We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, highly reccomended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
Ranked #40 of 5,222 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2010

Saw some bad comments about the position of this hotel, we found it to be very good, right across the road from the Yuyuan markets, the people were very friendly & the service was great, we stayed on the club floor so had the club breakfast but would recommend going to the main breakfast for a better selection, also had complimentary drinks each night in the club floor. The only fault we could find was that we could not get the room below 24c deg

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,600)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

915 - 921 of 1,600 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2009

What a great experience to stay at this hotel. It was luxurious, had all the amenities, and was close to the best shopping market around. The breakfast buffet was amazing with international offerings. If I go back to Shanghai, I will definitely try this hotel first.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Forever Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2009

I stayed here for 2 nights. I have other 2 Renaissances in Shanghai (Yangtze & Pudong) in recent past and must say this is the best of the three. The location is perfect for yuyuan Garden, bund (closed for reconstruction), Taxi base-rate ShinTenDi distance. The entrance is a small hall, where the elevator takes you to the 4th floor Lobby. This lobby is very huge and spacious; also connected is the restaurant area for breakfast- and diner-buffet. The rooms are spacious too with usual soft beds with lots of pillows; I love this style. The bathroom comes with separated shower-cabine and bathtub. The breakfast buffet assortiment is clearly more then average used to in similar hotels. One little point of critics.... I missed the shaving-kit on the room, which I assume come standard since it was in the Yangtze and in Renaissance Suzhou. Would go here next time again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globetravelerNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2009

If you're anal about cleanliness, this is just the hotel for you.

The bathroom is just about as clean as it gets, which suits me just fine. The toiletries are great, all that's lacking are bath salts to complement the perfectly-sized tub that you can wallow in while watching tv AND enjoying the view of the Yu Yuan area from its 45degree angled windows.

The bed and the different-sized pillows is so comfortable, you'd be tempted to chuck your itinerary out of the window and just stay in. It provides daily English newspapers too.

The rooms are a bit pricey, so our stay would have been enhanced by free wifi.

The spa and the pool are beautiful.

The location is nearer the old city. perfect for Yuyuan and french concession, Bund and Nanjing Road. About 50RMB cab fare from Hongqiao Airport and 50RMB from Maglev Station in Pudong at rush hour traffic. Not much restaurants around it though, but that may change when the construction of the subway exit adjacent to it is done in 2010.

What else can I say? I'd go back to this hotel the next time I'm in Shanghai.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catherinalove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2009

We were a little concerned about going to this hotel with the previous comments about construction work. We must learn to go to these places when the big event (expo 2010 on this occasion) and the construction work is finished. Having said that, yes there is alot of work going on around this hotel and other parts of Shanghai, but with hindsight we wouldn't have changed a thing.

Located about 5-10 mins walking from Yu Yuan Bazaar & Gardens, this is the old town, it is nicely located. Also about 20 mins walking to the Bund which you cannot get to because of the construction work. To see the river and the sights around the river, go to the Pudong side of the Bund. It is about 20 mins walk to People's Square, albeit, alongside the busy roads and construction site.

Don't trust Taxi's, it's not that the drivers are dishonest, but they just don't seem to know where they are going. Two experiences, both of which the drivers knew where we wanted to go, helped by hotel staff, but they just couldn't find the locations, one of which was the Maglev Station & the other the River Cruise terminal, hardly low key locations. And when you have a language barrier, you feel so helpless.

The Maglev takes you into the outskirts of Shanghai, but it really is in no-mans land and once again in the middle of major highway works. Don't use Taxi's, I would strongly suggest using the Hotel Airport Limo service or another private hire company.

The Hotel is smart, elegant, 21 floors with great Staff. We had an executive room which was a good size, modern furnishing and very comfy bed. Turn down service in the evening and probably the best executive lounge we have experienced with good breakfast good selection of 'nibbles' in the evening with lots of wine and good views. Good sized gym and 'ifinity' pool & spa on the 22nd floor. If you are in an executive room you can get hotel airport limo for 25% off, worth the value.  

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rob3066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

This hotel is very nice and modern. Right next to Yuyuan. There was some construction going on next door, which made it a bit difficult to navigate by taxi. I assume the construction will be finished soon making this a great hotel.

I complained loudly to the hotel staff about the "fish-smelling hot water." They upgraded my room, but the fish smell did not go away. After exploring the city for a few days, I found that the fish smell was common to water throughout the city, even in nice restaurants, so I can not blame Marriott.

Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sypder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We stayed at Renaissance Shanghai hotel for three nights on a China Spree Tour. This hotel is wonderful, new, trendy, rooms big enough. Rooms are nicely decorated well with a chaise, a glass topped desk. There is a large Jacuzzi, and an awesome glass infinity pool on the 22nd floor, which our boys loved at night. The view was the most awe inspiring sight at night with the city all lit up.
Our breakfast is at this hotel was very delicious. Shopping in Shanghai is just 1/2 block away. We met one of the nicest local woman while shopping. She spent her entire day with us taking us to the best shops and negotiating prices for us. She refused to let me try street food and took us to a great place for dinner. What else could we ask for?
The hotel is in a great location despite all the construction going on around the area but this just means it will be a whole lot nice the next time. We weren't afraid to venture out for a late evening walk.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynnH_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#37 of 5,222 in Shanghai
2,852 reviews
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel

Address: No.159 Henan South Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200010, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#23 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#36 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#40 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#68 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £80 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel A Marriott Luxury & Lifestyle Hotel located downtown near the famous Yu Garden and Old Town, the new Renaissance Shanghai Yuyuan Hotel is just minutes away from the Bund, Xintiandi and other tourist attractions. Whether staying for business or leisure, you'll be right at home at the Renaissance Shanghai Yuyuan Hotel. Our accommodations feature contemporary guest rooms and suites with luxurious bedding, high-speed Internet, safe, mini-bar and refrigerator. Top-notch facilities include a business centre, four event rooms and banquet halls, and a 17th-floor Club Lounge with expansive views of the city skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Shanghai
Shanghai Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing