai
177 reviews
Shanghai South Railway Station
L'otel
L'otel
#163 of 5,105 in Shanghai
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asset Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asset Hotel Shanghai

Property: Asset Hotel Shanghai
Address: No.590 Wanping South Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200030, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Xujiahui
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#425 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Asset Hotel Shanghai 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asset Hotel Shanghai fuses European elegance with Shanghai hospitality. Its location in the Xu Hui District brings guests closer to well-known places such as Xu Jia Hui and Zhao Jia Bang Road. All rooms are air conditioned, and have their own private bathroom. Helpful services include 24-hour front desk and room services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Asset Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Asset Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing