We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Number 1 in Pudong”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Parkview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parkview Hotel
Ranked #150 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Number 1 in Pudong”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

This is far from being the largest hotel in Pudong New area but is the best on so many levels. The hotel is luxurious and maintained to the highest standards. It is designed by a French Architect and has the feel that this brings. The staff were first class and made the stay very special.
The hotel is well located and despite its lack of hight (only 16 floors) offers first class views over Century Park, which is only a short walk away. It is close to the Metro Station and only 3km from the Expo Centre.
At the end of my stay I took a taxi to Pudong International Airport which is about 35km. The journey time was just under 30 minutes and cost 175 RM. (£17)
I have stayed at other hotels in the area but the experience of staying at the Parkview will bring back during my next visit to China.

Room Tip: Take a free cycle from the hotel into Century Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    77
    31
    3
    0
See reviews for
7
5
13
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
186 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Recently stayed unexpectedly at the Parkview after a flight was cancelled. Since it was short notice, I was booked in to a Junior Suite. It was very luxurious. Very nice suite with beautiful bathroom and very comfortable bed. They also bargained on the price which made it even better. Would thoughly recommend the experience (although flight cancellations are a hassle!)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salthound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giessen, Germany
Level Contributor
329 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

nice hotel in Pudong, had a large business room with nice spacy bathroom (1,100 RMB), had flat screen TV with some english speaking channels like CNN, Fox and star sports (ESPN), roof construction with a lot of glass around the balcony a little annoying when it rains (hear the rain drops pounding on the glass), breakfast cost extra and is a little expensive, but fine (150 RMB), ca. 45 minutes from Beijing Capital airport by taxi (ca. 70 RMB)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueskies15-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

Stayed for a week due to an event at the SNIEC exhbition centre. Distance of hotel to SNIEC is about 5-10 minutes drive away (depending on traffic condition).

I loved the fact that it was near to a MRT station at the Science centre. All in all it takes less than 5 minutes walk to there. Food is available around the MRT but don't expect anything fancy. Btw, there is a KFC there.

Cleanliness was fantastic. Made a lot of room service orders. My room package did not include breakfast and to order room service ended up being cheaper than taking the buffet breakfast anyway.

Now brace yourselves for the realistic part of the hotel:
1) I stayed on the non-smoking floor of the 7th. You can forget about controlling the aircon temperature in your room; it has a mind of its own. I tuned it to go as low of 8degreesC and the whole night the temperature didn't budge.Btw, default temperature is 25degreesC. I called the front desk who sent a guy from maintenance to tune the aircon. He used his temperature sensor gadget thingy and tuned the temperature down to 23 while grumbling to the room service lady. Not long after he left it went up to 26. 4 nights I slept with the window open and slept on top of the covers because it became unbearably hot. Outside was a busy highway and it was so damn noisy.

2) Buffet breakfast was like being a playground all over again. People were stealing other patron's tables. I had put a tub of yoghurt to indicate I was sitting there. Went to get food and turned back someone else was sitting at my table. The waitress didn't do anything at all and still had the audacity to look at me with eyes that said "What could I have done?" I switched tables to the smoking section 'cos there was no where else to sit. Another guy thought I stole his table and angrily told me to vacate. I was in the midst of peeling my hardboiled egg and was finishing it when the fellow stormed off saying "I don't want to see your face". I lost my apetite there and then. Imagine... an actual paying customer being treated like this.

Please don't ever let such a situation from happening to yourself. Real mood killer, and I'm a morning person. Because of these two instances, it has marred all other positive experiences I've had there.

Room Tip: Please ask for a room that does not face the highway (behind). If you are lucky you get a room where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Lizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

Located a 10 minute walk from the subway, this hotel is beautifully designed and next to the performing arts center. It's not an area for walking around to shop, but there is a terrific park across the street. And even though it's not the "touristy" part of town, the subway makes everything convenient. The rooms are really comfortable and the breakfasts are good. The staff is unusually kind and do pretty well with English.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the park and museum
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

Good location for business on Pudong side of river. Decent amenities, kept clean and very competitive rates.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikemurray2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

I'm stay in this hotel due to Sinotrans conference wich take place in Pudong expo
For this purpose location is very good only may be Crown Plaza or Renessainse better
Good service, friendly staff and quite big enough room. Breakfast I did not try but restaurant is good and not expensive for local food. It is tasty.
But a little far from city center and another bank of Huangpu river

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khonya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Century Park
Crowne Plaza Century Park Shanghai
Century Park
Dorsett Shanghai
Dorsett Shanghai
#77 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Century Park
Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Century Park
Grand Mercure Shanghai Century Park
World Expo
Holiday Inn Pudong Nanpu
Holiday Inn Pudong Nanpu
#163 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkview Hotel

Property: Parkview Hotel
Address: No.555 Dingxiang Road, Pudong New Area, Shanghai 200135, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Century Park , Shanghai New International Expo Center
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Shanghai
#65 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#93 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#122 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#131 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkview Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing