We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
Ranked #47 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Paso Hondo, Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Very Clean, great view from the room and great location. Walk to Yu Garden, The Bund, etc. We only stayed one night but were very pleased. The lobby and restaurant were good, and the breakfast buffet was great, included in the room!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    627
    513
    136
    30
    14
See reviews for
210
324
103
408
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I had written arrangements with the hotel to have a driver pick me up at the Pudong airport and they forgot to send someone - yeah really!!! I contacted the hotel twice from the airport and the first time they denied having made arrangement. After calling them a second timeItold them I had a copy ofthe email they sent me with the confirmation and finally they agreed that they made a mistake and forgot to send someone. I gave up on the hotel and spoke to someone from Shanghai Newtour Holiday Service Center near the exit to baggage claim. The person who helped me (George You) was extremely helpful and evn offer me use of his telephone to contact the hotel as mine was not working. The rate they chanrge was much better than what the hotel was going to charge

When i finally got to the hotel they barely even acknowledged the error. After being basically ignored I finally contacted the hotel guest service manager and he finally apologized (sort of). After expressing my dissapointment they finally offered me 3000 extra points. Given the fact that they leftme high and dry at the airport 7000 miles away from homein a country that is a challenge to communcate if you don't speak Chinese I was a bit insulted. Thr rest of the stay was uneventful and the service in the lounge was someof the worst I have experienced as a Marriott Platinum member. Most of the staff just stood around acting like they were hoping no one would ask them for anything. They ran out of several items in the bar and may no attempt to replace it.

The location is exceptional if you want to walk aroung old Shanghai and see the Bund area. What a view from the lounge!!!

I don't think this hotel has staff that treats it's guests like youwould expect at a Marriott partner hotel.

Room Tip: Get a view of the city center across the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The hotel is Pretty good located closely to Metro Train Station.The Bell Desk Staff is very helpful. The room was good with a huge TV. The Bed is very comfortable. The Rooms are huge and spotless clean. The best feature I liked was the hot and cold water mixture which also give you and option to choose the temprature on water. As I had newly applied for a Marriot Membership I had received complimentary welcome drink and free Wi Fi including for the common areas. Apart from that I also received fruits dailys. In China its important for you to take a copy of the Chinese name and address in Chinese for the Cabs to take you there. Unfortunately google maps do not work in China. And the hotel staff can manage english but in a very limited way. The Breakfast is amazing and has a wide variety of dishes to choose from. The hotel also gave us an amazing view for the New Year Fireworks.

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank sidpillai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
222 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This hotel has stunning views & a perfect location. What a disappointment to discover that their staff doesn't measure up to the quality of the facility. We arrived at 4pm to check in, and were told that the room wasn't ready. There was another person checking in at the same time who was being told the same thing. 4 pm seems like a reasonable time to expect to check in, when 2pm is what is published by the hotel.

Eventually they upgraded our room & we were allowed to check in at 4.15. WIth the upgrade, we were told we'd have executive lounge privileges but not breakfast. Fair enough.

However, we were later disappointed to find out that the front desk staff did not include the lounge privileges as a note in our reservation. When we went to enjoy a few cans of soda we were asked to leave.

Apparently they told us that at check-in to appease us for not having a room for us. It felt like a bait & switch.

Shanghai has too many great hotels to stay at this one again.

Room Tip: If you must stay there (which I would caution against) ask for a room overlooking YuYuan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hanoibelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
Level Contributor
100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel with friendly staff. The room was huge and spotlessly clean. My room had two double beds one of which was so comfortable that I could slept all day however we where in Shanghai to watch the golf! Would stay there again and have no hesitation in recommending to others.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Barneswallisred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

First of all, the hotel is very beautiful including both the exterior and the interior.
Second, the lcoation is excellent, a few minutes walk from Shanghai Yu garden.

Third, the lounge view is very nice
As platinum member, I have been taken care of and got upgraded.The service is very excellent when I need to send UPS or mail and they didn't charge you more than outside mailing company and the rate is reasonable.

Room Tip: Check in early to get a room with good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yangyi9432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

As stated, I would definitely recommend here and I'd love to stay here again - enjoyed the location in Old Shanghai and restaurants/bars, but spent most time away of course. It really felt like my home away from home.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#37 of 5,059 in Shanghai
2,544 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel

Property: Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
Address: No.159 Henan South Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200010, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#23 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#36 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#47 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#69 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel A Marriott Luxury & Lifestyle Hotel located downtown near the famous Yu Garden and Old Town, the new Renaissance Shanghai Yuyuan Hotel is just minutes away from the Bund, Xintiandi and other tourist attractions. Whether staying for business or leisure, you'll be right at home at the Renaissance Shanghai Yuyuan Hotel. Our accommodations feature contemporary guest rooms and suites with luxurious bedding, high-speed Internet, safe, mini-bar and refrigerator. Top-notch facilities include a business centre, four event rooms and banquet halls, and a 17th-floor Club Lounge with expansive views of the city skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Shanghai
Shanghai Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing