We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable stay”
Review of Hyatt on the Bund

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt on the Bund
Ranked #52 of 5,159 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed at Hyatt on the Bund for a short weekend in Shanghai. The rooms are bright and nicely designed, the service and facilities are both up to standard. It is within walking distance to the Bund, and some of the room has a nice river view of Pudong Lujiazui financial district and the Oriental Pearl Tower.

We enjoyed the morning walks to the bund where there are group exercise of Chinese sword or fan dance, or Tai Chi, makes a nice image on the backdrop of the sun rise over the river and the TV tower.

We especially enjoyed the breakfast which is held in the basement level of the hotel, the cafe is next to an arcade under a sky dome where a lot of light comes in, and there is morning practice of Chinese Tai Chi in the morning, making the stay much more memorable.

Room Tip: Pick a room with the river view on a higher floor if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

751 - 757 of 2,122 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2014

I think it's the best river view in Shanghai. The Hotel is in a very good location in Shanghai. Excellent serviceS from everyone in that Hotel. If we go back to Visit shanghai, we Will definitely stay at this Hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liu J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Just returned from another 5 nights in Shanghai at the Hyatt on the Bund. Excellent service and great accommodation. The entire management team and customer service staff is genuinely friendly and goes out of their way to ensure you are taken care of properly. The restaurants serve some great food, and the breakfast buffet is excellent. With great sites just a short cab ride away, I have found this location ideal. I again highly recommend this hotel! Enjoy.

Room Tip: Riverview rooms are excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Stayed there for 1 night on business and was given a river-view room. The view is simply magnificent and in my view better than the river-view room at The Waldorf. The hotel is fairly new and the room are very modern. I had a standard room and the size is quite good.

The location of the hotel is not the most convenient though. Its names suggests that it is on the bund but in fact it is at the very end of it so it is a long walk to get back to the main area of the bund.

I tried the breakfast and selection and taste were average.

Overall, it would be a 4.5 point in my view.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

It's the 6th time i come in this hotel and each time it's a pleasure. Great service, great view and great location. I tried 4 hotels in Shanghai but this one is probably one of the best. You have access to a lot of comfortable rooms in the hotel, like Tea room, Aroma, View bar. The heart of Shanghai is at only 10 mn by taxi. The Bund is 5mn walk. Former French concession is at 15 mn by taxi.Then go for it.

Room Tip: View river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ADRIEN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed last week end at the Hyatt on the Bund and this is a place I know extremely well as I usually book a room there during most of my stays in Shanghai. The view on the Bund is stunning and rooms are quite comfortable. Service is great like in all the Hyatt hotels in Asia. However there is a room for improvement as the hotel needs a bit of refurbishment to recover the brightness it had when the hotel opened!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank LM009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I stayed in this hotel for a week, and here are the few things I noted:
1. The hotel is not right on the bund, but a short walk from it. It is on a small road and if you are staying there for business, traffic can get hectic. It could take 30 min just to get out of that little stretch of road in rush hours, so leave early to avoid the traffic. It is a short taxi ride away from the famed Nanjing Road, but it could be difficult to get a taxi in peak hours.
2. I am a Platinum member in their Goldpassport, but they said I can't get upgrade because the type of fare my room was booked in, and I can't get a room higher than 10th floor. They did promise to give me a room with a great view. From my room, I could see the entire Bund. It is especially nice at night when the lights are on, and you can see them go off as well when the time comes.
3. As for the room, the leaving area is a bit small, but the bathroom is very spacious. It is a nice room overall.
4. Breakfast had a nice selection, but one morning, a creepy guy came and sat next to me trying to get "donation". Hotel security came up eventually and got him out of there thankfully.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michellell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#30 of 5,159 in Shanghai
2,436 reviews
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#36 of 5,159 in Shanghai
2,755 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt on the Bund

Address: No.199 Huangpu Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200080, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Hongkou , The North Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#36 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#36 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#52 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#69 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#154 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £116 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt on the Bund 5*
Number of rooms: 631
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt on the Bund Hotel Shanghai is a 5 star luxury hotel, uniquely located on the banks of the Huang Pu River at the northern end of the Bund in Shanghai, China. Hotel suites and rooms at this luxury Shanghai hotel offers spectacular views of the Bund and Pudong, with convenient access to Shanghai's airports and major areas of the city.A member of the Grand Hyatt portfolio, Hyatt on the Bund Hotel Shanghai offers guests a unique experience with stylish Shanghai restaurants, sophisticated comfort, and functional conference rooms equipped with advanced technological equipment. Hyatt on the Bund Hotel Shanghai is also host to the Yuan Spa, Shanghai which offers a variety of massage and facial treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt On The Bund Hotel Shanghai
Hyatt Hotel Shanghai
Hyatt Shanghai
Hyatt Bund
Shanghai Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing