We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the place to stay”
Review of Hyatt on the Bund

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt on the Bund
Ranked #52 of 5,031 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
1 review
“the place to stay”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

It's the 6th time i come in this hotel and each time it's a pleasure. Great service, great view and great location. I tried 4 hotels in Shanghai but this one is probably one of the best. You have access to a lot of comfortable rooms in the hotel, like Tea room, Aroma, View bar. The heart of Shanghai is at only 10 mn by taxi. The Bund is 5mn walk. Former French concession is at 15 mn by taxi.Then go for it.

Room Tip: View river
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADRIEN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,915 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,073
    567
    187
    52
    36
See reviews for
208
305
130
832
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
89 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed last week end at the Hyatt on the Bund and this is a place I know extremely well as I usually book a room there during most of my stays in Shanghai. The view on the Bund is stunning and rooms are quite comfortable. Service is great like in all the Hyatt hotels in Asia. However there is a room for improvement as the hotel needs a bit of refurbishment to recover the brightness it had when the hotel opened!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LM009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I stayed in this hotel for a week, and here are the few things I noted:
1. The hotel is not right on the bund, but a short walk from it. It is on a small road and if you are staying there for business, traffic can get hectic. It could take 30 min just to get out of that little stretch of road in rush hours, so leave early to avoid the traffic. It is a short taxi ride away from the famed Nanjing Road, but it could be difficult to get a taxi in peak hours.
2. I am a Platinum member in their Goldpassport, but they said I can't get upgrade because the type of fare my room was booked in, and I can't get a room higher than 10th floor. They did promise to give me a room with a great view. From my room, I could see the entire Bund. It is especially nice at night when the lights are on, and you can see them go off as well when the time comes.
3. As for the room, the leaving area is a bit small, but the bathroom is very spacious. It is a nice room overall.
4. Breakfast had a nice selection, but one morning, a creepy guy came and sat next to me trying to get "donation". Hotel security came up eventually and got him out of there thankfully.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michellell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I checked in the hotel is New Year's day.The hotel gave me a bottle of red wine and a plate of fruit basin,it make me surprise.
I don't know how to open the red wine, call the room service.Staff fluent in English and Chinese are all let me very satisfied.Someone to help me to open the red wine soon.
Everything make me relax and comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigfel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

every time I come to China I try to spend few nights in this excellent hotel in shanghai with a fantastic view on the bund. personnel is very efficient and kind. rooms are spacious and well clened. spa area is very relaxing. its vue bar on the east tower is very popular with a superbe vue. its restaurants (breakfast and dinners) offer excellent quality food and it is very centrally located to reach any part of shanghai within minutes. it is certainly the best hotel in china and one of the best in the world.

Room Tip: best rooms with the best view are the ones ending with 27-30
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luigi c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taxenbach, Austria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We loved our stay at the Hyatt - they have an excellent view facing the bund and we just love our time at night to see all of the lovely lights. The food and service is great too and you can not miss their roasted beijing duck~~ Will stay there again as the service is great as well!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Friends and I stayed for 7 nights over Christmas. Fantastic views of the Bund and Pudong.

Service was excellent. Easy check in and out. Hotel Manager Neil looked after our group's stay and made sure we were well looked after.

Chinese restaurant on the ground floor called Xindalu is a must try, their Peking Duck is the best in Shanghai (and possibly China (having tried duck in Beijing twice this year)), we ate their twice during our stay.

Breakfast buffet at Aroma was good with a wide spread of cuisines.

We were quite demanding on staff and all our requirements were met with a smile. (For example new room cards at 3am since we'd lost ours). No complaints from our stay.

Facilities were excellent with access to pool, gym, sauna, steam room and spa.

Vue Bar is also a must visit with spectacular views of Shanghai.

Room Tip: Try a room on either tower floor 10 and upwards facing Pudong. Views are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hubo186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#25 of 5,031 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,282 reviews
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#7 of 5,031 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,866 reviews
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt on the Bund

Property: Hyatt on the Bund
Address: No.199 Huangpu Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200080, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Hongkou , The North Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#36 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#36 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#52 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#69 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#155 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt on the Bund 5*
Number of rooms: 631
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt on the Bund Hotel Shanghai is a 5 star luxury hotel, uniquely located on the banks of the Huang Pu River at the northern end of the Bund in Shanghai, China. Hotel suites and rooms at this luxury Shanghai hotel offers spectacular views of the Bund and Pudong, with convenient access to Shanghai's airports and major areas of the city.A member of the Grand Hyatt portfolio, Hyatt on the Bund Hotel Shanghai offers guests a unique experience with stylish Shanghai restaurants, sophisticated comfort, and functional conference rooms equipped with advanced technological equipment. Hyatt on the Bund Hotel Shanghai is also host to the Yuan Spa, Shanghai which offers a variety of massage and facial treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt On The Bund Hotel Shanghai
Hyatt Hotel Shanghai
Hyatt Shanghai
Hyatt Bund
Shanghai Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing