We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpfull Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shanghai City Central Youth hostel
Ranked #179 of 5,082 Hotels in Shanghai
freehold
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Helpfull Staff”
Reviewed 21 February 2013

The staff was helpfull. The free breakfast was delicious. The rooms were clean.

We arrived late at night and were greated with kind staff. the bar area has a pool table and decently priced drinks. Overall everyone was helpful and we were guided to the flea market only a few short blocks away. Def. had a great time.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandymhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    91
    36
    17
    11
See reviews for
16
35
47
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012 via mobile

If you can find this place, it's a MUST!! It's cheap, the staff speak great English and are EXTREMELY helpful. We stayed in a private room which was great value for money. They have a nice bar on the ground floor with free wifi and a pool table. Drinks are cheap and it's the melting pot of all the residence. It's also fairly close to the subway station.

We made use of the laundry facility which works well, no problems. We also had the hostel make our arrangements for going to Beijing. They arranged cheap flights, accomodation at thier sister hostel in Beijing, transport to and from the airport...the works. I'm happy to say it all worked out without a hitch. Thanks Utels for the EXCELLENT SERVICE!!

If I'm in Shanghai again, I won't look any further for accomodtion.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DakDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Had a private room, alright for the price, I guess. Some things were not all too great: mold in the bathroom (but that was in most hostels ), no big towel (why I wonder?). Cats in the foyer. The TV did not work and the instructions for the washing machine as well as the time specification they gave me for the dryer were wrong. Free breakfast which was good, coffe you have to pay separately which is OK I think. Very nice & helpful staff, the room was alright. Good location 2 metros nearby.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht Province, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

This hostel is a typical youth hostel. It can be noisy at times, but it sports a very good atmosphere. We stayed here in a room with private bathroom, so actually it was more like a hotel. Also it was very cheap considering we visited it during the National Holiday vacation period.

All facilities that one would expect were there, it looked safe, and the common room with fully fledged bar was really nice.

Two little downsides:
- There were some insects (cockroaches?) in the bathroom
- You need to insert your keycard inside the room to enable power, meaning you can't easily leave devices to charge

Overall, I highly recommend this hostel to anyone who is looking to have a great stay and meet new people, but doesn't mind a little noise

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Stayed here for a few nights as part of a tour. Although I agree with other reviews that it isn't exactly city centre and it is hard to find from the main road, it is in a perfect quite spot (for Chinese standards). It's just 5 minutes from the nearest subway station which makes getting round shanghai easy. Free breakfast in the morning is basic but just what you need, and if you want more you can always buy from the bar. Oh and the staff were fantastic!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dovit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jakarta
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We booked for Deluxe Family room with bathroom inside for 1 night only.
After 6 hours train ride from Beijing, make sure to say "Wuninglu" to the taxi driver because it is the main street that very familiar for taxi driver.

We have very good night rest after our trip from Beijing and our long walk on Nanjing road to the Bund. The breakfast is very.... very limited choice of food. You are not allow to leave the dishes on table and have to put it to dish table. Many cats in the resto. Stephen and some ladies on lobby are very helpfull with good english.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nice_Cities2me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We stayed 4 nights in Utels and had a good time. We were surprised about the big size of the room, it was clean, just the bathroom a little moldy because it has no window. the staff was very friendly , f.e. we forgot the charger for our camera, but they helped us out. the breakfast is an own experience, hungry backpackers trying to save money, (although every second one has a macbook) eating as much as they can, the food is not worth it and better to have breakfast somewhere else. Location is good, 10min to the MTR. The atmosphere in the Hotel is very nice, a look of books, pool table, bar and lots of place to chill out. definitely worth it! would come back!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agi l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Vienna Hotel Shanghai Songjiang
#218 of 5,082 in Shanghai
201 reviews
People’s Square
Chun Shen Jiang Hotel
Chun Shen Jiang Hotel
#177 of 5,082 in Shanghai
129 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Holiday Inn Express Zhabei Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shanghai Fish Inn Bund
#85 of 5,082 in Shanghai
335 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
Pudong International Airport
Jingyue 99 Inn Shanghai Jiangzhen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai City Central Youth hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai City Central Youth hostel

Property: Shanghai City Central Youth hostel
Address: No.50, Lane 300, Wuning Road, Putuo District, Shanghai 200063, China (Formerly Utels Youth Hotel Shanghai Wuning Road)
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Changshou Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Shanghai City Central Youth hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shanghai City Central Youth hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Utels Hotel Shanghai
Utels Shanghai Wu Ning

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing