We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food - great atmosphere”
Review of Chelsea & Co - CLOSED

Chelsea & Co
Price range: US$3 - US$7
Cuisines: French, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Former French Concession
Description: Chelsea & Co. Is a contemporary take on a Euro Bistro Bar concept offering a refreshing and reinvigorated new choice in Shanghai bistro dining. While creating a comfortable yet chic dining and bar experience, the heart and soul of Chelsea & Co. Comes from an honest delivery of straight-forward customer focused service and handmade and home-cooked dishes using only the finest fresh, imported and seasonal ingredients and products.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food - great atmosphere”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This is really a find, a charming and friendly neighborhood bistro with good food and even better atmosphere. The beef wellington was a clear winner! Definitely comming back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eljorge5277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
absoluc, Owner at Chelsea & Co, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Eljorge5277, It is always helpful to receive guest feedback and we thank you for taking the time to do so. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our services as well as the atmosphere at 'your european neighborhood bistro' and sincerely look forward to welcoming you back!
Yours truly, Luc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    21
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
1 review
“Beautiful in all regards”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Great location, charming decor, and simple unpretentious delicious French food. This is my kind of bistro. A great bar, super affordable wine list, and all the classic comfort food dishes you expect from a solid French Bistro. Chelsea & Co. has become our new 'local' in Shanghai.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
absoluc, Owner at Chelsea & Co, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear David F, Our sincere thanks for taking the time to say a few words about your experience at CHELSEA & Co., and we are delighted to hear you were so pleased with the food, wine list and atmosphere. We look forward to welcoming back to your new 'local'.
Kind regards, Luc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Great new joint”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Refreshing new french bistro in Shanghai. Unpretentious yet great food and service. Must try to steak frites and the basil lime drink!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leo Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
absoluc, Owner at Chelsea & Co, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Leo Y, Thank you for your recent visit to Chelsea & Co. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the steak frites, indeed a true bistro classic. The basil & lime house creation cocktail has proven to be very popular also! and very refreshing with this summer heat!
Thank you agin for taking the time to tell us about your experience, your comments are very valuable and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Sincerely, Luc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“just opened !”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I had dinner at Chelsea few days after their soft opening. Quiet evening, nice weather, friends around. Very nice atmosphere, good music and time to enjoy Chelsea. Menu gives enough choice and wine list is well assorted. The Restaurant Manager is an excellent host and makes you feel home away from home. Make sure you stop over during your stay in Shanghai ! Cheers, Gigi

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Gigi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
absoluc, Owner at Chelsea & Co, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Gigi S,
Thank you for sharing your pleasant experience at Chelsea & Co. and we look forward to welcoming you back to "your home away from home" during your next stay in Shanghai.
Kind regards, Luc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dont miss it!”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This restaurant and bar is a gem!
Chelsea and Co. is European Bistro cuisine in the heart of the French Concession.
Nestled into trees and opening to the street, it is sophisticated, yet relaxed.
It is perfect for a romantic dinner, business meeting or catching up with friends as it spreads over 3 dining levels including roof terrace.
Incredible food, with subtle details complemented by a great wine selection and apperitifs!
I highly recommend Chelsea and Co. as part of the Shanghai experience for Travellers, and the best "local" for residents!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
2 Thank jeff b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
absoluc, Owner at Chelsea & Co, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Jeff b,
We thank you for taking the time to write a few words about Chelsea & Co., and we are equally delighted that you found it to be 'a gem'.
I agree that as "your european neighborhood bistro" in the heart of the former French concession, we cater to a wide variety of clientele, business or travelers, both local and international, in a sophisticated yet casual environment, and we continue to strive to serve 'incredible' food.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
Luc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chelsea & Co also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing