We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very poor...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shanghai Narada Boutique Bund

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shanghai Narada Boutique Bund
Ranked #42 of 4,969 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very poor...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel staff doesn't speak English! The only one that did only came at 8pm! We had to wait the whole day to get answers to our questions about the city or the hotel itself! The rooms are standard, nothing out of the ordinary. The location isn't perfect, but you get what you pay for...

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ines D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niels T, Guest Relations Manager at Shanghai Narada Boutique Bund, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for review on our TripAdvisor.com page, we do appreciate this.
Reading your review, I am of course saddened that we could not impress you during your stay at SSAW Hotel Shanghai.

Our location is in the middle of Shanghai with many attractions around us and thus many of our guests enjoy our location near the Yuyuan Garden, the Bund and the French area. In addition, you can find two subway stations within a few minutes walk which connects you to all parts of Shanghai. Of course Shanghai is one of the largest cities in the world and for some attractions you should travel for a longer time.

Regarding the English speaking service- I myself and my Dutch colleague are working at the front desk all days off the week with seperated shifts. This means we have English speaking staff at all days from the early morning till late night and many of the Chinese staff are able to communicate in English as well. Kindly note we also hired a Dutch person who works in the restaurant during breakfast and lunch.

I do invite you to contact me directly by e-mail if you would like to discuss this issue further, I can be reached at 'ssawsh@outlook.com'.

Best regards,
Niels Taal
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    489
    94
    31
    9
See reviews for
143
444
81
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amadora, Portugal
Level Contributor
84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We had a great room with a window sofa! The location is great between Yu Garden and Xitiandi. We stayed during CNY and had a very good experience. The subway is just at the end of the street, under 3 minutes.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niels T, Guest Relations Manager at Shanghai Narada Boutique Bund, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear valued guest,

In name of the team at SSAW Hotel Shanghai, I would like to thank you for your review on our TripAdvisor.com page. I hope you had a pleasant flight back to Portugal.

According to your review, I understand you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and liked your room with the sofa. It is a special week during Chinese New Year and you were able to join many cultural events in Shanghai and thus glad you discovered the subway station, just around the corner. Especially during Chinese New Year, many taxi divers are heading home to see their families.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon and would like to thank you once again for your comment on this page.

Best regards,

Niels Taal
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

My husband and I just returned from China and stayed at SSaw Hotel on 3/26. We highly recommend this place. Here is an overview of our thoughts...

LOCATION: The location is great for access to the old city area as well as The Bund.

ROOM: Very nice! Yet the AC is hotel controlled, not per room. We were warm at night, in March. I would think the summer could get hot.

HOTEL DETAILS: Very nice place! The staff welcomes you with delicious tea and everyone is very nice and helpful.

BREAKFAST: NA, not included in our rate

STAFF: Helpful and friendly.

MUST DO IN THE AREA: Bund, Peace Hotel jazz.

Note: We ate at Grandmas Kitchen - amazing!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niels T, Guest Relations Manager at Shanghai Narada Boutique Bund, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear valued guest,

Greetings from SSAW Hotel Shanghai.
Thank you for taking your time to share your clear feedback with us.

We are very glad to read you enjoyed your stay and especially our friendly service and location.
It is a pity you could not taste our intercontinental breakfast but do hope you will try this next time when visiting Shanghai. In summer we have A/C available in all rooms, I am sorry to hear you were warm during the nights. By listening to our guests we are able to improve our services.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you require any further assistance.

Best regards,
Niels Taal
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

I have no complain on the hotel, the room but i have lot of complaints with the hotel reception service. Before we reach the hotel, we rec a call to confirm if we will be using the room which we did confirmed. After reaching there, the manager told us that there is some hot water issue so some rooms dont have hot water for that day and suggest us to move into some nearby sister hotel which to us is quiet far.So we say we will stay put. Then they start to tell us oh, the hot shower will not be available for the next few days as well. We suspect that they are lying so we told them we have no issue and still want to stay in the hotel. Got check in and confirm hot water is working and from one of their staff, we check and there is no hot water issue but merely that they have made a mistake and hotels are overbooked hence someone senior from the hotel need to stay somewhere. I think is horrible to lie to your customer and the way they manage is poor. They should have explain it when they call to confirm or just apologise and not try to push us away by lying. We know they are lying as different staff have different looks and the main person talking to us dont even dare to have eye contact.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lycheetini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niels T, Guest Relations Manager at Shanghai Narada Boutique Bund, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts with us regarding your experience last week.
I am disappointed to read you had the feeling we were lying to you since we did everything within our power to explain and assist you upon your arrival. All staff members at SSAW Hotel will not tell lies to our valued guests and it is regretable you did not tell us your feelings during your stay in order to explain everything once more in person.

On the day of your arrival, we were facing technical problems regarding hot water supply for an unknown time. In the morning it was clear to us some of our guests could not stay in their rooms that upcoming night and made the decision to move guests to another SSAW hotel in Shanghai.
We do understand the frustration and inconvenience and thus offered all guests who had to move a free shuttle to and from our second hotel, a free upgrade and free breakfast. At the reception we had the hard task to ask some of our guests, who booked certain room types, to move to our second hotel in Shanghai. The reason why some other arriving guests were able to check-in is because they booked different room types. In addition, we also explained every guest that they could return as soon as all rooms had hot water again- but some guests chose to stay all nights in our second hotel.

Once again, please accept our apologies for asking you to move due to technical issues but in some occasions we have to make decisions. I do hope you were able to enjoy your time in Shanghai. Do not hesitate to contact me directly if you would like to discuss this further, it will be my pleasure to assist you by e-mail.

Best regards,
Niels Taal
Guest Service Manager
ssawsh@outlook.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

This is an excellent hotel, with a great location, only 10 min form Yu Garden and 15 min walk to Bund. All staff I encountered were pleasant and friendly. upon arrival I was pleasantly surprised that I had been upgraded from an executive king room with city view to a suite thankyou. amenities are good, free minibar (non alcoholic) still very good and the comp breakfast in restaurant is great. would recommend this hotel to anyone and will definitely stay here again..

Room Tip: rooms on higher floor if possible for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pascal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niels T, Guest Relations Manager at Shanghai Narada Boutique Bund, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear valued guest,

Greetings from SSAW Hotel Shanghai.
Thank you for your review regarding your most recent stay with us.

I am pleased to read you enjoyed your free upgrade to our Executive City View room and find our location convenient and staff members friendly. I would like to thank you for your recommendation to others, we do appreciate it. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you have any further questions. We are looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Niels Taal
Guest Service Manager
ssawsh@outlook.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We had a free upgrade but could see our previous room anyway and were not disappointed by them. Very nice rooms with beautiful bathroom and amazing view on Shanghai. Good breakfast with a superb patio

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Milou1330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niels T, Guest Relations Manager at Shanghai Narada Boutique Bund, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your review on our Tripadvisor page.
We hope you had a pleasant journey back to Beijing.

While you rated our hotel with 5 stars for sleep quality, service and cleanliness, you rated our location with 3 stars. Our hotel is located in the heart of Shanghai and has two metro stations nearby. If you have any suggestions on how we could improve our service regarding providing directions, do not hesitate to contact me directly by e-mail. Once again, thank you very much for taking your valued time to provide us your comments.

We are looking forward to welcome you back next time when staying in Shanghai again.

Best regards,
Niels Taal
ssawsh@outlook.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

We have just got back from Shanghai and had a great 4 nights at the SSAW. I rarely (if ever) post Trip Adviser reviews but I think this hotel deserves a mention. From the friendly welcome on arrival (including a much needed complimentary coffee) to the end of the stay, the service was second to none. All the staff were courteous, professional, friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The room (we had an executive city room, well worth the extra) was spacious, well equipped and stylish. The views were fabulous, including a view of the Shanghai skyline from the bathtub !! The location was perfect , walking distance from the Bund and the Yuyuan garden. Very close to the metro and a taxi rank right outside the hotel (the taxis are ridiculously cheap). The breakfast was in an idyllic outdoor setting on the 4th floor (we were very lucky with the weather in March and sat out there 3 out of 4 mornings, next to the bamboo, the fishponds and the birds, with the City as our view. Thanks to Niels and the rest of the team for making our stay so special and enjoyable. If we go back to Shanghai, which is likely, we will definitely be going back to this hotel. I would (and will be) recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: upgrade to the executive City room for amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JonSutton1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#57 of 4,969 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#38 of 4,969 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai Narada Boutique Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Narada Boutique Bund

Property: Shanghai Narada Boutique Bund
Address: No.839 Renmin Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200010, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 4,969 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Shanghai Narada Boutique Bund 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Narada Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund is located in Shanghai, a 5-minute walk from Yu Garden. It features a 24-hour front desk and air-conditioned rooms with a flat-screen cable TV. Free internet is provided. Narada Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund is a 10-minute walk from the Bund and People's Square while it takes 15 minutes from Shanghai Railway station by car.Shanghai Pudong International Airport is 41 km away. Rooms at Narada Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund comes with modern interiors and a seating area by the large window. Each is equipped with a minibar with free drinks and private bathroom with shower facilities. With a 24-hour front desk, the hotel can arrange for car rental and airport shuttle services. Laundry and ironing services are also available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and Odigeo so you can book your Shanghai Narada Boutique Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing