We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveller rating
8
59
54
18
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
59
54
18
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 144 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Under 10 minutes walk once you come out of Exit 6 of Nanjing Road E MRT station. Half hour walk to north end of the Bund. Great pastries and coffee from nearby Cafe 85 on way to MRT station. Plenty of cheap eat in Food court at 340 Nanjing Road E. Can do with some renovation and new carpets, receptionist has limited English. Give the breakfast (mainly Chinese) a miss.

Room Tip: riverview rooms has nice view over river where bridges are lighted up at night
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diskali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Feedback based on 2 nights stay In a family suite for 3 adults

The DO LIKE
1. Stratergic - 15 mins walk to Nanjing East Road, 20 mins walk to The Bund and 10 mins walk to Qi Pu Road ( clothes shopping area) , 5 mins walk to small alley near Beijing Road for snacks
2. Cheap
3. Clean toilet
The DON'T LIKE
1. Old - run down hotel and room including toilet
2. Internet access available - can't tell whether is good
3. Hard bed

Typically a 1-2 stars hotel. Some has commented that the staff are unhelpful, I think is typical Chinese who dislike SMILING to strangers. Recommend for those who travel with tight budget or those who only need a place to sleep, otherwise pay more for better one.
3.

Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
Thank jollygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

First of all this is not a Holiday Inn hotel but a cheap rip-off. In addition, many of the reviews here were made more than two years ago! I stayed for 7 nights in June 2011.

The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from East Nanjing Station in a rather run down part of town. It is situated by the river across from many steelworks factories which tends to get quite loud in the early morning. The neighborhood is also very dark at night and not very safe. The hotel building itself is extremely old and falling at its seams.

Customer service was extraordinarily bad! The service desk is manned by a young fellow (wearing a pink t-shirt) who was probably the rudest person I came across in all of China. If you asked him more than one question he would become frustrated and condescending - swearing at you under his breath and even waving for you to go away at times! At night many of his friends would come over and they would sit there drinking and gambling loudly. The final straw was when I went to ask him for a roll of toilet paper and he searched around his desk handing me some scrunched up tissues!

Each level of the hotel is split into two more levels (upper and lower). If you room is located on an upper level - be prepared to lug your baggage up a flight of stairs as the elevator (which is old and unreliable) only stops on the lower level. The carpet and walls throughout the hotel is dirty beyond belief and makes you wonder how it even got to that state.

In regards to the rooms, I stayed in a upper class room with a queen bed overlooking the river. Despite being non-smoking, the room smelled of cigarettes. The bed is hard as a wooden plank and the bed sheets felt dirty and sticky. The lamps were also falling apart as well. The window overlooked an awning which was filled with rubbish and upon opening the curtains the first thing I saw was a large rat scurrying across!!

The bathroom is perhaps the worst part. The shower head is rusted beyond belief! In addition, the toilet constantly clogged and I had to get it plumbed everyday. The tiles were all moldy and falling off the walls as well. Cockroaches crawling about inside were also a common sight.

Breakfast is included but I would skip it as the quality of the food is horrible. Two bottles of water is provided everyday and the rooms also have free internet access of which the speed was extremely slow. There's a washing machine down from the front desk but it's rather useless as it's buttons are in Mandarin and the man at the front desk refused to show me how to use it!

Overall horrible customer service, extremely dirty rooms and bathroom, unreliable elevator, toilets and internet connection along with its location is a rather dark spooky neighborhood makes this place a terrible experience even if the price is in the budget range.

Room Tip: Rooms looking over river are loud in the morning due to steel factories across the river
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sunnyspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

We booked a family suite but was given a room without windows. The add-on bed was just a board bed with a thin layer of bed sheet as mattress. When we asked for a blanket, we were given the excuse that each room is limited to 1 set and there's nobody to man the reception should she leave to send the blanket to us. This hotel is obviously understaffed and has poor service. I will not recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joannebam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Within a few minutes' walk from MRT from Nanjing Road East. Able to walk to Nanjing Road and the Bung, and other attractions by MRT. Nice view of the Souzhou River and bridges if you have a river view room, otherwise the Pearl Tower lit up at night on the other side. Good internet access in rooms. Can do with a bit of renovation, give the breakfast a miss. Cafe 85 down the road has nice coffee and baked goods. It is still good value.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HCM-Hanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews