We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst hotel in China to date!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Park Jiayou Hotel
Ranked #682 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worst hotel in China to date!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2009

I travel to China often, Shanghai in particular. The hugely discounted online prices attracted me to this hotel....there is a reason the prices are so discounted! Upon arrival at the hotel, it seemed like a very average hotel (definitely not a 4 star like it claims!) but pleasant enough. Front desk staff spoke little english, the first room they gave me had suffered a flood and smelled of damp and smoke (despite requesting a smoking room) - the second room i was given was small and the carpet was filthy, however, this seemed to typical of the hotel standard!
As an english speaking business traveller, the hotel does not meet needs - i tried 4 times to retrieve a fax that had been sent to me, being sent from front desk to concierge to business centre and back to front desk before I got it. Internet is free though...although not wireless.
Very few of the staff speak english and all are hugely incompetent in my experience.
I paid £45 per night which is great for Shanghai, however, in future i will pay the extra and stay somewhere hassle free!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SimonGoodfellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    51
    20
    4
    6
See reviews for
4
3
5
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
83 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2009

We stayed for one night only, on the way back from Beijing. We wanted an airport hotel, with an airport shuttle and specifically picked this as it was stated that there was an airport shuttle. There is not. You have to get a taxi, so may as well have stayed downtown near the shops, etc. However, saying that, it's a very clean, comfortable hotel. The staff were very willing but virtually no English and it was difficult to get them to understand anything, even simple requests. OK for one night though.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whugirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2009

This is a nice hotel in the Pudong area, very comfortable for business travel. The staff was very friendly and helped us with hailing taxis, reading maps and so on. The breakfast buffet was varied and fresh. The rooms are nice and adequately equipped. Our room wasn't very spacious, but enough. The beds are very hard - you get used to it after a few nights. The only problem with the hotel is the location about 40 min walk from the subway, but then a taxi is only about 20 RMB and an interesting experience.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swede1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanley, KS
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2008

This is a new hotel with staff learning their trades at the school next door. Room was spacious. Rooms on the 15th floor, the executive floor, have 12 foot ceilings. 15th floor accomodations come with some perks, like hors d'oeurves and drinks from 18:00 to 20:00 as well as picking your cleaning time. As with Chinese hotels, the mattresses are like sleeping on plywood. The only noticeable problem was that the hot water was tepid at best.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nanoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2008

The Grand Metro Jiayou opened in the summer of 2007, and they're working hard to earn a 5-star rating (apparently it requires a year of good service).

The hotel is new and well-built. The rooms are very nice, the internet fast and reliable. The restaraunt was good. It has an outdoor pool that I didn't go in (November is too chilly ;)

It's one of the few places I've stayed where I have no complaints and only good memories of.

The only downside to this hotel is that Xin Jin Qiao is a 20 minute and 20 RMB taxi ride to the subway (about $3). I also wouldn't recommend it as a vacation get-a-way type hotel--it's too far from the center of Shanghai. Great for business travelers though.

The Ramada Pudong is nearby. This hotel is newer and nicer even though it costs about the same.

BTW, I got quite a discount from the list price by going through a travel agent.

  • Liked — Great rooms, great price, everything done well.
  • Disliked — 20 minutes/ 20RMB ride to subway
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cantseetheclock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jinqiao
Regal Jinfeng Hotel
Regal Jinfeng Hotel
#2,329 of 4,998 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Jinqiao
Pudong Sunshine Hotel Shanghai
Pudong Sunshine Hotel Shanghai
#1,526 of 4,998 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Jinqiao
Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Jinqiao Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jinqiao
Dong Jiao State Guest Hotel
Dong Jiao State Guest Hotel
#218 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Jinqiao
Citadines Biyun Shanghai
Citadines Biyun Shanghai
#160 of 4,998 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Jinqiao
Hanting Express (Shanghai Xinjinqiao)
Hanting Express (Shanghai Xinjin...
#1,457 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Park Jiayou Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Park Jiayou Hotel

Property: Grand Park Jiayou Hotel
Address: No. 159 Xin Jin Qiao Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 201206, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jinqiao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #682 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Park Jiayou Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Park Jiayou Hotel Shanghai is a Baroque style building designed according to the standard of a five-star business hotel located in the heart of the Jinqiao Export Processing Zone near the Biyun International Community, surrounded by the most important business and high tech sectors of Shanghai, Lujiazui Finance District, Lian Yang international community, Waigaoqiao-Free Trade Zone and Zhangjiang High Tech Park, only 15 minutes away from Shanghai New International Expo Center. The hotel boasts of 278 deluxe guestrooms can fully satisfy the needs of the consumers. The event facilities feature an atmospheric 407 square meters Grand Ballroom, one 372 square meters European architectural style Jiayou hall and other 8 separate rooms which are the best place for business activities. The Magnolia Chinese Restaurant, Barossa Cafe offers excellent food and beverage selections to delight and savior. Recreation like a health club for exercise or outside swimming pool, health spa and the bar are available. Most important is whenever you visit us, whether it is for business or pleasure, the Grand Park Jiayou Hotel Shanghai with its skillful and experienced team offers you service with a smile of warmth and individual dedication. We uphold "Our hotel always at your service" as our principle and are determined to bring our guests safety, coziness and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Park Jiayou Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing