We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel for China!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kingswell hotel Shanghai
Ranked #213 of 5,161 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed 21 November 2012

This hotel is very clean and the breakfast is great. Rude receptionist but when I wrote that in a review form they manager send me a apology email...so i think that's ok. After trying many hotels around China..i recomand this hotel wich is perfect for a good night sleep after walking around in Shanghai. Also, it have a great location next to a metro station on a direct line to city centre.

Room Tip: The rooms not have much of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alida02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 36 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2012

Spacious room and very close to the metro station Tongji university (2 minute walk).
Breakfast is ok but nothing special.
Only front desk staff speak English.
The fitness room looks outdated.

Wifi does not work properly.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ephemere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Nice, clean, modern room with good space. The obligatory hard-as-rock mattress was better than some of the others we had in other places. The front desk staff was really nice and could speak English, and the rest of the staff was friendly and helped us take care of a few odds and ends like getting a Chinese sim card for our phone and sending a package. The Western Breakfast wasn't very Western, but it was pretty good. The subway line 10 is very convenient to this location.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mwolverine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

All beds in China are apparently hard as a rock, so I can't fault Days Hotel for the hard mattress. But it was a very clean hotel, service was good, the hotel food was good, and it is very close to Tongji University and the Metro station. My room was very large, very comfortable. There was a good bit of construction noise outside, but that seems to be the norm in Shanghai.

Downside: high speed internet was not very reliable, and it was not wireless.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank psparks60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

I stayed in this hotel while attending a conference at Tongji University. Having read the reviews here I was prepared for a disappointing experience, however that was not the case at all. The hotel is smart, clean and staff have been friendly, and the decor seems to be fresh. The 4 star rating is appropriate and what one would expect of China. (I've stayed in other hotels in Shanghai, Beijing, Wuhan, Hangzhou and Nanjing). I stayed in a single room on floor 6. Location-wise it is brilliant for Tongji University, and while there are limited shopping/eating experiences nearby the Metro line 10 is a very short walk away on Siping Road. The comments below about it being marooned in a wasteland of construction are also not true, not now. The pace of development in Shanghai is such that one cannot rely on reports like this, and buildings appear and disappear. This has been especially the case this year with the EXPO.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OxoHuguenot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2009

My father stayed here for two nights in Nov 2009. On the second day, I drove there to take my father to a hospital nearby for a medical check. I was considering to extend for another night, so I wanted to make a quick park-n-extend.

Their security guard created so many request on my parking. I was in a hurry and muttered that it was a waste of my time. That security guard put his face against mine and shouted at me. He even invited me to make complaint on him. I was shocked. I asked their duty manager to deal with this matter and requested an apology. The security guard evaded into their office and never refused to come out again. The duty manager failed to give any acceptable explanation on this matter.

I will never recommend this hotel. That is not a security guard. I think it is not secure dealing with them anyway.

The security guard is Sammy Zhu and the duty manager Andy Qian.

Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
2  Thank neverdaysinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

I stayed here in November 2008 because it was the venue of a conference. Room very clean, comfortable, and well equiped with facilities and items. Very nice and polite hotel staffs from reception counter, restaurant even the housekeeping. I enjoyed staying here. The only weakness is difficult to get shopping centre or hawker centre (for good and tasty food) within walking distance.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TanCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Hongkou
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Hongkou
The North Bund
Tongji Reception House
Tongji Reception House
#2,356 of 5,161 in Shanghai
29 reviews
Jinjiang Inn Shanghai Tongji Uni...
#1,551 of 5,161 in Shanghai
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingswell hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingswell hotel Shanghai

Address: No.50 Zhangwu Road, Yangpu District, Shanghai 200092, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The North Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#181 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#211 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: £74 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingswell hotel Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Kingswell hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing