We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Design, Quality Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
URBN Boutique Shanghai
Ranked #34 of 5,104 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Beautiful Design, Quality Service”
Reviewed 18 January 2011

This hotel is an amazing find. The design is beautiful -from the courtyard entrance, the cool lobby and restaurant to the comfortable and absolutely gorgeous rooms. The service is friendly and thoughtful. You feel very taken care of. Everyone speaks English quite well and are very happy to help you find what you need in the city. The restaurant was excellent. I highly recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Shanghai.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cisk0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
URBNhotels, Guest Relations Manager at URBN Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, 25 January 2011
Greetings from URBN Hotels Shanghai! Thank you for taking time to write a review of our hotel. It is great to hear your stay with us was everything you expected and more. We are always training our staff to be the best in town, this includes English training and all service-related topics. We want to offer the best accommodations and service to our guests, it is the least we can offer besides our magnificent rooms and restaurant. Come back and visit us soon!

Jonathan Ma
Guest Experience Manager
URBN Hotels Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    144
    34
    12
    13
See reviews for
29
171
78
218
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2011

I stayed for 3 nights together with my 3 children in this classy and very unique hotel in a charming area of Shanghai. Management and staff are very friendly and caring which made our stay especially precious. If we come back to shanghai, we definitely will stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris100260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
URBNhotels, Guest Relations Manager at URBN Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, 25 January 2011
Greetings from URBN Hotels Shanghai! Thank you for taking time to write a review of our hotel. It is great to hear you and your family enjoyed your time here at URBN. What is so terrific about our hotel is that we are a great destination for romantic getaways, but we are also a perfect hotel for families as well. Be sure to drop by and stay with us again the next time you are in Shanghai!

Jonathan Ma
Guest Experience Manager
URBN Hotels Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 10 January 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Urban Hotel. We loved the hotel design, the cabon neutral concept, the interior decor, the food, the staff and the bars. it was a real treat and we hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sara_collopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
URBNhotels, Guest Relations Manager at URBN Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, 25 January 2011
Greetings from URBN Hotels Shanghai! Thank you for taking time to write a review of our hotel. We are all very pleased you enjoyed everything about our hotel: from its design to the restaurant bars and staff. Although the temperature may be cold in Shanghai during this time, we try to keep our guests warm and cozy with our excellent services and amenities. See you in the Spring!

Jonathan Ma
Guest Experience Manager
URBN Hotels Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 29 December 2010

I stayed at the URBN for 3 nights and found it to be as "cool" as any Standard or Ace hotels I have stayed in back in the US. The room design was innovative and the service definitely wasn't lacking for anything..

Go ahead and stay here if you are looking for something swanky/cool in Shanghai.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travvvelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
URBNhotels, Guest Relations Manager at URBN Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, 4 January 2011
Greetings from URBN Hotels Shanghai! Thank you for taking time to write a review of our hotel. It is very flattering to be compared to such innovative and unique hotels like The Standard and Ace Hotels. Thank you so much! We are always striving to improve everything about URBN, from our service level to room design and concept. We hope you had a nice New Year's celebration while staying with us. All the best to you and your family for 2011!

Jonathan Ma
Guest Experience Manager
URBN Hotels Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 29 December 2010

Unique setting, great staff, exceptional room design and ambiance....I always stay at URBN when in Shanghai. If you are wanting to get away from the generic hotel experience....URBN is it.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scott015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
URBNhotels, Guest Relations Manager at URBN Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, 25 January 2011
Greetings from URBN Hotels Shanghai! Thank you for taking time to write a review of our hotel. Your kind words and praise are great motivational tools to keep our standards high for our guests. We feel that anyone can stay in a run-of-the-mill 300-room hotel and get little or no attention from a less than enthusiastic staff. This is why URBN is so unique from the rest: we want all our guests to feel pampered and well-taken care of, and any request is never too much or difficult for us. We are all very happy your experience at URBN was everything you expected. Thanks again!

Jonathan Ma
Guest Experience Manager
URBN Hotels Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2010

Arrived early morning straight from Pudong airport after a 10 hour flight. Finding the hotel wasn't too problematic as I had printed a taxi directions card from the URBN website. The Jing'An district has lots of shops but the road the hotel is on felt immediately peaceful,
I just wanted to shower and relax and was able to check in early very quickly (great start!).
The Studio room I had booked was as good as the pictures I saw online (rarely the case) and I knew I had made the right choice. The Studio is a great design and the sunken lounge area gave the room a greater sense of space especially from the bed. There is also a walk in shower so you don't have to use the bath next to your bed. Lots of great discrete storage and FREE wi-fi :)
The restaurant looked interesting but on this occasion I dined out (the excellent nearby Hai Di Lao hotpot*). The breakfast choice is good and (including a full english!) I opted for lighter choice which tasted good.
The outdoor (enclosed) courtyard is a also a lovely escape from the hotel room without having to venture too far, it feels equally peaceful to the rest of the hotel.

I really enjoyed my brief stay and plan to return next opportunity, if you particularly have a sensibility for design you will really appreciate the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank singec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
URBNhotels, Guest Relations Manager at URBN Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, 4 January 2011
Greetings from URBN Hotels Shanghai! Thank you for taking time to write a review of our hotel. Our in-room express check-in service was conceived especially for guests like yourself who have traveled long hours to get to Shanghai and don't want to waste time checking in. We understand what our guests want: relaxing in your room with minimal effort. We are also very happy you enjoyed our sleek rooms and shower. Next time you are in town, we hope you try our restaurant: we have a new winter menu that contains amazing new dishes. See you then!

Jonathan Ma
Guest Experience Manager
URBN Hotels Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beijing
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2010

I was recommended to stay here by a friend of mine based in Shanghai, who talked great about this place. And I thanked him for putting me in this hotel. The hotel got a very good location, a few minutes from west nanjing road. This is Carbon Neutral hotel of its kind in China, and they have used recycled household goods to make this hotel. The service staffs are always helpful and friendly. Rooms are huge fascinatingly different from what you see cookie cutter five star hotel rooms. It has got sunken space by the window as a living room. Bathtub is part of the bedroom which is very creative. The restaurant is very chick and is popular with locals, but serves only western. The garden area with bamboo and very old trees gives a feel of tranquility after a day of meetings after meetings. I will surely will stay with this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spacetrucker_2999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
URBNhotels, Guest Relations Manager at URBN Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, 4 January 2011
Greetings from URBN Hotels Shanghai! Thank you for taking time to write a review of our hotel. We are all so very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. It is delightful to read your comments and see that you were satisfied with everything: from our hotel's location, green concept, and service level, to our unique room design, restaurant, and garden terrace. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you return to Shanghai! Be sure to check out our new URBN opening in Pudong later this year!

Jonathan Ma
Guest Experience Manager
URBN Hotels Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#4 of 5,104 in Shanghai
1,465 reviews
Jing'an
Cachet Boutique Shanghai
Cachet Boutique Shanghai
#57 of 5,104 in Shanghai
225 reviews
Jing'an
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
#50 of 5,104 in Shanghai
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Bund
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
Jing'an
THE ONE Executive Suites managed by Kempinski-Shanghai
Xintiandi
Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai
Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai
#28 of 5,104 in Shanghai
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to URBN Boutique Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about URBN Boutique Shanghai

Property: URBN Boutique Shanghai
Address: No.183 Jiaozhou Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#34 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#42 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#151 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — URBN Boutique Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
URBN Boutique Shanghai, the award-winning design-meets-sustainable boutique hotel, is ideally located in Shanghai's bustling downtown.  A former warehouse, the redesigned hotel is located on a quiet tree-lined street in Jing'an District with an abundance of independent bars and cafes in the surrounding streets and is only minutes away from the commercial shopping district and subway lines 2 and 7. URBN Boutique Shanghai offers sleek rooms and suites over 4 floors with a blend of contemporary, minimalist aesthetics and modern day comforts such as the COCO-MAT Renewal Bed, free wifi, a DVD home theater unit, high-definition television, an in-room safe, a selection of New York fashion designer Jay Godfrey's paraben-free bathroom amenities, a well-stocked mini bar and one-of-a-kind artwork. The hotel also features a 24-hour gym and an on-property restaurant which serves a selection of cuisine with a wide selection of craft beers, artisanal cocktails, and wine in a casual atmosphere both inside and under the tented courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your URBN Boutique Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urbn Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing