We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A high-class buffet”

Yi Cafe at Pudong Shangri-La
Ranked #64 of 16,893 Restaurants in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$35 - US$58
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Lujiazui
Description: Yi Café features 11 show kitchens set in a lively, cosmopolitan atmosphere. The walk-through market-style design, with gourmet showcases and live cooking stations, presents cuisines from China, Japan, the Middle East, India, South East Asia, Europe and the West. It is the ultimate food experience offering a vast array of flavours uniquely combined in one concept.
Vada, Italy
Level Contributor
73 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A high-class buffet”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Located in the main hall of the ShangriLa hotel, this high-class all-you-can-eat buffet features a huge variety of Asian food. You can find the guy who prepares the colorful noodles (it's really a show to see how fast he can do this), the sushi freshly prepared for you, a huge selection of dumplings, Indian food, and many many cakes, desserts, and fruit. The atmosphere is really elegant, although I think it is too pricey.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Giacomo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    60
    21
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Consistently good buffet”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

My family has been there many times during our 5 year stay in Shanghai, and we have always had a great experience there. The service is excellent, as is the food and variety. Is it expensive? Yes, but it is worth it to indulge a little every once in a while for a special occasion or "just because." Part of what keeps us coming back is that everything is clean. We worry about eating sushi in other restaurants in China, but not here. Our four-year-old daughter of course enjoys the dessert bar and getting the orange box of treats to take home. If you have kids, try to get a table by the fish tank. That will keep them occupied. (Reservations are a must.) Have a light breakfast, eat heartily at brunch, and perhaps just have a snack for dinner. Just enjoy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JCYang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
110 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very good, but overpriced”
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

This was a really lovely meal, the variety is huge, the service was great, atmosphere really pleasant. You can only eat so much ( at least for us) though and it did feel quite overpriced - nearly $100US each - for a good buffet. Definitely worth a visit if you have money to burn, why not. But you can have a 5 star outstanding meal in other great award winning Shanghai restaurants for much less. This was good but not outstanding.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helen w, Digital Marketing at Yi Cafe at Pudong Shangri-La, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear lookinoutallover:

Thank you for your time to share these gracious feedbacks on our Yi Cafe, we truly appreciate your high esteem of our Yi Cafe's sumptuous buffet. Yi Café has 10 show kitchens and invites guests on an international culinary journey in a lively, cosmopolitan atmosphere. We are honoured that you enjoyed our other restaurants too. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beware of raw meat”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We just return from our trip from China. We stayed at Shangri-La in Shanghai and Hong Kong.
I am warning everybody on how my son was served raw pork meat from western food counter. When I went to chief questioning on state of raw meat, we were told the food, was only for display, than why the hell was my son was served this food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helen w, Digital Marketing at Yi Cafe at Pudong Shangri-La, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear M P,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback. We are very concerned on your finding and wish to apologise profoundly for the incorrect serving and response. We are proud of stringent culinary qualities and sanitation standards that are monitored internally and externally through standards of HACCP and our very own Shangri-La Food Safety Management System and clearly we have lacked the expected supervision. May I kindly invite you for assistance to provide us with more details under ulf.bremer@shangri-la.com or (86 21)6882 8888 as our desire is to further explore on details and opportunities.

Yours sincerely,
Ulf Bremer
General Manager
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“need to improve”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

had been there several times mostly for lunch. Food quality is not as good as before. Sea food buffet is stiil good and less İtalian and salad bar. seems there is a budget cut . deserve to be better place

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank zihni75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helen w, General Manager at Yi Cafe at Pudong Shangri-La, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Dear zihni75

Thank you for your time posting your comments for our Yi Cafe, I have shared it with our colleagues. We hope to see you soon in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Ulf Bremer
General Manager
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yi Cafe at Pudong Shangri-La also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Yi Cafe at Pudong Shangri-La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing