We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with amazing views and a great mall attached”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance Shanghai Zhongshan Park Hotel
Ranked #33 of 5,206 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I'm not a big fan of hotels with lobbies on upper floors (You need to take two elevators to get to your room and to other parts of the hotel), but the view on the 25th floor lobby is impressive. The guest rooms are on the 25-58th floors, so the view from your room should be even better. The lobby staff is attentive bordering on intrusive/creepy (They will often follow you to the elevator to push the button), but friendly nonetheless.

I had club lounge access, which had a decent but abbreviated breakfast spread. Their dinner offering was certainly tasty enough to satisfy. For comparison, I had breakfast in their main restaurant one morning. That was a bizarre experience, to say the least. I was seated at a table for two, but it was pushed VERY close to the table next to it, which meant that I was essentially having breakfast with the woman sitting next to me - I don't think she spoke English (A bit awkward). I got up to get some fruit (left my drink and newspaper, and when I returned, they had cleared my place and sat someone else there (I was gone less than three minutes). Not fun. They did apologize, and seat me in another place, and retrieve my paper and get a me a new drink, but I think they were a bit too enthusiastic. The breakfast offering in the restaurant was big, with lots for all tastes. It was a bit expensive though ($30 US +VAT).

If I didn't have club access, I would have headed next door to the adjoining mall. This was really one of the high points. it wasn't a high-end place, which means that for me, it was shoppable. It also has DOZENS of restaurants, from fast food to nice sit-down. I tried a bunch of them, and really ended up with some good meals. Breakfast there would have been a good choice.

The exercise facility was on the 12th floor, which meant transferring through the lobby (I saw lots of sweaty people - And I added to the number - heading back to their rooms). It was a decent place, with a good variety of machines, many with decent views of the city.

Overall, I am very happy with the hotel, and look forward to my future stays (As my company uses this facility as their regular hotel).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NelPit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,017)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

258 - 264 of 1,017 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

I stay at this hotel for two weeks each year when I am in Shanghai on business. The service staff I have encountered from reception, concierge, housekeeping and the restaurants are generally friendly and eager to please. This hotel is relatively new and has great views all round, occupying the higher floors of an office tower from the 26th floor upwards. It is conveniently located despite not being in the city centre. One-stop-shopping is available next door through a direct link to a huge shopping mall which is also connected to the Zhongshan Park Metro station, where several subway lines intersect. It is an easy subway ride to get to the main shopping areas and attractions of Shanghai and also to places of interest and office towers on the Pudong side of the river. Because the hotel's main driveway is accessed from a side street (although the hotel itself is located at a busy junction), not many taxis drive by, but this is usually not a problem as efficient doormen are stationed at the street corner to hail taxis for guests. There wait is a bit long only at peak hours or on raining days. Overall a great option in Shanghai.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank MyFairD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I stay at this hotel at least twice a year and my experience ranges from average to excellent based upon the service of the staff. Most of the staff are exceptional. However, there's a few bad incidents that wreck it for me: the waiter in azure restaurant sprinkling almonds onto ice cream with his (unwashed) fingers and not using a spoon; 1 hour for my luggage to be bought up from concierge; room service waiter asking if he could have his tip in cash instead of adding it to the bill. Anyway, the rooms a spacious, clean and well looked after.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Takefumi I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

One of the best business Hotels in ShangHai - versus the extra-ordinary $price per night !
Really comfortable + sleek rooms.
Excellent breakfast buffet.

All F+B venues (on elevated, Reception level) have fab views of the city.
ZhongShan Metro underneath a brilliant Hub - connecting you to most Lines without the hassle of being stuck in road-traffic.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank possuminpandaland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

This was the third time for me in Shanghai, but the first in this hotel. The rooms were fine, but I did not like the idea of changing lifts to get to your room. The location is not good as it's far away from the bund, Nanjing road and Yu garden. There is a mall on the ground floor which was not bad though.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Marafi_Qatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivian L, Manager at Renaissance Shanghai Zhongshan Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for staying at Renaissance Shanghai Zhongshan Park Hotel! It’s a great appreciation for taking your time to share staying experience with us. Looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

2nd time here.
POSITIVE: design of lobby, common areas, rooms. The marbles used are quite unique and make of it a warm, modern place. No doubt the most beautiful and appealing modern hotel I've been to in Shanghai so far (for the records: nices than the highly rated Royal le Meridien). Fine service -all spoke very good English.
SPA and pool are located in a side-building, but completely attached to the main tower at floor 12. Everything fine -the pool must be over 25m long.
NEGATIVE: Location -away from all key spots in Shanghai. Affected by a terrible traffic light for drivers coming from the high-way -yo may spend 20minutes to turn left and approach the hotel. Execution of architects' wish is not always perfect: furniture in the room had some cheap, too light material details and showed early wear.
TIPS: get an upgrade to Club room but beware -rooms look absolutely the same, they're simply on higher floors and give you access to the two-floors club loung (breakfast and buffet meals can be more than satisfactory there -view and interior design are gorgeous).
CONCLUSIONS: if you fancy fine design, this hotel will satisfy you completely. Pittfalls are negligible and kind service, Club lounge food, Pool, make it a very positive choice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Excecutive lounge have a lot in the evening to choose from so that is pretty nice...suite bathroom nice can look out of glass window when showering ... Service all good ... Location a bit away from the city centre ... 5* but not on top level but ok

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bumsii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#5 of 5,206 in Shanghai
2,043 reviews
Caoyang / Zhenru
Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Changfeng Park
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Renaissance Shanghai Caohejing Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Shanghai Zhongshan Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Shanghai Zhongshan Park Hotel

Address: No.1018 Changning Road, Changning District, Shanghai 200042, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Zhongshan Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 5,206 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: £80 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Shanghai Zhongshan Park Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 684
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The tallest Renaissance hotel in the world, a striking 60 storey building with a spectacular Sky Lobby on the 25th floor, 672 guest rooms offering panoramic views, innovatiive restaurants and over 1,800 square meters of meeting space including a 1,250 square meters ballroom - one of the larsgest unobstructed ballrooms in Puxi. Located directly above Zhongshan Park Metro station and only 18 minutes from Hongqiao Airport, this landmark hotel is visible from virtually every part of the city. Renaissance Shanghai Zhongshan Park Hotel is an iconic new destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Shanghai Zhongshan Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing