We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Out of the city a bit, but good.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Zhongtu Mansion Hotel
Ranked #1,649 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Out of the city a bit, but good.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

This hotel is well out of the city which we would have prefered to stay a bit closer to the centre of Shanghai, however the metro is easy to use. The hotel it self was fine with clean rooms, however you shouls ask for a non smoking room as some of our friends complained of strong cigarette smell in there rooms. Most of the front line staff could speak english which made it helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneRod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    51
    21
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
9
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

My room had reasonable quality furniture and fittings, but it smelt so strongly of cigarette smoke that I had trouble sleeping the first night. By the second night I was so tired after seeing the sights of Shanghai that I managed to sleep.

The room wasquiet and had all of the essential amenities that Western travellers expect. One wall showed obvious signs of water damage and there was a fair bit of mould in the bathroom, but otherwise it was a quiet, clean and comfortable room. The biggest problem was the smell of stale cigarette smoke.

Room Tip: Ask to be moved to another room if you get a smelly one. In the group that I was travelling in, some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Our tour was starting here, and we arrived 2 days early. Rather than change hotels, we decided to book this hotel. It is a 10 minute walk to the Metro (which is FANTASTIC and easy to use) but taxis are cheap. We took a taxi from Pudong bullet train station (coming from airport) and it cost 70Y. The nearby streets have restaurants and there is a market with fresh fruit and veg, meat and fish. There is a also a tiny park where the locals do tai chi, and take their birds and dogs for a walk.

Bathroom a bit tired but really not an issue. English spoken on reception. I emailed to advise we had booked two nights before joining the tour to ensure we didn't have to change rooms and received a very pleasant email back. Free wifi in lobby.

The "hard" beds in China never worried me but it was suggested we could ask for a extra doona/duvet and pad the bed with that.

Rating: I would say better than average but not very good - GOOD!

Room Tip: We were on the side and it was quiet, but there is double glazing so don't think noise is an iss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheAndosAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
836 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

A functional, clean place to stay.The usual Chinese style hard mattress. Fairly quiet and wi fi available in the lobby only. Quite a way from the centre of Shanghai but plenty going on in the area, Staff were helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pollyoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

Stayed 3 nights on tour in May.
Nothing fancy, but apart from the bed acceptable comfort level. Recommend you take a light weight self inflating camp mattress if you don't like hard beds. Good western breakfast. No traffic noise.
Patchy free Wi Fi in lobby. Good service at front desk, although few English speaking staff.
Hotel is a long way from any tourist highlights and business centre but one block from subway.
However a walk around the area will give you a good insight into typical life in Shanghai suburbs, with colourful street vendors, small markets and community life in the little park.
Dealing with road and footpath traffic is a high risk, no rules adventure in Shanghai especially in peak hours.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OZY50_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013 via mobile

First hotel on Wendy Wu tour, tired, stinky (cigarette smoke), thread bare towels, mouldy bathroom - I actually became sick because of my allergy to cigarette smoke which permeates everything, everywhere in this hotel. Avoid like the plague.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sissy1B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

I stayed here for approximately 4 days and had a very good and restful stay. The staff spoke very good English so there was no language barrier - the front counter also arranges for currency exchange which makes life very convenient. The rooms were very clean, quiet and well aerated. The subway or metro is about a block away so moving around the city is very convenient. The one negative was their fitness center - something right out of "The Flintstones" cartoon.

Room Tip: A room with a view - of Shanghai and not the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhorell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#61 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
Shanghai Fish Inn Bund
#79 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zhongtu Mansion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zhongtu Mansion Hotel

Property: Zhongtu Mansion Hotel
Address: No.666 Gonghe Xin Road, Zhabei District, Shanghai 200070, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai Railway Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,649 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Hotel Class:3 star — Zhongtu Mansion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Zhongtu Mansion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Shanghai Zhabei Hotel Shanghai
Ramada Hotel Zhabei
Shanghai Ramada
Ramada Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing