We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
URBN Boutique Shanghai
Ranked #48 of 5,206 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Spent an evening with a big group at the URBN hotel and was extremely impressed by the quality and capabilities of the staff. Food was great - fresh and clean, and our group was treated very attentively. Most of all, it is a beautiful hotel- relax in the outdoor terrace area surrounded by bamboo and gorgeous trees. A small sanctuary in the middle of the big city!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
URBN_GM, General Manager at URBN Boutique Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Chris:

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! Lan, Samson, and the entire F&B team here at the URBN are thrilled to hear you enjoyed yourself at your event.

I hope you will come visit again soon!

Best,
Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (620)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

253 - 259 of 620 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013

Inconspicuously located on pleasant Jiaozhou Road in the central Jing’an neighborhood, the URBN Hotel is a near-perfect refuge from the intoxicating but at times overwhelming bustle of Shanghai. The URBN is becoming more well known because of its commendable practices of sustainability, its beautiful architecture (which uses recycled materials and items in a sophisticated and kitsch-less environment), the quality of its restaurant, and the successfully unique layout of the rooms, which are a pleasure to return to. The only minor issue with our room was that the air-conditioning was a bit uneven, but somewhat understandable given that Shanghai was undergoing a once-in-decades heat wave while we were there. The lobby and common areas were cool, welcoming, and full of design-interest.

The staff at the URBN were friendly, professional, good-natured and helpful. Everyone was nice, but I’ll make a special mention of Clark, who consistently helped us, answered our questions, and offered great historical stories about Shanghai and the neighborhood.

The Jing’an subway stop is nearby, only a five-ten minute walk, and you can even walk to the Former French Concession in about fifteen or twenty minutes. In fact, you can walk underground through posh shopping areas for much of the way, emerging right at the Yan’an elevated road.

The URBN is a boutique hotel, so it will have prices in that category, but not particularly onerous for Shanghai. I found it a special place, and while everyone has different ideas about what a special place might mean, I thought that it was clearly worth it. So if you’re able, offer yourself the treat of staying at the URBN, which may encourage other hotels in the city to move in the direction of sustainability.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Guozijian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
URBN_GM, General Manager at URBN Boutique Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Dear Guozijian:

Thank you so much for your taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your stay with us! Besides giving us very very kind feedback on our service and design, I'd like to thank you for pointing out Clark, our Front Desk Captain. He's absolutely wonderful.

You obviously explored an impressive amount of Shanghai during your stay! I hope we can see you return in the future (Shanghai is a very very big city with a never ending supply of fun things to do!!).

Best,
Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I've stayed at URBN Hotel 3 or 4 times for work related trips to Shanghai over the past year. It was originally a post office, so is quite spacious and has been converted to a hotel using recycled bricks and wood, which gives it a nice homey look.

Check-in is good and I've found the staff friendly and they speak good English. They've been helpful with reservations and finding things in Shanghai. The entrance is a bit dark at nighttime and they should probably illuminate the name for first-time guests. Rooms are very spacious with a good bed and shower.

The breakfast is very good and the courtyard is great for eating or drinks; it is a nice treat in Shanghai. The food is quite tasty, though evening service can be a bit slow. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms in the front as they are nice and bright and you can see trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarrenRupert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
URBN_GM, General Manager at URBN Boutique Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Dear Darren:

Thank you for the review! The staff will especially appreciate your feedback on their performance.

I hope you will continue to stay with us for all your future business (and hopefully vacation) trips in Shanghai!

Best,
Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Large rooms in à king of japanese style
Shower ans bath perfect
And nice Small garden to get breakfast lunch or dinner
Only the Tv system all in chinese need improvment
Restaurant is good
Bar on first floor is great too
Only the breakfast can havé mioe suggestions
À small plus for the roof terrasse bar and lounge really cool

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank friedmann p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
URBN_GM, General Manager at URBN Boutique Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear Mr. Friedmann:

Thank you for your review of your stay with us, both here online, and for your in-room comment card! It means a lot to the staff to receive feedback from our guests, as it allows us to communicate and brainstorm on ways to improve, as well as recognize positive hotel performance! Thank you very much!

I apologize for your experience with our television. We are in the midst of planning a drastic technology upgrade in the coming months. I feel confident that you will find yourself very satisfied with our television selection upon a return trip!

As for the selection in the restaurant, we will also be upgrading our kitchen this Fall, and during that time, we will be planning a brand new menu that will include a new breakfast selection.

Very exciting things happening at the URBN! I hope to see you here with us again soon!

Best,
Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Just had a dinner party there last night, good food and experienced restaurant staff service.
A nice eco place, with decent appearance not like else eco place look odd to me.
All party person like the design style and would like get back themselves having a drink, a dinner or an afternoon tea.
As an event organizer, helpful & experienced staff offered me a pleasant experience as well.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
URBN_GM, General Manager at URBN Boutique Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Dear Chris:

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your experience at Downstairs with David Laris! Please look out for us in the future, as well are planning for a new fall menu in the coming weeks!

Please let us know if we can be of any assistance in the future.

Best,
Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I have traveled to China a few times now and was turned onto this hotel by a friend. I was very impressed. The service was excellent, to say nothing of the accommodations. People were friendly and extremely helpful. I speak no Chinese and they were able to more than make up for that with excellent English. The rooms were so beautiful. After a day in meetings and out in the busy, draining atmosphere of the city, it was like coming to a peaceful oasis. I have stayed in hotels all over the world both “budget” and “luxury” and URBN is in my top-five choices. People, atmosphere and extra touches all made me feel like I was having an authentic Asian experience with the comforts that I don’t want to leave behind from home.

Room Tip: higher floors have beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
URBN_GM, General Manager at URBN Boutique Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear Angela:

Thank you so much for your review! I'm so glad you had a comfortable stay with us. We strive to offer our guests a place to relax amidst the hustle and bustle of the city, and I'm very happy to hear that you were able to have just that kind of experience.

Please let us know if there is anything we can do for you in the future. I hope to see you back with us very soon.

Best,
Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Spunky oasis of reclaimed and natural materials. Quiet and open-plan rooms with stone tubs. Lighting design near bath area needs some more attention - a bit mysterious as of now. Go for courtyard view rooms. very helpful staff. Very close to up and coming premium Jing An district and other attraction/shopping areas. I was not too impressed with service+food at breakfast.

I used to live in this area between 2007-2010 in Shanghai. This neighborhood is absolutely non-touristy. Easy to get taxi. On your left you have a good cafe - Wagas. There's a great foot massage place - Jiuhao Massage Club (6 Yanping Road). Don't forget to check out Spin Ceramics shop if you are staying here - one of the best designed retail space in the city (360 Kangding Lu, near Shaanxi Bei Lu).

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samyadeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
URBN_GM, General Manager at URBN Boutique Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear Mr. Deb:

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your input was very helpful. I'm glad to hear that you found out staff to be helpful and enjoyed our design! I am also happy to tell you that the lighting design in our rooms will be addressed with our future upgrade plans.

I loved your recommendations! Spin is my go-to for all gifts (whether for other people or for myself!).

Best,
Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#7 of 5,206 in Shanghai
1,532 reviews
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Jing'an
Cachet Boutique Shanghai
Cachet Boutique Shanghai
#56 of 5,206 in Shanghai
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Bund
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
Xintiandi
Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai
Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai
#31 of 5,206 in Shanghai
1,055 reviews
Jing'an
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
#107 of 5,206 in Shanghai
1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to URBN Boutique Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about URBN Boutique Shanghai

Address: No.183 Jiaozhou Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#42 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#48 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#161 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £105 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — URBN Boutique Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
URBN Boutique Shanghai, the award-winning design-meets-sustainable boutique hotel, is ideally located in Shanghai's bustling downtown. A former warehouse, the redesigned hotel is located on a quiet tree-lined street in Jing'an District with an abundance of independent bars and cafes in the surrounding streets and is only minutes away from the commercial shopping district and subway lines 2 and 7. URBN Boutique Shanghai offers sleek rooms and suites over 4 floors with a blend of contemporary, minimalist aesthetics and modern day comforts such as the COCO-MAT Renewal Bed, free wifi, a DVD home theater unit, high-definition television, an in-room safe, a selection of New York fashion designer Jay Godfrey's paraben-free bathroom amenities, a well-stocked mini bar and one-of-a-kind artwork. The hotel also features a 24-hour gym and an on-property restaurant which serves a selection of cuisine with a wide selection of craft beers, artisanal cocktails, and wine in a casual atmosphere both inside and under the tented courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your URBN Boutique Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urbn Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing