We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not city centre, but exactly what needed for a budget trip to Shanghai”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shanghai City Central Youth hostel
Ranked #199 of 5,159 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We reached this place early in the morning after our long flight from London, and when feeling a little tired and bedraggled it's the last thing you want to see. It's dated, its in a residential area, and so immediately you have to get used to all the staring, and it's easy to miss the street it's on so make sure you have the instructions ready to get there. When you step through the door, as the case seems to be in a lot of China, the story does change however. The staff are helpful and get you settled in quickly. They have a travel booking service which seemed to be utilised often, and we booked our ongoing tickets using this service (20-40 yuan fee). The twin room we had was air- conditioned (the unit was a little noisy, but how often do you find one that isn't), had a bit of a bad smell in the toilet (which once again you realise is in most places in China - just be glad it's western!) but is comfortable for the price. The hostel is close to the metro station (about 5 minutes walk -Caoyang Road I think) and the metro can be used cheaply and easily to reach all parts of Shanghai as most of the signs are in English anyway (or can be selected so on the ticket machines).
The bar is relatively cheap for Shanghai standards and has a much welcomed breakfast available as part of the cost in the morning. This is a few cereals, some dumplings and a bit of toast - but it's free so who's complaining.
The bar serves food, and it's all more than edible with some western stuff and a bit of chinese food. The staff work hard and are forever clearing tables and being helpful.
If you're lucky you may even get to sit through a dodgy dvd in the evening with suggestive subtitles as they can't quite translate it properly.
Don't judge this place when you're tired, and don't see it as a hotel. It gives exactly what you need for a cheap stay in Shanghai.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milgers83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 110 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2011

I was a bit concerned when my daughter said we were stopping at a 'Hostel' in Shanghai - I agreed to view the room before making any decisions! What a pleasant surprise! The room was clean and neat and had everything one could need (except for bath towels which one can have at an additional cost - we used our clean beach towels). The breakfast was perfectly adequate and position was good for the underground station. The staff were friendly and helpful - more than I could say for a well known 'Hotel' in Shanghai we also stopped at.

Room Tip: If you want a private bathroom, be sure to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crazycollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Firstly, the directions that were provided were spot on. It would have been very difficult to  find this place without them.  its location is relatively central (about 20 mins by subway - 1 change- from the bund), and you can easily get anywhere in city (Zhongshan Rd is 1 stop away).
the room wasn't quite what we were expecting - it was huge, much more hotel than hostel. Towels as well as toiletries were provided as well as free Internet in  everyroom (DSL cable not wifi, which was in the bar). 
 Our room was cleaned and made up every day (we stayed 4 nights) &  the free breakfast provided was good (the pork/vegetable buns were great).
I would thoroughly recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karnold2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

We stayed here for a total of four nights and could not have been more pleased with the service. That is what makes this place special - from luggage storage, to directions, to laundry service, to ticket buying, the service was top notch. The best was their arranging for us to be taken to the Pudong airport in their own car at the end of our stay for the same as what a taxi would be.

We stayed in a private room and it was cleaned during our stay. The room was large and bright with wi-fi access (although spotty at times). The shower had a glass door separating it from the bathroom. Because the two buildings comprising the hostel are in a gated compound they are away from traffic and we were not kept awake at night.

The common room is great and the beer prices are good. The breakfast is minimal but it served the purpose. The coffee is extra and expensive. We got one coffee there and then got a fix at Mcdonald's afterwards (two in the area).

It is not right downtown but is on the subway line (Caoyang on lines three and four) so it was easy to get around. There are lots of shops and restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryann-ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Also known as the City Central International Hostel, I stayed here a week in early Oct 2010 in a shared 4-bed male dorm. Place is generally comfortable but is let down by two things: firstly, for the whole week I was there, the shared bathrooms stunk like a street ally where drunk people have pissed and it has dried up. I know for a fact it was cleaned only once that week because there was discarded soap packaging in one shower that remained the whole week. The urinals smelled particularly awful... and the stench would also waft down the hallway. And this lasted until it was cleaned on Saturday morning. If you use the shared bathrooms, do not dare showering without flip flops or use the toilet without wiping it down with alcohol.

Secondly, the hostel allows smoking inside their bar/cafe/common room. I'm not against smoking in bars but the problem is that the smoke vents straight into the lobby (even up to the first level). Its not a friendly thing to return exhausted from a day of sightseeing then enter the lobby to be greeted by 2nd hand cigarette smoke. Its really annoying.

The location is ok because its 5-10 mins walk to Caoyong Station but allow 30 mins travel to most tourist destinations. Note that if you take Metro line 11 to Caoyong Station, there are no signs to exit 6 or 7 from the platform (ie. the exits closest to the hostel). There are no directions given about this on their website. Its otherwise in a quiet place and you wont be awaken by any nightclubs or traffic noise.

The breakfast is included in the price and is limited to different breakfast cereals, steamed pork or vege dumplings/buns, toast & jam, orange juice, hot soy milk, purple congee and assorted pickled veges. Coffee is not included. No free drinking water available. Pay 2 yuan for a bottle or use the hot water on level 1 (98C) and wait for it to cool. The breakfast did not change. The lack of variety meant I was pretty sick of the breakfast by the end of the week.

There is free wifi in the lobby. Its not terribly fast or reliable, especially when several users are online. I advise that you dont rely on it. Thankfully the hostel's PCs work much better and cost only 1 Yuan per 15 minutes.

The shared dorm itself is pretty small but its otherwise fine. There are lockers for each person (bring your own lock) and remote controlled air-con. However, if you dont like hard beds, definitely give this place a miss.

I did sneak a look into the private rooms (doubles and triples) and they're much bigger than the dorms and definitely cleaner than shared bathrooms. The private rooms are serviced after each guest leaves. If you're travelling in a group, best to take the private room option over the shared dorm & shared bathrooms.

Overall, I thought the hostel was generally ok but the dirty, pee-smelling shared bathrooms and smell of cigarette smoke is plenty for me to not recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sleepwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2010

I had a private room with ensuite bathroom and it was fantastic. Quite clean, very comfortable, spatious and generally quiet. The standard of the room was like a 3-star hotel in North America, but for a much cheaper price! Good service from the front desk, generally decent facilities (though more computers would be nice, and faster computers would also be much appreciated) and the location was convenient for public transit. I'd definitely recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eyetotelescope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

I really enjoyed staying in this hostel. Rooms were spacious and good. Toilets were neat and clean. Toileteries were provided. Felt more like a Hotel than a Hostel. Location is walkable distance to the Metro station. Free breakfast was excellent. Staffs were unfriendly. When requested to help us find a Taxi, they simply asked us to get it by ourselves by walking to the main road. Basically, facilities were Good but Service is poor.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cassey66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Vienna Hotel Shanghai Songjiang
#239 of 5,159 in Shanghai
202 reviews
Pudong International Airport
Joyful Star Hotel Pudong Airport Chenyang Hotel
People’s Square
Chun Shen Jiang Hotel
Chun Shen Jiang Hotel
#186 of 5,159 in Shanghai
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xujiahui
Asset Hotel Shanghai
Asset Hotel Shanghai
#1,521 of 5,159 in Shanghai
302 reviews
Pudong International Airport
Jingyue 99 Inn Shanghai Jiangzhen
Vienna Hotel Shanghai Chuansha R...
#2,447 of 5,159 in Shanghai
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai City Central Youth hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai City Central Youth hostel

Address: No.50, Lane 300, Wuning Road, Putuo District, Shanghai 200063, China (Formerly Utels Youth Hotel Shanghai Wuning Road)
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Changshou Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £10 - £24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Shanghai City Central Youth hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Shanghai City Central Youth hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Utels Hotel Shanghai
Utels Shanghai Wu Ning

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing