We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lying to your customers is a no no” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shanghai Narada Boutique Bund

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shanghai Narada Boutique Bund
Ranked #43 of 4,968 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lying to your customers is a no no”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

I have no complain on the hotel, the room but i have lot of complaints with the hotel reception service. Before we reach the hotel, we rec a call to confirm if we will be using the room which we did confirmed. After reaching there, the manager told us that there is some hot water issue so some rooms dont have hot water for that day and suggest us to move into some nearby sister hotel which to us is quiet far.So we say we will stay put. Then they start to tell us oh, the hot shower will not be available for the next few days as well. We suspect that they are lying so we told them we have no issue and still want to stay in the hotel. Got check in and confirm hot water is working and from one of their staff, we check and there is no hot water issue but merely that they have made a mistake and hotels are overbooked hence someone senior from the hotel need to stay somewhere. I think is horrible to lie to your customer and the way they manage is poor. They should have explain it when they call to confirm or just apologise and not try to push us away by lying. We know they are lying as different staff have different looks and the main person talking to us dont even dare to have eye contact.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lycheetini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niels T, Guest Relations Manager at Shanghai Narada Boutique Bund, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts with us regarding your experience last week.
I am disappointed to read you had the feeling we were lying to you since we did everything within our power to explain and assist you upon your arrival. All staff members at SSAW Hotel will not tell lies to our valued guests and it is regretable you did not tell us your feelings during your stay in order to explain everything once more in person.

On the day of your arrival, we were facing technical problems regarding hot water supply for an unknown time. In the morning it was clear to us some of our guests could not stay in their rooms that upcoming night and made the decision to move guests to another SSAW hotel in Shanghai.
We do understand the frustration and inconvenience and thus offered all guests who had to move a free shuttle to and from our second hotel, a free upgrade and free breakfast. At the reception we had the hard task to ask some of our guests, who booked certain room types, to move to our second hotel in Shanghai. The reason why some other arriving guests were able to check-in is because they booked different room types. In addition, we also explained every guest that they could return as soon as all rooms had hot water again- but some guests chose to stay all nights in our second hotel.

Once again, please accept our apologies for asking you to move due to technical issues but in some occasions we have to make decisions. I do hope you were able to enjoy your time in Shanghai. Do not hesitate to contact me directly if you would like to discuss this further, it will be my pleasure to assist you by e-mail.

Best regards,
Niels Taal
Guest Service Manager
ssawsh@outlook.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    490
    94
    31
    9
See reviews for
143
445
81
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

This is an excellent hotel, with a great location, only 10 min form Yu Garden and 15 min walk to Bund. All staff I encountered were pleasant and friendly. upon arrival I was pleasantly surprised that I had been upgraded from an executive king room with city view to a suite thankyou. amenities are good, free minibar (non alcoholic) still very good and the comp breakfast in restaurant is great. would recommend this hotel to anyone and will definitely stay here again..

Room Tip: rooms on higher floor if possible for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pascal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niels T, Guest Relations Manager at Shanghai Narada Boutique Bund, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear valued guest,

Greetings from SSAW Hotel Shanghai.
Thank you for your review regarding your most recent stay with us.

I am pleased to read you enjoyed your free upgrade to our Executive City View room and find our location convenient and staff members friendly. I would like to thank you for your recommendation to others, we do appreciate it. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you have any further questions. We are looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Niels Taal
Guest Service Manager
ssawsh@outlook.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We had a free upgrade but could see our previous room anyway and were not disappointed by them. Very nice rooms with beautiful bathroom and amazing view on Shanghai. Good breakfast with a superb patio

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Milou1330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niels T, Guest Relations Manager at Shanghai Narada Boutique Bund, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your review on our Tripadvisor page.
We hope you had a pleasant journey back to Beijing.

While you rated our hotel with 5 stars for sleep quality, service and cleanliness, you rated our location with 3 stars. Our hotel is located in the heart of Shanghai and has two metro stations nearby. If you have any suggestions on how we could improve our service regarding providing directions, do not hesitate to contact me directly by e-mail. Once again, thank you very much for taking your valued time to provide us your comments.

We are looking forward to welcome you back next time when staying in Shanghai again.

Best regards,
Niels Taal
ssawsh@outlook.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

We have just got back from Shanghai and had a great 4 nights at the SSAW. I rarely (if ever) post Trip Adviser reviews but I think this hotel deserves a mention. From the friendly welcome on arrival (including a much needed complimentary coffee) to the end of the stay, the service was second to none. All the staff were courteous, professional, friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The room (we had an executive city room, well worth the extra) was spacious, well equipped and stylish. The views were fabulous, including a view of the Shanghai skyline from the bathtub !! The location was perfect , walking distance from the Bund and the Yuyuan garden. Very close to the metro and a taxi rank right outside the hotel (the taxis are ridiculously cheap). The breakfast was in an idyllic outdoor setting on the 4th floor (we were very lucky with the weather in March and sat out there 3 out of 4 mornings, next to the bamboo, the fishponds and the birds, with the City as our view. Thanks to Niels and the rest of the team for making our stay so special and enjoyable. If we go back to Shanghai, which is likely, we will definitely be going back to this hotel. I would (and will be) recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: upgrade to the executive City room for amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JonSutton1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crown Point, Indiana
Level Contributor
427 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

This is a 500 room business type hotel. However, as a traveler it will meet most of your needs. It is clean, modern, and very inexpensive. The room amenities are very good, also. The front desk staff are not very good in English. But, with some degree of patience, you can get by. The hotel is somewhat in a remote area of Shanghai. If you love to walk, then there are shops and restaurants within walking distance. A metro station is 10 to 15 minute walk away. There are always taxi's parked outside in front of the front door. If you happen to be a foody, then you should differently take advantage of the breakfast buffet. It is top notch and you will certainly find meany things that you will like.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrWarrenM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niels T, Guest Relations Manager at Shanghai Narada Boutique Bund, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear MrWarrenM,

Greetings from SSAW Hotel Shanghai.
Please allow me to thank you for taking your valued time to provide us your feedback.

I am very glad to read you enjoyed your stay and liked our clean and modern hotel.
We are a 4-star boutique hotel in downtown Shanghai with 165 guest rooms instead of 500 rooms you quoted in your review. Perhaps you misjudged this due to our central location. Furthermore, kindly note there are two subway stations around our hotel with Yuyuan Garden just around the corner. Since it just takes a few minutes from our hotel, I do hope you did not walk in the wrong direction or was unable to find it.
Your feedback regarding the English level of our staff will be forwarded during our next meeting. Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts with us.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future as it will be our pleasure to serve you again.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly by e-mail. I can be reached at 'ssawsh@outlook.com.

Best regards,
Niels Taal
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hounslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

This was a very nice and relatively well located hotel, the room was of a good size, and the staff were friendly.
I would recommend staying here, location wise its 5 mins walk to the metro and the area itself has some interesting places to go to including YuYuan gardens which are no more then 15 mins walk away. The local area is busy and has got lots of places to eat out, and to see, if you walk around you will see more real life going on then then the touristy side of things. i found it safe to walk about late at night never got hassled or felt intimidated at any point around the hotel and area.
I would point out it is a little noisy in the mornings and the staff are friendly but it can be hit and miss as to if there going to understand you.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelbug1576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

This is a fine 4 star hotel overall. The location is not far from several major tourist attractions (500m from Yuyan Gardens, 800m from Bund, aprox.1km from People's Square) and relativelly close to at least one subway station. However, the street where the hotel itself is located is not fashionable, although I did not feel unsafe or lacking in security.
Price was good in comparison to other Shangai hotels, and the rooms were spacious and well furnished, with some nice touches in terms of decor and amenities (an expresso machine and cookies in the room, very large bathroom). I did not try the breakfast.
It may be too off-hand for business travellers, but the subway is close by, and taxis in Shangai are dirt cheap so it may not be an issue.
All in all, I would recommend it, especially considering the price versus quality of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors and a room located in the front of the hotel, the hotel back is not very appea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rmkoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#57 of 4,968 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#38 of 4,968 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai Narada Boutique Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Narada Boutique Bund

Property: Shanghai Narada Boutique Bund
Address: No.839 Renmin Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200010, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 4,968 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Shanghai Narada Boutique Bund 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Narada Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund is located in Shanghai, a 5-minute walk from Yu Garden. It features a 24-hour front desk and air-conditioned rooms with a flat-screen cable TV. Free internet is provided. Narada Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund is a 10-minute walk from the Bund and People's Square while it takes 15 minutes from Shanghai Railway station by car.Shanghai Pudong International Airport is 41 km away. Rooms at Narada Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund comes with modern interiors and a seating area by the large window. Each is equipped with a minibar with free drinks and private bathroom with shower facilities. With a 24-hour front desk, the hotel can arrange for car rental and airport shuttle services. Laundry and ironing services are also available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Ctrip TA so you can book your Shanghai Narada Boutique Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing