We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Ranked #41 of 5,032 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Excellent hotel!”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I was there 2 weeks ago, with my family. It was the first time we visit Shanghai so we were looking for a good hotel, not very expensive and with good communications.
This hotel was a really good choice. If we go back, we won't doubt to stay in the SSAW again!
The service is so good, but the most impressive thing are the rooms! They are so cozy and comfy. It makes you feel at home!
You have your own coffee machine and all the mini bar for free.. absolutely delightning!
If you are foreigner, like our case, all the front desk staff is always willing to serve you.. restaurant recommendations, buying tickets, anything..
The same for the restaurant.. for beeing a chinese hotel, all the western food was good, and the same with the breakfast. Good coffee and good service.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5521234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niels T, Guest Relations Manager at SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear guest,

Greetings from Shanghai today.
Thank you very much for your comment regarding your recent stay with us.

It is such a pleasure to hear you enjoyed your stay with your family.
During the next meeting, I will proudly share your comment with the entire team.
We are delighted to know that you consider SSAW Hotel as your hotel of preference in Shanghai.

Thank you again and I am looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Niels Taal
nielstaal@live.nl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    504
    96
    32
    9
See reviews for
150
460
85
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Russia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

i stayed in this hotel for 5 nights and i greatly enjoyed my experienced there. it is quiet, nice, ina tropical balinese design and the location is simply unbeatable...you can walk to Bund - 10 minutes walk, you can walk through the best shopping centers, just take opposite direction and it includes Parad, D&G, Gucci outlets, as well as Marks and Spencer, Zara etc...just the names of few. the rooms looks nice and clean, reasonably sized, they provide any toileters you need, sleepers etc...check in and check out process was very quick and professional too...5 minutes and you are there. the personaell speaks good english, taxis are waiting for you during the day in front of the entrance. pharamacy and eateries are just 5 mins walk away. i plan to stay there again in November.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sven444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niels T, Guest Relations Manager at SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear valued guest,

On behalf of the entire team at SSAW Hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. We really appreciate your time and efforts.

We are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us and are planning to return this November. I will be glad to assist you with your new booking. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly by e-mail.

Best regards,
Niels Taal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed the professional service, comfortable rooms, great food (breakfast on the terrace), and convenient location with easy access to both airports via the metro. Recommrnded as 1st choice for Shanghai accommodation.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ecotravelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niels T, Guest Relations Manager at SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor.
We are thrilled to read you enjoyed your stay with us.
Our hotel is located in the very heart of Shanghai, near the subway for convenient access to both airports. Should you require any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

All the best,
Niels Taal
nielstaal@live.nl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This is a 4 star hotel at a western standard. Have stayed at this hotel twice now and would definitely stay there whenever i was in Shanghai. This time we stayed in a deluxe room and it was worth the extra money. Rooms are large, extremely clean and comfortable and the bathroom even has a bath. Breakfast is great and the staff without exception are friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tsaritsa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niels T, Guest Relations Manager at SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely review on our Tripadvisor page.
I am glad to read SSAW Hotel will be your hotel of choice for your future visits to Shanghai.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if any further assistance is required.

Best regards,
Niels Taal
nielstaal@live.nl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, NZ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Finding a suitable place in Shanghai isn't easy, so the SSAW is a genuine pearl. Affordable with lovely rooms, free minibar (non-alcoholic) and great service. Location is good too, just a ten minute walk to the Bund, Nanjing Road and People's Square. I was delighted with it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColKennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niels T, Guest Relations Manager at SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear valued guest,

It is such a pleasure to read you were delighted with our hotel during your most recent stay in Shanghai. We understand it is not easy to find a suitable hotel in such a large city and we are glad you enjoyed your stay at SSAW.

It will be a pleasure to share your comments with the team and we do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Thank you very much for your time and efforts for sharing this with us.

Best regards,
Niels Taal
nielstaal@live.nl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I have nothing, but the good words to say about this hotel. I arrived late at night, around 1.30 am, the staff were so nice and helpful and even upgraded me to a beautiful suite for free. The hotel is really cozy, staff super friendly and polite, breakfast was great and offered a wide selection of European and Chinese dishes etc. There was a misunderstanding with booking.com about the dates, however the hotel staff solved it promptly, I would with no doubt stay at this hotel again and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vaiva-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niels T, Guest Relations Manager at SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear valued guest,

Greetings from SSAW Hotel Shanghai and in name of all staff, I would like to thank you for the time and efforts to write down your comment on Tripadvisor. Each and every comment is important for us.

I am delighted to read our staff solved the misunderstanding with Booking.com and we could offer you our Executive Suite room, I hope you enjoyed the beautiful view.
During our next meeting I will surely forward your kind words to all departments within our hotel to show 'we are on the right track'.

In case you would like to make a new reservation in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me directly for further assistance. We are looking forward meeting you again in this impressive city.

All the best,
Niels Taal
nielstaal@live.nl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Especially considering the good value price tag, we appreciated the central location of the SSAW in booming, bustling Shanghai. The hotel is convenient to the Bund, Peoples Square and other essential attractions. Near the hotel along the street was a tiny but helpful convenience store, a side street with market-style traders, and a pleasant, small local park - then not much further was the metro station. A special feature of the hotel is its pleasant, Japanese-influenced ambiance,and this included the spare elegance of our spacious room. Desirable improvements to the room might have been better cupboard and desk space, but then the room actually had a surprising, semi-separate sitting-room area - gracious and comfortable. The room had fascinating views of the city - both the old houses and shops, and the massive skyscrapers. The bathroom was enjoyable - strong water pressure, and a spa bath with a window over the city. Both room and bathroom were immaculately clean. Staff were attentive - with someone dashing up to make sure of our room-service order if they found our English unintelligible the phone. Good as all this was, the highlight was the multi-cuisine breakfast, served in a restaurant with a choice of indoor and outdoor seating - like sitting in rooftop Japanese garden.

Room Tip: Ours was an 'Executive City View', which we recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niels T, Guest Relations Manager at SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your stay with us in June.
You are certainly right, our hotel location is in the very heart of Shanghai and many places of interest are within walking distance.
Additionally, I am delighted to read you enjoyed unexpected aspects of our hotel during your stay, such as our rooftop terrace and room decoration.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Please contact me personally to assist you with any further inquiry.

Best regards,
Niels Taal
nielstaal@live.nl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#43 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#61 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,660 reviews
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund

Property: SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Address: No.839 Renmin Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200010, China (Formerly Shanghai Narada Boutique Bund)
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 5,032 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Narada Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund is located in Shanghai, a 5-minute walk from Yu Garden. It features a 24-hour front desk and air-conditioned rooms with a flat-screen cable TV. Free internet is provided. Narada Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund is a 10-minute walk from the Bund and People's Square while it takes 15 minutes from Shanghai Railway station by car.Shanghai Pudong International Airport is 41 km away. Rooms at Narada Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund comes with modern interiors and a seating area by the large window. Each is equipped with a minibar with free drinks and private bathroom with shower facilities. With a 24-hour front desk, the hotel can arrange for car rental and airport shuttle services. Laundry and ironing services are also available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing