We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A favorite hotel in Shanghai”
Review of Hyatt on the Bund

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt on the Bund
Ranked #53 of 5,159 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed in the Hyatt on the Bund three times while in Shanghai for business trip. They do everything properly, the friendly staff, spacious, well equipped and quiet room, etc. you can borrow an umbrella if it is rains....

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lrgusd5spd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

839 - 845 of 2,117 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

I had flown to Shanghai on Business and stayed at the Hyatt on the Bund. To get the full effect you must book a room above the 24 floor overlooking the river, absolutely breathtaking at night! The rooms are large, clean, comfortable and nice bath area with separate shower stall and toilet. The hotel has an outstanding morning and lunch buffet which caters to all tastes. Another item to know is that it is walking distance to the Bund walkway. A very enjoyable area to walk anytime of the day right along the river. I visited in mid March and the weather was a bit rainy but when the sun came out it was lovely. Must include that the city is very crowded; just be prepared.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarena101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I've stayed at this hotel a few times and I must say that the service level keeps improving. Rooms with great views of the Bund. Clean and spacious. Club lounge on the 3rd floor was comfortable and service adequate.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YinChin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Stayed at the Hyatt on the Bund for one weekend. Was on the 11th floor with a view of the Bund and the financial district. Talk about a million dollar view. Rooms are excellent and very nicely furnished, equipped and in style. Comfortable beds and quiet sleep. Love the open air bar on the 32nd floor, that was very nice at night with a panoramic view of the city. Definitely a great hotel in the heart of Shanghai. Breakfast buffet was very nice too.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Hyatt is the best hotel i have ever stayed during my biz travel all over China. The river view for Hyatt is fantastic. The food here is also good. I definitely will choose Hyatt in my next trip in Shanghai.

Room Tip: i love the room from 01-04.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peggy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

The hotel has good hardware facilities and excellent service. The hotel staff are helpful, polite And warm especially the concierge. The food in the Chinese restaurant is one of the best on shanghai. The bar in the top floor is an excellent place for drinks and chatting among friends. One additional thing to mention is the happy hour arrangement in executive floor provide a Beth good place for a relaxation after work.
位置很好的酒店,就在黃浦江邊,一定要選江景房選高層,夜晚的景色美不勝收,酒店服務非常到位,美味工作人員都很有素質,見面會微笑問好,房間非常大,設施全,床特別的舒服,他家酒廊環境很好,餐食也不錯,沒事坐一坐還是很愜意的

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoticelim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This was my first visit back to the Hyatt on The Bund in quite some time, often thinking to try different/new hotels. I've always felt that the hotel felt a little bit impersonal, particularly the lobby, this contrasts with many other hotels in the area that really attempt to play up the "old Shanghai" vibe of the Bund. Service at check in was just as efficient and proffesional as I had remembered it. The rooms are well maintained, and if you have a view of the Bund I think they really can't be beat. All of this makes me realize why I keep coming back.
I ate at Xin Da Lu, the chinese restaurant, on my own during this stay and again service was very attentive with the waiter bringing me a selection of newspapers immediately when seeing that I was on my own. The food was very good and was a nice alternative to room service. The bar at the top of the hotel is also something not to be missed. The views are incredible!
For me the highlight is really the location of the hotel, a short walk to the bund and even in the incredible summer heat it's worth going out for a walk along the bund, great people watching and an amazing atmosphere of the old and new.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kthongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#31 of 5,159 in Shanghai
2,434 reviews
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#36 of 5,159 in Shanghai
2,749 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Lujiazui
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt on the Bund

Address: No.199 Huangpu Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200080, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Hongkou , The North Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#36 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#36 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#53 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#69 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#152 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £117 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt on the Bund 5*
Number of rooms: 631
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt on the Bund Hotel Shanghai is a 5 star luxury hotel, uniquely located on the banks of the Huang Pu River at the northern end of the Bund in Shanghai, China. Hotel suites and rooms at this luxury Shanghai hotel offers spectacular views of the Bund and Pudong, with convenient access to Shanghai's airports and major areas of the city.A member of the Grand Hyatt portfolio, Hyatt on the Bund Hotel Shanghai offers guests a unique experience with stylish Shanghai restaurants, sophisticated comfort, and functional conference rooms equipped with advanced technological equipment. Hyatt on the Bund Hotel Shanghai is also host to the Yuan Spa, Shanghai which offers a variety of massage and facial treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt On The Bund Hotel Shanghai
Hyatt Hotel Shanghai
Hyatt Shanghai
Hyatt Bund
Shanghai Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing