We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An okay place to stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
Ranked #12 of 290 Speciality Lodging in Shanghai
Yangshuo County, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An okay place to stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Mingtown E Tour Hostel was an okay place to stay. Excellent location. The staff were nice with reasonable English. Unfortunately our bed (403) did not come with a mattress and even after asking for one, staff failed to put one on the bed. Reason for this was because they didn't have a mattress that fit the bed? So instead we slept on blankets which was extremely uncomfortable. Won't be staying there again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nlsch4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    101
    41
    8
    2
See reviews for
7
44
59
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

My husband and I stayed in the Shanghai - Mingtown Etour YH for 7 nights in a single room and loved it. The location is superb. It is at the corner of Huangpi Rd and the JW Marriott Hotel, 5 minutes walk from the People Square subway station. The room was clean and spacious. The atmosphere was lovely; although the attached coffee shop / cafeteria is pricey, especially for a youth hostel, it is very pleasant and serves as a lovely meeting place. There was also boiling water throughout the day as well as a kettle in the room. The staff is superb and every one of the staff members speaks superb English and is extremely helpful and friendly. This is an enormous plus for non-Chinese speakers. You need to bring your own soap. The only (minor) minuses was the TV that was pretty bad. But this is truly insignificant as the place is wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ererap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Location: This hostel is located immediately off people's square. That means it's well connected, but it is also in the middle of a high-end commercial district. If you're trying to avoid malls and find street food you will need to walk some way. Also, people's square has its fair share of con artists. I would prefer somewhere less central.

Rooms: The rooms are OK and clean. They are slightly more expensive/less nice than you would get in a less central location.

Common areas: The common areas are nicely done. I found the restaurant overpriced and cold however, and so tried to avoid it whenever possible.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

As a group of 3 friends, we stayed here on arrival to Shanghai. We had one double room and a bed in a dorm. Double room was 105, which was a nice size with a shared bathroom between 3 rooms which was clean, the showers were fine and hot.

Ignore first impressions of the hostel. I wondered what we had got ourselves into before we walked through the door to reception. But checked in, and were shown to our room. The communal area is lovely, the bar is a nice social space. Food here is good too, but beers are a bit pricey when you can get them in the shop down the road for 3 RMB. The beer in the bar was 16 RMB.

The hostel is close to everything. Exit 9 from the metro gives you a 5 min walk to the hostel. Most things are on line 2. Up the road there is a market, which is good for souvenirs and copies, if thats what you're after. East Nanjing road is good for shops, offers nice western restaurants too. The Bund is a short walk, or 2 mins on metro. We got the boat across the river at The Bund for 2 RMB per person, which was nice and gives a wider view of Shanghai skyline (which is always better at night)...

Over all we had a decent stay here.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

I stayed in a female 6 bed dorm for one night, and the cost was 55 RMB. Bedsheets and the toilet were clean, but the shower was a little grubby. The 6 beds were squeezed into the room, but I had a comfortable sleep. The bar and restaurant is nice and handy. Location very central.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeccaLouiseG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed in a clean double bedroom with shared bathroom (shared between 3 rooms). Staff friendly depending on who was at the desk. We stayed there for 6 nights and the room wasn't cleaned, and we had to ask for new towels. It has the vibe of 'do it yourself' it terms of changing the bedding etc. Having said that it is pretty cheap and in a good location.
However what lets this place down is the expensive bar in the middle, it is totally overpriced considering the price you are paying for a room per night, to buy a meal is going to be pretty much this price again. It is such a shame that a cheap hostel asks so much for a beer when they sell it for half the price from the small fridge by the front desk.

Room Tip: Share a bathroom as it is only between 3 rooms and it is much cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susiecampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

I've stayed from 20-22 March, the room given were precise the picture I've seen in Booking.com. the price are okay I guess, 160CNY, per room, we paid 320 CNY for the family, it got 2 bedroom, double bed and 1 bathroom. But what we really like is the location of the hostel, 10 minutes walking to Grand theatre, Shanghai Urban Planning, Nanjing road 20 minutes and to go to Hongqiao Airport, much better with metro, then ask for the refund of the Metro Card in the airport.

Tips: better buy the YHA card before booking, if you are planning to stay in more hostel, it can save the money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirin1905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#40 of 4,969 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,408 reviews
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
People’s Square
Laoshan Hostel (The Phoenix)
People’s Square
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel

Property: Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
Address: No.55 JiangYin Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 290 Speciality Lodging in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mingtown Etour Youth Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing