We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique old Shanghai experience in a modernized historical house” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mansion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mansion Hotel
Ranked #191 of 4,969 Hotels in Shanghai
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unique old Shanghai experience in a modernized historical house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

I very much enjoyed our stay at the Mansion Hotel in Shanghai. Being originally from Shanghai, I am not unfamiliar with the streets and buildings of the cities, yet I was pleasantly surprised when I entered the hotel -- It was converted from an old "mansion" of one of the Shanghainese Tycoons from the early 1900s.

The hotel has gorgeous rooms with very high ceilings and spacious bedrooms, with a lot of the old furniture / replica of old furniture nicely preserved. There are a lot of old historical items (such as the old stock certificate notes, old telephones) on display in the hall way and in the rooms, adding to the historical feel.

The hotel is located just off Huaihai Road, one of the most popular commercial streets in Shanghai, a few turns you will hit heaps of shops and restaurants, while the hotel itself manage to stay in a quiet location.

The service is cozy and up to standard, breakfast on the roof terrace is French style and nicely prepared. All in all an it was an unique experience for me.

Only problem is that the entrance is a bit hard to find at night, would be nice if the hotel is more alert when guests arrive and open the front gate in time.

Room Tip: might be a better idea to choose Mansion in Spring, early Autum, or early summer so the rooftop terr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eva Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    27
    15
    5
    6
See reviews for
10
30
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

The prospect of staying in the former mansion of golden era Shanghai gangster was very appealing, particularly at the end of a quite 'authentic' trip around China. Unfortunately, we did not enjoy our Mansion experience too much. Part of the problem was that the top level was being refurbished, which meant the rooftop dining room and terrace were off-limits. The carpet in most stair and hall areas was also covered up for protection, which didn't do too much for atmosphere. Breakfast (very basic and limited) was now room-service only. Perhaps because of this, we were upgraded to a corner suite when we arrived. The room was enormous (way too big to be useful!) and then had an enormous lounging area and bathroom on top of that. The bathroom was very well appointed with spa and fancy toilet, but hot water was a bit patchy in the shower. The main problem though was the noise. The room overlooked the front entrance of the hotel and although the windows were double-glazed, it obviously wasn't done properly because every bit of noise registered in the room. The dawn outdoor market directly outside meant we woke up before 5am every morning we were there. The evening busker had a very limited repertoire. After a few days, we just needed sleep! The building itself is lovely but there's only a small area in the 'driveway' with a few tables and chairs. The lobby is beautiful. Not a lot of English is spoken by the front desk staff. Limited dining options around.

Room Tip: Request a room at the back of the hotel to avoid noisy front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antip0de
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Shanghai has so many great hotel options I'd give this a pass. I booked this on my 4th visit to Shanghai because I was traveling w/friends and we wanted to try something different; the large number of positive reviews misled me (or perhaps things have changed).

The positives -- beautiful lobby, nice furniture in rooms; really gives you a feeling of old Shanghai. Location is OK -- you are 5 minutes by cab from lots of places, and either a short or long walk from a number of other things to see in the French concession.

The negatives - the upper floor restaurant was closed "for renovation" and the breakfast service was very poor and very expensive. We ended up walking to Starbucks (about two blocks away) on our second and third mornings. Plumbing in the showers was a disaster on both of the two rooms that our party booked -- no way to take a shower without drenching the floor of the bathroom. Hotel seemed to be overstaffed but staff was not well trained; were yelling at each other in the hallway, seemed bothered to help us with restaurant reservations. Just the tidiness of the front reception area behind the counter gives you the idea this is not a professionally run hotel.

When we checked in, we tried to change/upgrade our room but were told we couldn't because the hotel was "full" but in our 3 days in the hotel we only saw a couple of other guests. I had the impression that the staff didn't really care.

Overall this was a five-star renovation job unfortunately burdened by a two-star management.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fireballhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Recently I stayed in the Mansion Hotel and was very impressed by the room and old world charm of the hotel. It is a very nice piece of Shanghai history and a pleasant stay. The rooms are large with very high ceilings, and the location is great - very central.

Note, however, this is not a full service hotel so dont expect the niceties and conveniences you get from a full service establishment in regards to amenity. You will not get 24hr room service, and they only have two Chinese restaurants (before they quite a good roof top resturant serving great steaks, but this has gone.). Internet stability when I stayed there was on/off, and breakfast quality is very bad. The concierge was very good, but after that the service was generally non-attentive and poor. For this reason I found the value of the hotel to be poor.

Room Tip: I had Room 3003 which has a balcony, but the balcony connects to another room. This could easily lea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marjsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelyn L, General Manager at Mansion Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thanks for staying with Mansion Hotel Shanghai. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay. We appreciate your comments and will use them constructively, to continue to train our team members and strive to improve our service levels. Please accept my apologies for the let down in service levels and if there is anything we can do to assist, we would encourage you to liase directly with the hotel, as we would be delighted to help in any way we can. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Shanghai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

There are a myriad of first world hotels to chose from in Shanghai, however this gem more than covers all of the modern requirements whilst taking you back to the world of old Shanghai. The rooms are large, well laid out, perfect for work or holiday and the bathrooms are huge. My room included a huge spa which I didn't have time to use. At the top of the hotel is a restaurant which I am told is great, but it is currently closed for renovations, so I didn't get a chance to use it...
The staff were attentive and very helpful and it is a hotel with genuine character. Definitely will recommend it to friends and colleagues.
The location is great with plenty of shops and restaurants within walking distance. The only issue that I had was finding the hotel at night. It is not well lit from the outside and with the gate shut (but unlocked) when I arrived from the airport I was a little confused at first. Be prepared for this if arriving at night.

Room Tip: I have been told that the rooms with balconies are great but mine didn't have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelyn L, Public Relations Manager at Mansion Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thanks for staying with Mansion Hotel Shanghai. We are so pleased to know that you did enjoy your stay here. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Shanghai, we will try to arrange Balcony room for you special...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

My wife and I stayed in August for 4 nights. A wonderful place. The courtyard and lobby area are very nice. Our room came with a balcony, high ceilings and was beautifully furnished. The bath had a great shower and large jacuzzi. The staff was friendly and helpful. It is located in the French Concession area which is surrounded by tree line streets, small shops, restaurants, bars etc. Short walk to the subway and taxis are plentiful and cheap. A very nice park is across the street. I definitely recommend this hotel for those who enjoy small boutique hotels and I will stay there again next time we are in Shanghai.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are at the front of the hotel which overlooks the entry courtyard and has views of pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelyn L, General Manager at Mansion Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thanks for staying with Mansion Hotel Shanghai. We are so pleased to know that you did enjoy your stay here. Looking forward to see you again on your next trip to Shanghai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

I booked this on Agoda for about half price and didn't have high expectations, but I was really impressed. This is an amazing hotel that brings you back to old Shanghai. My room was huge, with high ceilings and period furniture. French doors lead to a well- appointed bathroom with a big jacuzzi bathtub. Staff speaks English and service was excellent. It has a boutique feel to it that you don't get with a big high rise hotel. My room was quiet (from street noise) but located close to restaurants, bars and shops. It's a winner.

Room Tip: stay away from the maids storeroom as it can get noisy early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lemonzestlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelyn L, Public Relations Manager at Mansion Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thanks for staying with Mansion Hotel Shanghai. I am the new Marketing Communication Manager of Mansion Hotel. Mansion Hotel located in the center of Shanghai, with great view of former French Concession. We are so pleased to know that you did enjoy your stay here. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Former French Concession
Fenyang Garden Boutique Hotel
Fenyang Garden Boutique Hotel
#158 of 4,969 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Former French Concession
Howard Johnson Huaihai Hotel Shanghai
Former French Concession
Donghu Hotel (Donghu Road)
Donghu Hotel (Donghu Road)
#386 of 4,969 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Former French Concession
Mason Hotel Shanghai
Mason Hotel Shanghai
#219 of 4,969 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Former French Concession
Hengshan Moller Villa Hotel
Hengshan Moller Villa Hotel
#154 of 4,969 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Former French Concession
Jin Jiang Hotel
Jin Jiang Hotel
#86 of 4,969 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion Hotel

Property: Mansion Hotel
Address: No.82 Xinle Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200031, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Former French Concession , Huaihai Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#164 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#188 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mansion Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed by the French architect Lafayette in 1932 and located in the vibrant heart of the historic French Concession, this luxuriously restored heritage boutique hotel offers the city’s most authentic experience of ‘Old Shanghai’. Formerly headquarters of Shanghai vice boss Du Yuesheng, the Mansion Hotel was once the nerve centre of an opium empire and scene of some of roaring Shanghai’s most decadent parties. Hundreds of artifacts and photographs attest to its colourful past, as you relax into its lavish modern-day incarnation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Mansion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing