We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible experience”

Motel 168 Shanghai Jingling Road
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Motel 168 Shanghai Jingling Road
Ranked #1,499 of 5,161 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I stay in this Hotel for 3 days and was a horrible experience.
The bed was really hard, was like sleeping in the wood floor, the room wasn't clean, everything even the sheets smell of cigarette. The carpet was really dirty. In the night was so noisy. The only positive thing was the location, really central and close to the place that I wanted to see

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonyetta2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 8 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2012

This hotel is in center of Shanghai near the metro station.
The room are correct but no more and forget the hotel's laundry too expensive and take time.
Not so clean under the bed. Always hot water. Good for stay some days and for sleep.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zuukkiii1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012 via mobile

This is a nice budget hotel where I had stayed 28 days in total in my life so far. What I like about this hotel is its location - walking distance to Huaihai Road, Cheng Wang Temple, Nanjing Road, People's Square and the Bund. While walking to these attractions would take 15 minutes each, as the hotel is located at an old district, walking around is an excellent experience.

There are lots of restaurants and convenient stores nearby, therefore you will never be short of food. Laundry shops available nearby so you could avoid the more expensive hotel laundry.

If you are into playing guitars just like me, you would find numbers of musical instrument shop around.

The biggest concern is the thin wall and door, making the room not that sound-proof from the outside.

While the room is not one of the cleanest I ever seen, the staff is nice and helpful. A plumber was sent immediately after I reporting a malfunctioning washlet. A friend of mine also got a new room after complaining about the cigarette smell.

If you are traveling on budget and is not easily awaken by outside noises, this hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoohooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in September and found the location excellent (about 5 mins walk from Dashijie Metro station) In common with most Chinese hotels in this price range, the decor needs updating but most importantly, the rooms are clean and the bathroom was really good. The bed was comfortable and the room was insulated from outside noise maybe because it was on an inner courtyard.
Limited English spoken by staff but did not have any problems checking in/out and storing my bags.
All in all, for the price and location, you can't beat it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CityBreaker_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

This hotel is very well situated close too Peoples Square in the center of town. The airport bus stops close by and the Line 2 subway to the airport is across the road. My room was quite large and had toilet, shower and TV. The air conditioning was central so you can't control it and it was a little warm for me.
The hotel is clean and secure and they serve a buffet breakfast for about £1.50 that is good.
My room was on the first floor at the front of the hotel so there was noise from the busy road outside.
I enjoyed my stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for an upper floor or towards the rear of the hotel if the noise from the road will bother...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pablo808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

This hotel is in an excellent position in Shanghai and is well run and organised. The hotel is clean and is very good value for money. We were able to walk to the Bund and to other places in Shanghai from the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MicheleandPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Although our very limited Chinese caused some delays at check-in and check-out, all-in-all the process went smoother than I had imagined. Staff were friendly.

Our room was simple, clean, and small -- just enough room for a desk, the bed and a side table and not much else. The bathroom was also a tight space, but clean and stocked with toothbrushes and more.

There was some construction that seemed to be coming from the floor above us, but they always started after we had woken up (after 9 a.m. or so) and stopped before we came back later in the day.

Location-wise, it's near a subway station, close to some inexpensive restaurants and cafes. It is about a 15-minute walk away from the Bund area. For its location and for the price, this hotel was great.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank thesparkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#5 of 5,161 in Shanghai
1,859 reviews
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#34 of 5,161 in Shanghai
2,454 reviews
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 168 Shanghai Jingling Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 168 Shanghai Jingling Road

Address: No.531 Jingling East Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200021, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#128 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Motel 168 Shanghai Jingling Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 168 Shanghai Jingling Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 168 (Shanghai Jingling Road) Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing