We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay for Business + a Good Sleep”
Review of Hyatt on the Bund

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt on the Bund
Ranked #54 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay for Business + a Good Sleep”
Reviewed 7 February 2011

Had a business Visit to Shanghai- Stayed at the Hyatt on the Bund as the conference was held there. Food was excellent , specially the variety of sea food - staff was very pleasant, however they do not speak much English. View is breathtaking I basically had my curtains open at night not to miss the amazing view of the bund. Good location - close to night spots and shopping areas. Location is very romantic too.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_liveit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,128
    582
    197
    56
    41
See reviews for
222
319
133
881
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2011

Didn't actually stay there, but taken there for the buffet lunch. It has to be one of the longest, if not the longest lines of food available at a hotel buffet in Shanghai, and I've eaten many hotel buffets in my time. There was food from all over the world, including Japan, Korea, Italy (pasta) and of course the local Shanghai cuisine, with the mandatory xiao long bao. Make sure you have plenty of time to take it all in, and not be in a rush to eat the food.
No actually on the Bund, but about a 5 minute walk north of it; so on a fine day, take the after lunch walk to the Bund.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skc97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granite Bay,California
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2011

This is one of the most impressive locations for a Hyatt. Right opposite the Pearl of Orient, gorgeous view of the Pudong side of Shanghai. Within a couple of minutes to stroll along the Bund. The breakfast buffet and lunch buffet are amongst the best you will find in any hotel, just short maybe of the one at the Four Seasons in Singapore. The rooms are spacious, with modern decor. Perfect for the business traveller. And my favorite: drinks at the bar on the 34th floor, with view of the night life.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mibo888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2011

Very good hotel with great views. Ask for a room with a view of the Huangpu River. Its worth it. Even if you do no stay at the hotel, Vue-bar is a must see as I think it has the best view in the city.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrock2118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2011

I want to write a review on their Vue-Bar. The view from this bar is nice, that is true. I live in Shanghai so did not stay in the hotel. I went there after a dinner with my husband to have a glass of champaign together. We had to pay an entrance fee to go into the bar. I do not mind this because it is very common in Shanghai.
But, although the place was not crowded at all (it was on a weekday) we could not sit at a table in the bar unless we paid 200 euro!!!!! (sitting fee). I discussed with the manager and said I just wanted to sit there the time we drank a glass of champaign but that I would not pay 200 euro for 2 glasses, certainly because we already paid entrance fee. So we left the bar without drinking anything. They spoiled our night. I will not go there back again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Caroline026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2010

We had a wonderful stay at the Hyatt Pudong, a great place to stay. We had a superb river view room. The breakfastbuffet is delicious as is the Spa. Service second to none, especially compared to some same type of hotels in other parts of China.
As we like to dine out (so many places near The Bund to have awesome food) we didn’t try the restaurants for lunch or dinner. It is wonderful to stroll from the hotel to the Bund. By the way: we had a lunch with breathtaking view at the Park Hyatt at the other side of the river.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patty_p66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regensburg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2010

The Hyatt on the Bund is the latest Hyatt Hotel in Shanghai, following the Grand Hyatt and the Park Hyatt. This Hotel is really amazing. Great rooms with a nice view and super friendly staff. The breakfast buffet is the best I have ever had. The only little drawback is that there is no subway station close by why you have only the options to walk or take a taxi. If you know Shanghai that the first option is most likely the faster one ;)
All in all a great hotel with a reasonable price (at least with our company rate).
Before I forget, on top of the west tower is the famous VUE Bar, probably the best view in town because you can see the river with Puxi and Pudong, something no other bar does.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hesspoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#27 of 5,105 in Shanghai
2,349 reviews
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Lujiazui
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt on the Bund

Property: Hyatt on the Bund
Address: No.199 Huangpu Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200080, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Hongkou , The North Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#36 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#36 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#54 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#69 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#162 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt on the Bund 5*
Number of rooms: 631
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt on the Bund Hotel Shanghai is a 5 star luxury hotel, uniquely located on the banks of the Huang Pu River at the northern end of the Bund in Shanghai, China. Hotel suites and rooms at this luxury Shanghai hotel offers spectacular views of the Bund and Pudong, with convenient access to Shanghai's airports and major areas of the city.A member of the Grand Hyatt portfolio, Hyatt on the Bund Hotel Shanghai offers guests a unique experience with stylish Shanghai restaurants, sophisticated comfort, and functional conference rooms equipped with advanced technological equipment. Hyatt on the Bund Hotel Shanghai is also host to the Yuan Spa, Shanghai which offers a variety of massage and facial treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt On The Bund Hotel Shanghai
Hyatt Hotel Shanghai
Hyatt Shanghai
Hyatt Bund
Shanghai Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing