We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and nicer location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hundred Centuries Hotel
Ranked #1,474 of 5,222 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 12 May 2014

SHCH is a good hotel. Decorated with modern decor and nice staff. Good breakfast. Modern room with very comfy bed and big bathroom decorated with marble. Even better, it's about 50 meters from the South Xizang Rd Metro stop. I was able to get to both Pudong and Shanghai airports from here in about 45-60 mins. Getting to the Bund was about 20 mins. I'd stay here again. My only small gripe is WiFi is only in the main lobby. Other than that very good hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seosamh126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 14 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

Just stayed there last night. I arrived in Shanghai at 10 PM, the metro was closed, all the buses into town were closed, so I just went to get a taxi. If you arrive to Shanghai in the morning or afternoon you can easily take the metro to this hotel!
Well, here is how I got there...

In line (there was this HUGE line full of people waiting for the taxis in the rain) I met this guy that looked French. I spoke to him in French and he said he was German. We got to talking and he told me it would be about 200 Ruan to get to the hotel. That is about 32 dollars!


Well, what I should have done was print the address in CHINESE because the taxi drivers could not read English at all. So here is what we did. He lived near a cool bar called BAR ROUGE, and so we drove there since he knew where to direct the cab driver. Once there I paid him 100 Yuan and got out to check out this cool bar! Then, once inside, I got some really cool bar worker to write out the directions in Chinese. Then later when I left (the bar is open all night) I got in the cab and it was only 28 Yuan to go to This hotel.

It is just right around the corner from the Metro (Line 4 South Xizang metro).

So once inside I had to give 300 Yuan deposit, and the desk girl spoke some English. I went up to room 425, no windows but super quiet, and big, with one huge bed in the room. Slept good, got a wake up call at 9 AM , went and had breakfast (not the Hilton by far, but eggs cooked for you, some Chinese dishes, milk, bread, and some good stir fry vegetables) From there went out and took the metro to the Shangai Museum (which was only about 4 stops away).

I had a great stay. Room was clean, comfortable, warm (it was raining out).

Room Tip: If you want a room with a window ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeffrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

The hotel is not at the city centre, however it is very nice access to go anywhere.

There are two underground lines crossing.
The station is near the hotel.
It is only one minute by walk.

The room is very wide, clean, and the beds are also very wide. There are a lot of amenities, so you can get a very comfortable stay.
The breakfast included. It is not bad.
If you are looking for a budget hotel, I suppose it is the best.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 梓
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Location is fairly good - right next to the South Xizang metro station on lines 8 and 4, with easy access into city centre. Area itself is fine, there are some small shops (e.g. a convenience shop across the road), but not a part of the city you'd go out of your way to visit.

Room was good - clean, modern, fairly large, nicely decorated, decent internet connection (through plug-in only, no wireless), good bathroom.

The main disappointment for us was that our room didn't have a window. We booked through Elong and had been led to believe that we were getting a with-window room at a discount price (there was a separate option for no-window rooms), but ended up being put in a no-window room nonetheless. We suspected this might happen, and in the end it was fine, but a disappointment nonetheless.

I'll probably stay there again on future visits to Shanghai - a good mid-range option.

Room Tip: Be careful when booking to make sure that room has a window, if that's something you care about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

The hotel is located right next to the subway station (less than 100m) and the staff was very friendly.
We booked the cheapest room possible which had no windows, but it did not affect the quality of the air, since there was some sort of circulating system that prevented the room from smelling awkward. The only negative aspect about not having windows was the lack of daylight which made us a bit tired in the morning.
Apart from that, the room was very big and very clean.
The breakfast was alright, just the usual buffet you get in a chinese hotel.
In comparison to the price we paid, the hotel was great.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucc27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Location is not in the Bund, as advertised by TripAdvisor. It's just SW of Old Town, but there is a subway stop literally right outside the front door, so you can get wherever you want in town with relative ease. Very modern facility, nice rooms. Ate at the restaurant for dinner and breakfast. Dinner was very good; breakfast was average Chinese buffet. Room had no wifi, but the Ethernet ports worked fine, and I believe they provide a cable. Bathroom was very nice. Beds huge; one of the biggest rooms I had in all of China. Very reasonable price. I was a little surprised to find the carpet incongruously stained for how clean the place was (none of that Chinese cigarette stench), but not a huge deal. Room had a safe.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TherouxWannabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We stayed here while accompanying my husband on a business trip. The room was spacious with modern decor and a large luxury bathroom. Beds are hard but great for your back. We were only a few minutes walk from the metro and 15 minute taxi rides from other attractions. While the staff were friendly we had a few problems communicating our requirements for double beds during checkin. (2 couples, one 6 year old and a single turning up separately didn't assist this process). Also what appears to be the usual issue-ridden and elongated checkout process was provided. Breakfast was included and of a good standard with enough western options to suit the six year old and great dumplings and steamed buns for the grownups. I would stay again though. The hotel is good value for money.

Room Tip: Invest the time at the front desk negotiating for what you want. Generally they want to give couples...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SMF_1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#5 of 5,222 in Shanghai
2,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#39 of 5,222 in Shanghai
2,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hundred Centuries Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hundred Centuries Hotel

Address: No.1528 Xizang South Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200011, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,474 of 5,222 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: £43 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hundred Centuries Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hundred Centuries Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing