We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So much nicer than reviews I've read!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Peace Shanghai
Ranked #1,700 of 5,032 Hotels in Shanghai
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
117 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“So much nicer than reviews I've read!”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed Oct. 20-23 on the 17th floor. Our room must have been renovated because bedding was nice, bathroom was large with all kinds of ammenities. Staff spoke English at the front desk. You can easily exchange your cash for Yuan at the front desk and there also is an ATM in the lobby. As noted in another review, there is a HUGE grocery store/department store right across the street that has everything you could possibly have left at home. You check out on the third floor of the grocery store, something some girls in our group couldn't figure out so they got very frustrated! There is a McDonalds within walking distance. You can buy postcard stamps at the front desk, it costs $2US to mail a postcard! But postards are cheap, I got 2 packages for $1 at the Jade Buddha temple. NEVER pay the price the people hawking stuff want, go WAAY down, they will, too. Taxi to 580 WEST Nanjing Road cost about 35Yuan, this is the place you bargain hard for souvenirs and purses, etc. NOT 580 EAST Nanjing Road where expensive stores are. We had a great vacation. Used Gate 1 and our tour guide was the best ever. Beds were hard at every hotel we stayed at on our trip but pillows were fantastic!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    54
    35
    17
    5
See reviews for
11
16
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This was the first hotel I stayed in when arriving from Vancouver. The room was large, quiet and comfortable. The lighting in the room however was very dim so I could not figure out how and what switches work. Barely saw myself in the mirror when I was shaving.
Lobby had free wifi but was not a comfortable place to be as it was devoid of furniture.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pacobeau1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

My first visit toShanghai and stays there because it is nearer to where my Shanghai business partner apartment.

Hotel has seriously lack of maintenance. Many lights in the room not functioning at all and some furnitures has broken PVC (doesn't looks and feel like leather). Mini fridge is there but not working and room air conditioning is insufficient to cool the room.

Hotel staffs does not gives you a welcoming feel. They are there probably they just need a job.

WILL NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN. WORST HOTEL I HAD EVER VISIT.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristoTng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shanghai hotels

California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed here in 2008 when it first opened and was promoted as a 4 -star hotel. It was attractive but 2 items stood out. Nothing was handicapped accessible including the front entrance, lobby, elevators, bathrooms, etc. The service was spotty, no staff spoke english.

Because it is on the same street as my family home and I got excellent rates on Ctrip, I continue to stay here as long as several weeks each time. More and more negatives stand out year after year glaringly. There has been no upgrades, furniture is worn, carpet needs replacement, bathroom lights are dim, towels are threadbare. Cleaning and maintenance are poor with dust balls in the corners of the room and under the desk, strips of black mold in the shower and bathrub. Most horrid was stains on the bedsheets. The service was terrible, the staff seldom made eye contact and view guests as a bother. Breakfast and other food are grossly overpriced. The management churn is alarming, guess they are unhappy and leave for better opportunities.

The only reason this hotel remains in business is the weddings and special parties on the weekends which are noisy and smoky. The staff and management line up in the lobby to greet these "special guests". I hope the management get their act together and focus on service and cleanliness.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank CASmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

An over all ok stay. it was pleasant enough if you just go by customer service, however the service has a lot to make up on as the hotel rooms were now good. They need refurbishment or at the very least a spring clean. layers and layers of dust in our bathroom not to mention the green mould in the shower. the room seemed to be missing some basic items, the mini bar only had 4 cans of soft drink and nothing else from what you would expect. one remote but two tv's meaning you had to get up to change channel, come on its a holiday! the "greening" ideas are great but the simple fact that the bathroom had no bath towel racks in it self was bemusing. The linen had holes in it so i left the "do not replace my sheets" sign,thinking i'd let them change the ones with holes in them..... they did not change the sheets for three nights. my husband was on a Skype call for business in the lobby using the wifi and he was told to leave the area as it is for business only. he could buy a drink but not use for business. completely rude about it also. over all a run down dirty hotel with clean lobby.

Room Tip: the smoking floor seemed like it was smoke free unlike many other places in china. thats is about th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janesjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

RAMADA PEACE MANAGEMENT: This hotel badly needs an upgrade to restore itself to its glory days.

Stayed at this hotel for a night. The bedroom is okay - clean but furniture, TV looks aged/worn, carpet needs replacment. Not enought power sockets to charge your phones and pads. Bathroom had a badly cracked tile that was not replaced. Shower head leaked! Plus point: free bottled water and sufficient toiletries supplied.

Rooms had no wifi (only in restaurant), but came came with cabled internet. Internet speed sluggish to slow.

Breakfast was a disaster! At 7.45am, juices level were low and not refilled. No american/western style breakfast. By Chinese standard, food is also limited. Eggs were cold, and chefs were standing around chatting, so were the waiters. Toast were too thick, and jams bowl empty (except for a fly looking for scraps!). Food was cold and looked very uninviting.

Saw a group of American tourist staying at the hotel, I wonder how they put up with this.

This is the last time I am staying at this hotel. Better choices for my money.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FattyJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Was pleasantly surprised by the standard of this hotel. Everthing was fine rooms were clean and spacious. Breakfast was of good quality. All in all would have no reservations about staying in this hotel again.

Only negative was an arguement going on between another guest and one of the hotels staff, didn't know what it was about as it was in Chinese but it was rather loud and caused quite a scene. I suppose this can happen anywhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoubleA_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Dapuqiao
Tiancheng Hotel Shanghai
Tiancheng Hotel Shanghai
#2,151 of 5,032 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Ramada Plaza Shanghai Caohejing
Ramada Plaza Shanghai Caohejing
#200 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Dapuqiao
City View Hotel Xuhui
City View Hotel Xuhui
#2,384 of 5,032 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shanghai New International Expo Center
Ramada Plaza Pudong South Shanghai
Ramada Plaza Pudong South Shangh...
#2,071 of 5,032 in Shanghai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Shanghai Stadium
Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel
Regal Shanghai East Asia Hotel
#97 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Jinqiao
Ramada Plaza Pudong
Ramada Plaza Pudong
#177 of 5,032 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Peace Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Peace Shanghai

Property: Ramada Plaza Peace Shanghai
Address: No.688 Xietu Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200023, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Dapuqiao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#322 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Plaza Peace Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Plaza Peace Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Peace Shanghai Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing