We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convienient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mason Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #180 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
HANGZHOU
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very convienient location”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We have stayed at the Mason hotel several times over the last 2 years.

it is very good location for a) shopping located on Hua Hui Middle Rd it is right in the middle of some of Shanghais best shopping.
b) location Metro line 1 Shaanxi rd statiom is within 50mts and Line 10 200mts and in the french concession area.
Rooms are decent size and always clean, service is good. the breakfast is average at best.
Starbucks are right next door.

Cost is reasonable overall we keep going back as good value for location.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    62
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
2
2
16
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zhenghzhou China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Overall an average hotel. With the odd high light. The location is good. Really helpful staff when the Internet goes wobbly.
What ever the time of year the air condition is lousy. In summer you roast in winter you freeze. And in Spring the air con has a mind of its own.
Rooms average. clean and a reasonable size.
Don't order room service if you value your tummy. Breakfast OK. Don't go to the hotel restaurant for dinner. It's an experience but not a pleasant one.
Some great restaurants near by. Just to the right there is a really good Chinese restaurant. Element Fresh very good. Out of the hotel go left, 2 blocks on the other side of the road.

Room Tip: Ask for room with bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneFRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

I was recommended by my business counterpart in Shanghai to stay here. Unlike the five star hotel but the comfort ness is not bad at all. Location is good as it is very close to the Line 1 subway Shangxi South Road station, next to a department store, very close to Xin Tian Di area. Receptionist speaks English, and sometimes even Japanese. When I try to ask for taxi to airport they were helpful to fetch me one. I would say price per value is great!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TokyoTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Stayed here while filming a documentary. Rooms were very clean and the staff were very helpful. At breakfast I was not accustomed to sitting a tables with other people I didn't know, but that was how it worked during my stay. It seems we Americans are not used to that, but it was fun because I was able to make some new friends and learn about the culture. The hotel is located near great shops and restaurants. After my luggage was lost at the airport, a hotel staff member went with me to a nearby "mall" to buy new clothes. By the way, XL underwear in America is NOT the same in China!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of residential area behind the hotel. Very interesting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darrellco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
92 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This place has the best, most convenient location. Cafes, restaurants, shopping all closeby. I stayed in a single room, and although the temperature control didn't seem to work too well for both the room and the temperature of the shower, I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

With Starbucks attached to the Hotel and Costa Coffee around the corner as well as City Shop, it couldn't be better. And then there is McDonalds and Haegen Dasz opposite. And it is all in the middle of the French Concession. Amazing!! A great rooftop area although the view is not startling but still good and so is the breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabriano, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

I stayed in this hotel for two nights, for a week-end during a business trip in China. Located at few minutes by taxi from the Bund. Room Spacious, very quiet, clean in the norm, satellite TV. Good breakfast with both international and Chinese food. Reception staff helpful and kind. Metro subway station is close. Recommended as a base for spending a weekend in Shanghai.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fab_fab23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Former French Concession
Howard Johnson Huaihai Hotel Shanghai
Former French Concession
Fenyang Garden Boutique Hotel
Fenyang Garden Boutique Hotel
#142 of 5,059 in Shanghai
97 reviews
Former French Concession
Donghu Hotel (Donghu Road)
Donghu Hotel (Donghu Road)
#233 of 5,059 in Shanghai
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Former French Concession
Jinchen Hotel
Jinchen Hotel
#377 of 5,059 in Shanghai
43 reviews
Former French Concession
Jin Jiang Hotel
Jin Jiang Hotel
#93 of 5,059 in Shanghai
697 reviews
Former French Concession
Mansion Hotel
Mansion Hotel
#370 of 5,059 in Shanghai
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mason Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mason Hotel Shanghai

Property: Mason Hotel Shanghai
Address: No.935 Huaihai Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200020, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Former French Concession , Huaihai Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#106 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mason Hotel Shanghai 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mason Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Mason Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing