We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Paramount Gallery Hotel
Ranked #175 of 5,161 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Arrival unimpressive in middle of busy crowd visiting other floors but staff escorted me to reception on 12th floor and within minutes I was in room. I believed I had been upgraded but my colleague also told me he had a nice size room and bathroom. Service was Ok except they said credit card machine was down. I could have iron board in room in minutes and free wifi was very ok with usual restrictions in China. Location great in Puxi side (not Pudong). Expect 170cny taxi from Pudong Airport (1 hour if no traffic). Only minor thing was a construction next door but it was at finishing stage.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NICOLAS N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amigo W, Public Relations Manager at Paramount Gallery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you so much for your comments, Looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 66 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

This was a fine hotel in the city center of Shanghai. It is close to many tourist spots. We were here for a short stay doing the tourist thing.

The Good: Room was fine. Layout was slightly awkward but okay. Staff were totally great. We asked for some special accommodations with lunch since we were in and out of Shanghai and they were totally great about it. Breakfast was fine – had both Chinese and Western rooms (you could select food from either side or both). Extremely convenient location. Bed was good. Room was fairly large.

The Not-so-Good: Lights were a mess – a bunch of buttons but none made sense even though they were labeled. Pricey.

I may not stay here again primarily because it is expensive.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Experience78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amigo W, Public Relations Manager at Paramount Gallery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you so much for your comments, We are so gald to hear that you enjoy your stay with us. Looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located in the upper floors of an office building type structure right next to the Jing'an Temple in the main Western, high end commercial district. The rooms are spacious with a rotating tv console that splits the room and allows you to watch from the sitting area or spin it around for watching in bed.
The bathrooms are equally large and have both an oversized tub as well as a fixed overhead rain shower with a moveable hose head type. Subway style tiled floors work well with Asian inspired decor.
The restaurant is very good and offers a limited but tasty breakfast buffet. Food after 5 is by room service only. There is no bar in the hotel but the lobby seating area is cozy and offers nice views of the city from the 12th floor.
For food options go next door to "Eat", 15 restaurant food court with Korean, Mexifornia style burritos, an American burger place and a great selection of Chinese and Southeast Asian a la carte food truck style restaurants.
The hotel is right next to the Jing'an Temple subway stop and a quick ride to the Bund and other main Shanghai attractions.

Stayed: July 2014
4  Thank AbuKyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I had been put into this hotel by colleagues in Shanghai as they decided that their initial hotel suggestion was showing its age. I told them that all I needed was a hot, powerful shower and a comfy bed and that the rest was less important - the Paramount certainly fulfilled the two requirements and a lot more.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful from the moment I arrived, the rooms very large and clean and excellent location, with my room overlooking the Jing'an Temple. I had no problem with the entrance as some reviewers have, it was well marked and the cab drivers had no problem getting there.

The breakfast was average but it served its purpose with both Asian and Western options and good fruit. I had no problem with the Wifi, other than the usual problems of connecting to certain sites when in China which one knows to expect, and, all in all, it was a very good place to stay for a few days while on work.I would certainly go back, it bats above its reasonable charges and is a lot cleaner and with more amenable staff than in some of the more expensive places in town.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I was in business trip just one night there. My impression:
Positives:
+placement in 100m from Jin'an temple
+huge room and windows
+clean room
+English speaking and friendly stuff
+average breakfast
+reasonable price

Negatives:
-uncomfortable sockets placement (no charge mobile or computer using near the bed)
-poor gym (not enough equipment and place)
-poor WIFI connection and speed

But anyway, I'm happy finally.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregory_msk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Location is excellent. The entrance may sound unappealing but the rest of the hotel is very good. Rooms are beautifully decorated, Art Deco style. Quiet and peacefull.
Breakfast is decent. The view from breakfast room overlooking Jing An temple is nice.
Price Ok in regards to the quality of the room. Bathroom very...tiny!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Cabbagetowntoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

After a trip through small rooms in Hongkong , decently sized ones in Shenzhen , this was a welcome break for us

Excellent location for shoppers,
very good room layouts , very well decorated
Near to 2-3 Indian Restaurants
Staff was very courteous , helped us book everything we required ( high speed train tickets , shanghai city tour , river cruise etc etc )

Overall a highly recommended property for everyone visiting Shanghai. Given a chance we will always come back to this hotel

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pbatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
#54 of 5,161 in Shanghai
629 reviews
Jing'an
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
#107 of 5,161 in Shanghai
1,186 reviews
Jing'an
Hilton Shanghai
Hilton Shanghai
#59 of 5,161 in Shanghai
2,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
URBN Boutique Shanghai
URBN Boutique Shanghai
#34 of 5,161 in Shanghai
614 reviews
The Eton Hotel Shanghai
#101 of 5,161 in Shanghai
767 reviews
Jing'an
Cachet Boutique Shanghai
Cachet Boutique Shanghai
#53 of 5,161 in Shanghai
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paramount Gallery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Gallery Hotel

Address: No.1728 Nanjing West Road, Jingan District, Shanghai 200040, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#101 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#147 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#153 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £76 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Paramount Gallery Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paramount Gallery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bailemen Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing