We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveller rating
8
59
54
18
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
59
54
18
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 144 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Where do I start - there is no English traveler information such as Metro maps or tours.

The reception staff speak very little English.

The Internet pc is in Chinese and I couldn't work out the control panel menu to find the correct panel to change the language.
Of my six day stay I had maybe three days of hot water, I had to have my room switched but that didn't make any difference.
When I raised it with reception they repeated "no hot water?" and then gave a blank look, although it was clear the woman on knew what I meant, but didn't seem to have a clue as to to what to do next.

The toilets do not flush very well, often backing up.

The rooms are noisy - you can hear the person in the next room snoring.

The seals on the double glazed windows have failed so you can hear everything on the street - luckily it is a quiet street with no traffic at night.

Non-smoking rooms only means they take the ash-trays out... people still smoke in the hallways and room next door.

The beds are very very firm.

They do not change the sheets very often (couldn't tell exactly as I was only there a short time and changed rooms).

On a plus point I thought the breakfast was ok.
And it was close to Nanjing rd station.
There is a river view - more like a canal of grey-ish brown colour that isn't particularly scenic, but better that a street full of cars or another building I guess.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bigfootpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We were shocked to see how dirty the bathroom was, especially the shower stall, it had lots of hair, grime, tiles seemed to have never been cleaned. (Changed room once, we were given a bigger room, but condition was about the same.) Same condition around sink faucets. Dirt and dust everywhere else. Shower didn't work properly, with no consistency in temperature! You do get clean towels and toiletories daily. They did make our bed and dumped the waste basket daily. We had stayed in other budget hotels in Shanghai, but this one was the worst but also the cheapest...lesson learned. Very convenient location though. Business cards of call girls slided through the door daily didn't bother us too much...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luch209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

the location is very convenient and close to the Metro station. some rooms facing the river have excellent views. the breakfast was not bad. this area has quiet nice nights. the only bad thing was about the staff; not friendly enough!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank laleh E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The hotel has no connection with the famous brand Holiday Inn. Its name is only in Chinese (so I don't know what is wroten). The location is very good. The breakfast is awfull. It was the first time in my trips where I could not eat breakfast. They have not coffee no tea. They only have hot orange juice!!!!! The staff is not friendly. Many of them do not speak English.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!!!!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ELVIRAKARAMEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Booked through hotels.com, seemed an ok option for the price. Stayed for 3 nights. Rooms were clean and fine. Overall hotel could you some more cleaning. Breakfast doesn't have much too offer, but we booked it upfront as a part of package so we tried to eat some dumplings and toasts. Staff is ok. The best thing was location- close from East Nanjing Road metro station- just before the bridge, on the left side. Short walk to Bund, pedestrain mall on nanjing road and People's Square. Some markets around. NIce bakery near the metro station. Easy acces through metro to Pudong area and airport. 20 rmb for laundry was a good deal as well. wifi is not working in the rooms. during 4 days stay it worked once, the last day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ola182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews