We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming alternative to big chains for a Shanghai stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Serena Spa & Hotel
Ranked #2,072 of 5,222 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 30 May 2010

The decor and service in this boutique hotel are its real highlights, and the location is what makes it a good value, and also why I'd definitely choose it again over a large hotel chain when staying in Shanghai. Also, unlike other newer boutique hotels in the area, they take Amex which is good for corporate travelers.

When I say the service is good, I mean that all the hotel staff seems warm and attentive. What you won't get, however, are the services that come standard with other hotels, like full F&B services. This is acceptable in Shanghai where restaurants open late and there's plenty of good food (both eastern and western) steps away from the hotel. The rooms are cute and very comfortable if you don't mind noise coming in from the hallway or floating up from the street.

I wouldn't recommend the Japanese restaurant downstairs, or if you plan to eat there, don't order the raw fish, which didn't taste fresh.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thatnyswagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 23 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2009

Stayed here for 5 days on business , unusual boutique hotel quite quirky but I loved it. Service excellent and more personal than the main hotel chains.It is in a brilliant location to see all that Shanghai has to offer, this is a fabulous city and when I return in March I will stay at Lapis Casa again

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank karenandbecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2008

Excellent location and nice deco, but really need to improve its make- up/cleaning standard, as the mould in the shower room is thrilling.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cuisinecruising
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2008

The minute my family and I (6pax) went into this small hotel lobby we were rather impressed by the old-fashioned decor and the courteous, friendly welcome. English speaking is not a problem at all.
The bedroom, a romantic, comfortable and reasonable size was filled with aroma from the burning candles, Even the toiletries in the bathroom was of a certain Italian 'BRAND'. They were clean and well maintained. My son, 5ft 11 ins had no problem with the height of the shower.
The location was most convenient, 2 minutes walk to Xintiandi. Also, it was within walking distance to the MRT, Yu Yuan and the busy Huai Hai Lu. Getting a taxi was easy at all times of the day.
This hotel must be one of the most memorable I had ever experienced. My family was so impressed that they would like to be back in our next visit.

Dr KH Khaw, Malaysia

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank PhDPenang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2007

This beautiful boutique hotel is a rare find in Shanghai. Perfectly located 2 blocks from Xintiandi, you'd be hard pressed to find a hotel or staff that would make you feel more at home. Each of the 18 rooms is unique in its design and contains antiques - all available for purchase - from the glamorous days of 1920s Shanghai. The extremely attentive service from the eager-to-please staff combined with the homey, almost European country home feel of the hotel, will make you feel immediately at home in this bustling metropolis. Please note, though, that for noise-conscious travelers, its location in the older part of the city leads to some early-morning noise. Also, for tall travelers, the shower heads can be a bit low. These two issues aside, I had an absolutely perfect stay - and would give their staff and service a full 5 stars.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank B_Edward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 25 May 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 December 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2015
Thank Yvesetgigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Former French Concession
Pudi Boutique Hotel
Pudi Boutique Hotel
#200 of 5,222 in Shanghai
238 reviews
People’s Square
Ascott Huai Hai Road Shanghai
Ascott Huai Hai Road Shanghai
#173 of 5,222 in Shanghai
289 reviews
Xintiandi
Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai
Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai
#29 of 5,222 in Shanghai
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xintiandi
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
Jing'an
Pei Mansion Hotel
Pei Mansion Hotel
#472 of 5,222 in Shanghai
65 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Serena Spa & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Serena Spa & Hotel

Address: No.68 Taicang Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Xintiandi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#152 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £130 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Serena Spa & Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Serena Spa & Hotel is hidden in an old alleyway next to stylish Xin Tian Di and in the centre of CBD. As you enter the courtyard, you could heard the sound of water, Moorish design arch doors and glass windows, a Spanish restaurant nestled inside an Shanghai Skikumen environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Casa Serena Spa & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapis Casa Boutique Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing