We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
World Union Service Apartment Mosike
Ranked #406 of 5,222 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and were quite surprised at the size of our apartment. We had a kitchen, a couch and just loads of room! Bathroom was modern and clean. Just nice little touches like free water every day, free dvd hire (not that we used it!), a little welcome pack with fruit and our kitchen table set. Subway station is super close and very convenient line. It does get very quite at night though and not many options for food past 10pm which surprised me for such a big area.
Overall for 2 girls we really enjoyed staying here and would recommend it even for a short stop over and sightseeing as the subway is so easy and close. Its very close to the french concession as well.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bexta33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 29 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2012

While World Union might not be the best option if you're looking for a place to crash for a few nights, it's a great place to stay for a couple weeks to a few months. The apartment (1bath/1bed/living room) we had was equipped with electric burners and a range, microwave, sink, and utensils. There was also plenty of furniture to spread out on, and a washer in the room for convenience. It's right between Nanjing Xi lu and Beijing Xi lu, surrounded by a plethora of dining options from low-to-high end. You can get to Jing An Temple metro station without crossing any streets using their underpass on Huashan Lu. It's in a great, relatively high-end neighborhood and I think we'll be staying here again next time.
Only problems - beds are definitely not as comfy as we were used to, and some of the furniture/utilities were old and showed it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

This is an amazingly convenient place to stay in Shanghai. At first, when I finally found the front entrance, I was full of trepidation as it is NOT a Hotel Lobby - rather a entrance to an office building. With the Reception on the 16th floor and in a corner "office", the illusion doesn't stop. But, the room was amazing - clean and comfortable, although the bathroom was just a tad too small. But, the room was prepared beautifully, with the table set up and a nice bowl of fruit and snacks - a great touch! It is a serviced apartment complete with kitchenette. It overlooks Jingan Temple, but to get there is a slight issue, as the entrance is on YuYuan Branch Road - not Wulumuqi. From the Jingan Temple subway station, take Exit 1. The excalator will take you to the corner of Huashan and Nanjing. From there turn right up Huashan and turn left at the intersection (200 meters up) and stay on the left footpath as YuYuan Road veers to the left and going straight will take you along YuYuan Branch Road. You will see the apartment building directly ahead of you and you can take the ramp off the footpath. I love it and will return to it!

Room Tip: It is not a Hotel, so don't expect the Gym, restaurants or concierge. But location is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Good value for money compared to some of the hotels in this area of town. The basic studio apartment option is currently less than 350 RMB per night and depending on what side of the building you are in, you can have a wonderful view of Shanghai at night time as the living room has 'panoramic' style windows. Apartments seem to contain all the necessary items such as a microwave, cooking utensils etc. Interestingly enough they also come with a washing machine fitted.

The location is ideal - less than 5 minutes walk from Jing'an metro station (line 2) and situated in a nice little community that has a few restaurants and bars nearby. The only slight criticism is that on the 8th floor facing West Nanjing Road you can hear the music from the nearby MGM disco during the night.

The staff in the office are very friendly and speak english.

Internet access is free.

Room Tip: 15th floor is your best bet for a great view of Shanghai
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AzitiZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Although I normally wouldn't have even known about this hotel or considered one so far down the list on TripAdvisor, the language school where my daughter was studying recommended it and it turned out to be a good option. I may not recommend it for a short term stay but if you want a convenient place to park yourself for a month or two while studying or doing business that requires you to stay in Shanghai for awhile, I think it is a good option and I probably would stay here again for that. The location is super convenient to everything.

The staff on the 13th floor takes care of your needs, taxis, translations etc and the women who service the apartment every other day wash any dishes that are in your sink and also do your laundry for you on a washer in the bathroom.

I do want to comment on the state of the rooms as they have been mentioned frequently. They are definitely tired and yes, in need of renovation. There was indeed some paint peeling on the ceiling and the plumbing leaked on occasion. If I were in a hotel I wouldnt stand for it. But in general all systems were adequate and my room was always clean and this was more like your own apartment with cooking facilities and someone to clean it for you. There is also free internet access and inexpensive food options directly outside.

Tip 1- if you are staying for the month you should ask for the monthly rate that is about 30% less than the lowest published nightly rate. You need to pay for utilities separately if you do that but it still represented a good net savings. .
Tip 2 - I usually went to a luxury hotel like the Puli, Ritz or Marriott for a glass of wine when I felt the need for a respite from the "functionality" of this hotel. Never order coffee at one of them - for some reason it costs more than a beer or glass of wine in china.

Room Tip: I found that having a room on the 13th floor near the management office was helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SusanfromSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

A functional apartment near to metro station and upmarket shopping area in Shanghai. Daily housekeeping without meals. Highfloor with some view of the city. For the price you pay it is well worth the money and budget stay in Shanghai. Most imporatant you have free wired highspeed internet through LAN.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David_kok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Very good location. Five minutes walk (or less) to Jing An station on underground train line #2. From there, I took connecting train to Shanghai Train Station, Hong Qiao Train Station and also Hong Qiao Airport. Around the Jing An area there are many local and western eateries. I haven't found a grocery supermarket but I bumped into overseas travelers in this service apartment who came into the lift with some groceries. I supposed that can't be too far away.

The room is basically clean. Internet connection was good. Plenty of DVDs collection for spending a night in. I like the neighborhood too coz it's not too commercialized and the old trees lining up along the road made it felt very old-Shanghai.

I certainly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank po-hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
Paramount Gallery Hotel
Paramount Gallery Hotel
#173 of 5,222 in Shanghai
214 reviews
Former French Concession
Shanghai Tianping Hotel
Shanghai Tianping Hotel
#431 of 5,222 in Shanghai
71 reviews
Jing'an
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
#54 of 5,222 in Shanghai
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
Shanghai Hotel
Shanghai Hotel
#1,161 of 5,222 in Shanghai
326 reviews
Former French Concession
City Hotel Shanghai
City Hotel Shanghai
#247 of 5,222 in Shanghai
290 reviews
Zhongshan Park
Mercure Shanghai Royalton
Mercure Shanghai Royalton
#189 of 5,222 in Shanghai
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to World Union Service Apartment Mosike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about World Union Service Apartment Mosike

Address: No.199 Urumuqi North Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#271 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £38 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — World Union Service Apartment Mosike 3.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your World Union Service Apartment Mosike reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
World Union Service Apartment Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing