We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool hotel with smaller handicaps”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
URBN Boutique Shanghai
Ranked #45 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cool hotel with smaller handicaps”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2009

Flood after each shower, only 5 TV channels, a little bit complicate to move across the room, room a little bit dark

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fkland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestmgr, manager at URBN Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, 27 August 2009
Thank you for the feedback!

It's very helpful as we are always striving to improve our service and facilities!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    137
    33
    12
    13
See reviews for
28
167
74
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
holland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2009

very nice design hotel with great, friendly people and beautifull rooms. if you stay for business, use the greenroom for your business meetings or if you have to work in the hotel. Service is great and interior is more then great!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petra1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestmgr, manager at URBN Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, 27 August 2009
I hope all of our guests can enjoy the same experience you had!
Looking forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2009

This hotel is a GEM!! What a relief to finally find a hotel that is forward thinking yet mainstream when it comes to luxury service. The best of both worlds as far as I am concerned. The fact that you have a unique experience and have 5-star service if an experience that I will return to time and time again! The restaurant is fantastic...both food and service. The staff delightful and the attention to detail is as if you were at Four Seasons. Stay here...you'll love it!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwedeClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestmgr, manager at URBN Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, 27 August 2009
what to say except... THANK YOU!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2009

This was my second stay at URBN Hotel in Shanghai and once again I enjoyed every minute of my experience! From the moment I got pick up from the airport by the hotel's luxury Audi A6 to the immediate recognition I recieved from the staff upon entry (even though I had only stayed once before), I felt right at home. The staff were very attentive and courteous throughout both my stays (the complete opposite to some of the other tripadvisor reports I have read). The room was extremely comfortable with a great bathroom and free internet. This hotel offers all the mod cons you come to expect, at a very affordable price, with the knowledge that you are also supporting the first "green" hotel in China - I will never stay anywhere else!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExportTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2009

A really funky boutique hotel, that was very reasonably priced and had great room and staff.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macfilms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2009

Had a great stay in Shanghai at the URBN property. Room was very cool with bathtub near the bed and a nice area to lounge. The downtstairs is really pretty and enjoyable for a drink. Service staff is helpful and accomodating.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dshap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2009

Shanghai was the first and last port of call on our 2 week trip to China...we arrived exhausted to a private airport pick up from the URBN hotel and were very relieved when we made it to the hotel. it is a haven for weary travellers! The staff were efficient from start to finish...although some spoke English better than others they gladly met all our requests (even arranging the booking of all of our internal flights...albeit with a little confusion and delay...a notebook for the change of shift would be welcome addition to the hotel!)

The rooms were spacious and tranquil...the bed was enormous and super comfortable! The bathroom in room 13 did have a tendency to become a little flooded after using the shower as the drainage wasn't at its best but i cant say that it really bothered us that much! the bathtub was so large you need to allow for a good 20 minutes to fill it! We also stayed in room 12 which was with the garden view...also a fantastic room. well designed and well appointed to match with the rest of the hotels features...

the restaurant was great (we didn't eat there in the evening but had drinks etc) and breakfast was one of the best that we had in China...living in Italy we have very high expectations for coffee and the cappuccino was fantastic....! After midnight the restaurant is all shut down and the hotel is very quiet...could be a positive or a negative!

The location was great, it was away from what felt to be the crazyness of the Bund etc but walking distance to the French Concession and a short taxi ride from any other area of the city.

I would also strongly recommend a foot or chinese massage at the Sugar and Spice Massage Parlour next to the hotel (come out of the hotel and turn left, 2-3 doors down). it was around £10-£15 for an hour and the girls were fantastic...open until 2am so it was great for anyone suffering from jet lag

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Somuchtosee_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#6 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
Jing'an
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
#42 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Jing'an
Cachet Boutique Shanghai
Cachet Boutique Shanghai
#56 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
South Bund
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
People’s Square
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
#33 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to URBN Boutique Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about URBN Boutique Shanghai

Property: URBN Boutique Shanghai
Address: No.183 Jiaozhou Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#42 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#45 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#149 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — URBN Boutique Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
URBN Boutique Shanghai, the award-winning design-meets-sustainable boutique hotel, is ideally located in Shanghai's bustling downtown.  A former warehouse, the redesigned hotel is located on a quiet tree-lined street in Jing'an District with an abundance of independent bars and cafes in the surrounding streets and is only minutes away from the commercial shopping district and subway lines 2 and 7. URBN Boutique Shanghai offers sleek rooms and suites over 4 floors with a blend of contemporary, minimalist aesthetics and modern day comforts such as the COCO-MAT Renewal Bed, free wifi, a DVD home theater unit, high-definition television, an in-room safe, a selection of New York fashion designer Jay Godfrey's paraben-free bathroom amenities, a well-stocked mini bar and one-of-a-kind artwork. The hotel also features a 24-hour gym and an on-property restaurant which serves a selection of cuisine with a wide selection of craft beers, artisanal cocktails, and wine in a casual atmosphere both inside and under the tented courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your URBN Boutique Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urbn Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing