We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STANDARD GOOD”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Yan'an Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Yan'an Hotel
Ranked #533 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Ravenna, Italy
Level Contributor
155 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“STANDARD GOOD”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Overall GOOD experience .
Only few employees can speak English but they are quite helpful .
I booked a non smoking room but they gave me one in the smoking floor .
Room cleaning is OK . Outside a total mess !
Position Very Good .
Restaurant just outside also very decent .
Nice service when renting the meeting room .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexra66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    98
    40
    8
    3
See reviews for
5
6
6
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

I have had a 2-night stay on 17 and 18 June 2013 at CNY590 per night with breakfast - the booking was done by my business contact in Shanghai.

Good points:
1. It is safe.
2. The room is quite big and comfortable (for a couple although am alone) and reasonably well cleaned.
3. The bed and pillow are comfortable.
4. The bathroom is big enough.

Bad points:
1. The breakfast is below par and lack of varieties, and all guests take their meal at the banquet room with big round table and share-seating (with people whom you do not know)..
2. It has a small lobby that looks quite plain.
3. The bathroom of the room (#321) that I have stayed has no door and it only has a glass partition between the WC and the long bath area - not suitable for non-couple travellers.
2. Not value for money at all at CNY590 per night.

May consider to stay in this hotel if the rate is better next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LML1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

To start with, the location is pretty darn good. Everything else is poor to average. The room feels crowed and is old. The bathroom roof is very low, if you are taller then 6 foot, DO NOT stay here. The hotel is barely above motel 168 standard. I do not see how it can claim to be a four star hotel, It would barely make 3 star, in fact it probably wouldn't. I am very glad I'm only staying here one night. If I had planned to stay for me, I would have gotten my deposit back and found another hotel. It feels like a low budget hotel, and yet wasn't priced accordingly. Unless you are desperate to stay in the Jin'an area stay away from this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shanghai hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

Hotel is has poor amenities. Our group met at the lobby bar for drinks 1st night before dinner and they did not even have enough cold beers (we were the only group in the bar!) There is no proper restaurant - breakfast is in a function hall with buffet table along the side. All dining tables are for 8 persons and they are bare except for placemats. Food is edible at best. Cook at egg station totally unfriendly; he only does fried eggs sunny side up; no omelette, nothing else. Any request is met by cold stare and gesture at fried eggs with the "Take it or leave it" message. Rooms do not have wi-fi (only available at lobby) and wired connection is horrendously slow in the evenings. My non-smoking room has cigarette burn marks on the carpet. And lift lobby on my non-smoking floor is heavy with stale cigarette stench! TV has only 2 English Channels: local China English news Channel and Channel News Asia (from Singapore). Hotel is supposedly 4-star but I would hesitate to give it 3 stars. Only saving grace is it's convenient location close 2 subway lines and in the French concession.

Room Tip: Find another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janzzzlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
River Forest, Illoinois
Level Contributor
349 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

Yan'an Hotel is not one of the finest hotels in Shanghai - but it is a good alternative for those on a budget. The public areas are lovely, and the hotel is clean - but the rooms are small, air conditioning can't keep up on hot days, and quality of service is variable. English is hit or miss. Breakfast buffet is excellent, and reasonable (was not included in our room). We stayed here for three nights and found it more than adequate for the price. I note that a previous reviewer said that he would not have been able to get internet access in the room - that may have been true when he wrote that, but as I write this (5/2013) I am happily connected via ethernet cable provided by the hotel. At probably half the price of a big international chain hotel, and with a good location, this is a reasonable alternative.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

Yan'an hotel is on a very main street, so it was always convenient to get taxis even on those chilly winter days and nights. The reception desk is decently helpful, and some even speak a little English. They organised booking us taxis and calling the airports to find out which one we were meant to be going to, to fly out. The lobby is warm and clean.

The in-Hotel barber was decent, and at 80 kuai (cut and wash) it's quite reasonably priced. A shavette (disposable cutthroat) shave is a further 40 kuai, though it's not as close or good as it could be.

I had to change my room because, even though I requested non-smoking, my neighbours smoked like chimneys, and left their front door open so it could waft through the hallway. They also left their TV on very loud, and the walls are quite thin. Once changing rooms it was much better.

The rooms are very odd, having steps to get up, and a very low ceiling, with ample signage saying "Be careful of steps down and ceiling up" as you can hit your head easily. The same is true of entering the bathroom, step down and a very low door-frame. Other than that, the room was clean, bathroom was clean, and everything was wel-stocked, even down to a sewing kit, which was lucky, as I needed to use it.

I think it might be a Shanghai thing, but the large/long rectangular showers with the raised platform in the middle, so the water runs off to the sides? Fantastic. I wish I had one at home.

All in all, a decent stay. The room could have been designed better, but with what they've got, I would be willing to stay again.

Room Tip: Like all places in China, definitely ask for non-smoking if you're not a smoker. Don't be af...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank setek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulaanbaatar, Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

I stayed in the hotel for 7 nights. It was comfortable and room service was good enough. Restaurant has a room service too, if you want to have your food at your room. But it closes at 10 o'clock. The hotel is closer to Shanghai Exhibition center /old one/ and locates in central part of Shanghai.

Room Tip: From my room, outside view was not good. I can see only people's living place. But in front, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shinetsetseg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
#50 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Jing'an
Merry Hotel Shanghai
Merry Hotel Shanghai
#228 of 4,998 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Jing'an
Jinjiang Shanghai Jing'an Hotel
Jinjiang Shanghai Jing'an Hotel
#526 of 4,998 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Former French Concession
Shanghai Julu Garden Villa
Shanghai Julu Garden Villa
#1,778 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Jing'an
Paramount Gallery Hotel
Paramount Gallery Hotel
#156 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Former French Concession
Howard Johnson Huaihai Hotel Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yan'an Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yan'an Hotel

Property: Yan'an Hotel
Address: No.1111 Yanan Zhong Road, Shanghai 200040, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Former French Concession
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #533 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Yan'an Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Yan'an Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing