We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Weekend Lunch”
Review of Shintori

Shintori
Ranked #28 of 17,009 Restaurants in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Former French Concession
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Weekend Lunch”
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Had a set lunch which was reasonably priced at 100RMB. Lots of variety and delicious. Also ordered a sashimi set. Food was fresh and good. Setting of restaurant is interesting. Entrance is via an opening on a white wall at the end of Ju Lu road and Fumin road. Good service by its staff. Got to try.

Helpful?
Thank Robrrtng168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    123
    17
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a very striking setting”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

You have to look carefully for the entrance to this restaurant. It's a bamboo lined alley with lights that make it look like a portal into another world! The entrance is just a huge featureless door that opens automatically as you approach. The setting appears to be an old warehouse with lots of concrete giving the place a very industrial feel. This was my first real taste of Japanese food so I can't comment on the authenticity but everything was well presented and the taste was fantastic. Our party had the sashimi which came on ice with some dry ice adding a bit of theatre, mixed skewers, pan fried halibut, eel and cod. Everyone was very impressed. Service was a bit slow to start with but improved. The restaurant is split with a floor area and open kitchen and then a balcony. The place was absolutely buzzing and had a great atmosphere. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaolong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing Place - Must Stop if you like Sushi”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

One of the best Japonese Restaurants I've been. Nice ambience, great food, great service. Once I had a short schedule in Shanghai, end up making there just for lunch. Heard that would be a lot better for dinner. It wasn't crowded during a weekday lunch, and they had a menu option that was incredible cheap for the restaurant standards.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fredwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Interesting design and setting”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Being a big fan of japanese cuisine, I wouldn't consider the food here spectacular but they were fresh, nicely presented and generally good. What really impressed me was the interesting design and setting. Coming here for the first time, I was immediately surprised upon entering the compound and impressed with the bamboo-lined walkway leading to the building. The two deck open setting with a dozen tables overlooking the main dinning pit with a long communal table was certainly very chic. Maybe a little noisy with the open crowd but fun!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gary Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Delightful experience around perfect Japanese cuisine”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I'd say the settings is the experience: an old factory converted into a restaurant. Very large open space with the kitchen in the middle. The cooks greet you when you arrive or leave. The food was excellent and so very artistically presented. It had not had such good sashimi in a long long time. (although found it at other Japanese restaurants in Shanghai since).
Service was perfect.
Rather pricey is why i would not go so often.
I would recommend for romantic diner rather than business. It is not much lighted and provides for intimacy at the table despite the open space. You may want to book for a table on the balcony that runs around the large open space.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alstromeria33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shintori also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Shintori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing