We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best in Shanghai”
Review of Hyatt on the Bund

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt on the Bund
Ranked #55 of 5,082 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best in Shanghai”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

In December 2013 I spent 4 days in the Hyatt on the Bund. Everything about the hotel was designed to make things easy and pleasant for the guests. The best of all was that the staff were all friendly and courteous and helpful.

The hotel is in a convenient location, a short walk from the Bund and near the main business area. Transportation is easy.

My room was beautiful and comfortable. My window looked out over the Bund and down the Whampoa River.

The breakfast buffet was a big selection of good food from several cuisines. The other meals were equally satisfactory.

I will stay at the Hyatt on the Bund every time I go to Shanghai. To repeat myself, the staff were friendly and courteous and made my stay a pleasure.

Mark Gaston

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,988 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,122
    577
    194
    55
    40
See reviews for
219
315
132
875
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Even if the hotel has been nicely renovated and the rooms are nice and having a fancy design, the hotel is in an "old" building. The views for mmy club room was really great. Service and club areas are perfectly made. Lobby and restauants are too big and unpersonal for my taste with so many people all over. Hotel in walking distance to the BUND

Room Tip: Taking a club rooms is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Okavangopierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Location is walking distance to the Bund. If you like walking a bit more, you could walk beyond the Bund. Great views from your room (cannot open large windows) and excellent views from Vue bar.
Outstanding service - staff are always friendly, helpful and generous with advice. This hotel ranks tops for its customer service....

Room Tip: 2227 - room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ayeshasitara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Superb experience from the friendly staff, excellent facilities and beautiful building. The location is excellent as are the views from the windows. I recommend a river view room.

Staycation or vacation - enjoy the experience!

Room Tip: Riverview room has great views of the Bund
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shelley s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzhou, China
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We had a club room on the 21st floor (room 2132) with a great view of the Bund and the river, although we could only barely see the Pudong skyline.

The cocktail hour in the Bund Club was great, as was the breakfast offering in the same space.

The highlight of the stay for me was the Peking duck in the hotel restaurant on the first floor. We opted to stay in one night because of the haze, and we were delighted by the meal! The duck skin was crispy and just melted on the tongue, while the meat was tender and juicy. The only downside to the roast duck meal was the pancake/crepe things. These were a bit too thick and somewhat rubbery according to my wife, a self-described expert and connoisseur of Peking roast duck.

Be sure to make a reservation for the roast duck, however. We got lucky in that someone had cancelled, but would have had to wait an hour in order to be served since we didn't call ahead.

Room Tip: Rooms on a floor above the tenth will probably have a nice view of something. Higher numbers seemed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pete7651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We loved our stay at Hyatt at the Bund for the Chinese New Year Festival! A group of us all had Club rooms with fabulous views. Ours was 2928 directly across from the Oriental Pearl Tower. A truly lovely room. We took full advantage of the Club Lounge for Happy Hour wine/beer and lots of yummy food from the Executive Chef from 5-8 pm. Breakfast included in the room rate, we didn't choose to take it in the Club Lounge but instead went down to the Aroma restaurant. This was a mistake-with it being CNY long line-ups, and although there were available tables they weren't cleared. Buffet items out too. Lots of staff on? Disorganized. Loved the special CNY touches the hotel arranged. The Welcoming and Blessing ceremony midnight Jan. 30, the Lion Dance, visit from the God of Money and calligraphy blessings Jan. 31. The only major negative was our experiences at the Vue Lounge CNY eve. A great lounge on the 32 floor and open terrace on the 33rd (chilly). We moved in and took a table by the window. Immediately were informed we could only seat five at the table ( we were 6) and had to spend a minimum 1,000 yuan. As we'd already spent around 130 RMB each on a cocktail we were close already! The waiter continued to hassle us about this with every round of drinks. We had a couple more rounds then steadily left as we were feeling unwelcome. Couldn't see anything by this time anyway due to the high pollution levels and the official fireworks were unfortunately cancelled on the Bund.

Room Tip: Club river view rooms all the way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pippa-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Stayed here just after Christmas for a couple of nights to keep warm in winter - and wasn't disappointed. You feel away from the Bund but you can walk there very quickly, and the views from the bar on the top floor are about as good as you get in the whole city!

The room was big too, much bigger than expected. I liked the shower that seamlessly blended into the rest of the bathroom floor.

Sure, it's a corporate Hyatt hotel, but it feels a little more quirky than you would expect - especially the biggest surprise, the Beijing duck in the restaurant on the ground floor. Had heard from a friend that it was good and he wasn't wrong - hands down the best Beijing duck I have had in Shanghai.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#27 of 5,082 in Shanghai
2,334 reviews
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt on the Bund

Property: Hyatt on the Bund
Address: No.199 Huangpu Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200080, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Hongkou , The North Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#36 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#36 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#55 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#69 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#158 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt on the Bund 5*
Number of rooms: 631
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt on the Bund Hotel Shanghai is a 5 star luxury hotel, uniquely located on the banks of the Huang Pu River at the northern end of the Bund in Shanghai, China. Hotel suites and rooms at this luxury Shanghai hotel offers spectacular views of the Bund and Pudong, with convenient access to Shanghai's airports and major areas of the city.A member of the Grand Hyatt portfolio, Hyatt on the Bund Hotel Shanghai offers guests a unique experience with stylish Shanghai restaurants, sophisticated comfort, and functional conference rooms equipped with advanced technological equipment. Hyatt on the Bund Hotel Shanghai is also host to the Yuan Spa, Shanghai which offers a variety of massage and facial treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt On The Bund Hotel Shanghai
Hyatt Hotel Shanghai
Hyatt Shanghai
Hyatt Bund
Shanghai Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing